Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 2 days, 0 hours, 37 minutes, 24 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Battle Evolved - TobiasNL - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    GENRE: A fast paced arcade platform shooter.
    SIZE: 8.7 MB

    DESCRIPTION:
    After an epic war between the intelligent 'evolved' dinosaurs and the human race the dinosaurs have taken control over planet Earth.
    Yet there's one hero who travels back in time to wipe out the dinosaurs so they cannot exist in the present.

    GAME IDEA: Every time you kill a dinosaur it'll evolve into a stronger and better evolved being. There are currently 5 evolutions. Get hit by anything and time will be added. Killing a creep will subtract time. Try to keep your time as low as possible!

    PERSONAL HIGHSCORE:
    Time: 7 seconds
    Evolution years: 6000 [last wave, completed]

    OTHER INFO:
    This is the second time I'm participating in a Ludum Dare competition. I'm really proud of my results, and I think I totally deserve a good night rest (indeed, I did not sleep). Moreover I hope you'll enjoy the game, and don't forget to read the included ReadMe file for tips & controls! Good luck!

    UPDATES:
    I'm planning on making updates in the near future.
    You can keep track of this game by going to my website: http://aquarel-games.weebly.com/index.html

    TOOLS USED:
    Gamemaker 8
    SFXR
    Cool Edit pro + Microphone [like 50% of everything is my voice :P]
    Fruity loops and Ejay.

    View TobiasNL's journal. | View all entries by TobiasNL

    Ratings

    Coolness67%
    #6Audio4.11
    #7Graphics4.47
    #14Fun3.89
    #18Overall3.95
    #67Mood3.48
    #231Humor2.52
    #301Theme3.08
    #435Innovation2.69

    Comments

    Ninja says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:25am

    Great job on the artwork and effects! I was able to get to the flying dino before getting pwnd. The training area is neat too, helped me figure out how to play quickly.

    Thurig says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:35am

    Nice game play and I really like the graphics.

    jamioflan says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:36am

    Amazing sounds and artwork! It's hard to believe this is a Ludum Dare entry really.
    I had great fun playing it, but couldn't get past the flying alien, I kept running into his poison spit.

    SteelRaven7 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:37am

    Incredible! Can't believe the effort you put into this, but it really payed off. I found the control to be a bit wonky sometimes, the strafing mechanic is hard getting used to.

    Other than that, THE best entry I've seen so far.

    mariscal says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:02am

    Wow! This game is just amazing!! The gameplay, sounds, enemies, weapons.. I really enjoyed it!! Nice work!

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:04am

    Awesome! The training area really adds a lot of polish to the game.

    dvdking says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:05am

    Very good. Amazing graphics and good sounds. I think it's quite hard to play, I die very fast.

    nosfer says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:34am

    great visuals, effects. I like fast action shooter pacing and lotta particles flying all over the screen :) manage to get to last level/evolution

    Zed says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:29pm

    That... is... AWESOME! Holy crap, I can see myself actually paying money for a longer version of this. Gamepad support would've been nice (I used Xpadder anyway, though).

    surreal_whale says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:39pm

    Loved it but was terrible at it (got up to the flying one after many attempts), graphics, sound and gameplay were all great. Controls seemed a bit off, I think z, x and c would have made more sense to me.

    michax says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:40pm

    Wow, one of my favorite as mechanics, shooting and effects! Great fun value!

    madpew says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:43pm

    Lookin good! Awesome effects and sound. But please up the resolution, those pixels on fullscreen are a pain in my eye. Looking forward on playing a post-compo version. Well done.

    Misfit says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:19pm

    Cool artwork, gameplay and audio. I had few problems with controls. But Great job!

    ncannasse says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:35pm

    Great effects / feedback, this makes the game ! I wonder how many targets there is to finish the game ?

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:59pm

    One of the best I have seen so far, great fun and great graphics!

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:42pm

    Nice job! Thanks for giving up the sleep! :-)

    Andrew says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:32pm

    Really liked the effects. The maps seems a wee bit small though.

    TobiasNL says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:34pm

    Thanks folks for all the positive reactions! I Really appreciate it:)
    Future versions of BE will feature more stuff like weapon upgrades, tight ass evolutions, a resolution change option, and more. I might add custom controls too if more people complain (it's a pain to add at this point, you see). Once again, thanks for playing and rating!

    lekochen says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:31pm

    Really awesome in both visual and sound.
    IMO the time for hero to turn around is a bit slow, and the control keys made my fingers very tired (I try so hard to complete it--and i did).
    But still excellent!

    Qaterknan says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:40pm

    Cool game! But had problems with controls. :/
    (adding mouse would help)

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:10pm

    Haha, crap, I'm bad at this game. It's still a lot of fun though, and I got up to the acid-spitting bat dinosaur boss. It's fun to move and listen to.

    The film grain is a bit distracting, but the effects and audio are top-notch here for a Dare entry. It really feels like you're hitting them.

    vilya says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:14pm

    Wow, amazing! Loved the grain effect in the graphics, awesome music and you even managed to include a tutorial. Hat's off to you, that's magnificent!

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:13am

    awesome job -- was a little hard to play.

    MrDanH says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:48pm

    A really fun game, although too hard for me to get past level 4. Controls could've been in a better position as well, very hard to use A & Z keys at the same time (and they're very close to the windows key)

    vilya says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 11:58pm

    Just wanted to say: I kept on playing this and finally managed to beat it - and boy was it worth it! The difficulty made it feel like a real achievement. Thanks for making this game!

    metadept says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 3:10pm

    Awesome! Outstanding! Including the training area was a very nice touch since the controls are a little odd. In fact, I think the controls are my ONLY complaint about this one, otherwise it plays very smoothly and seems well polished. Sounds, music, graphics, and even the balance are very well tuned for 48 hours. Great job!

    fanatiko says ...
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 9:45am

    Outstanding entry. One of my favourite LD48 of this year. I would have preferred to play windowed, because I feel the sprite stretching doesn't does justice to the awesome sprites you have.

    TobiasNL says ...
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 11:51am

    Thanks for all the great reactions people!
    @Fanatiko: You can switch to windowed by pressing F4;) Forgot to put that in the read me file.

    The 'after competition' version will feature custom controls, an easier strafing mechanic (character turns instantly) and some additional stuff like better effects and perks.

    Gear says ...
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 10:06pm

    Flipping awesome job, good sir.

    tomhunt says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 12:03am

    The craftsmanship on the graphics & sound is pretty good. The evolution aspect seems tacked on. Seems like it is going for a gamepad-centric control setup, but parts of the UI require the use of a mouse. Would have worked better with a WASD/mouse control setup, IMO, and/or being more gamepad-friendly.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]