Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 75 days, 16 hours, 52 minutes, 55 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dinosaur Survival Bash!! - Orni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    story:
    ======
    this is a game about natural selection!
    (which is the prime force behind evolution as we all know)

    you play one of many little creatures, hoping to evolve into a fullgrown badass, firebreathing dinosaur!

    it's survival of the fittest! kill the other - evolve!

    you have to evolve into the highest form and kill all other puny competitors to win the game.

    have fun!

    controls:
    =========
    wasd: move around
    mouse1: attack
    q: fireball (later on)
    e: sprint (later on)

    notes:
    ======
    originally I planned a lot more but as you might have experienced yourself - time is rather short. I wanted to include random mutation as well (being the other important part of evolution) to have some actual evolution going on in the game. however - that system turned out much too complex and I had to scratch it :(
    (same goes for music ... I suck at composing)

    View Orni's journal. | View all entries by Orni

    Ratings

    Coolness82%
    #24Fun3.81
    #28Graphics4.22
    #42Overall3.77
    #63Theme3.84
    #145Mood3.11
    #271Innovation3.09
    #276Humor2.35
    #339Audio2.51

    Comments

    MattHartley says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:05am

    Very cool, lots of fun

    zakchaos says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:01am

    Enjoyed your game for a few minutes man, You have a great consistent art style, and a very cool control scheme there man. I think that adding Story text, as well as varying backgrounds could make your game engaging, and very fun!
    thanks for makin this cool little game, def gives me lots of ideas!
    -@Zakchaos

    Ragzouken says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:14am

    Fun, pretty - It would have been nice if you could have had the map always spawning a mix of the creatures, so it doesn't seem like everyone is evolving exactly as you do, but rather that you are rising up :)

    nosfer says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:19am

    it's like pokemon simulator, i like it :)

    Lidfrid says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:29am

    Very cool graphics and gameplay, well done!

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:34am

    I like it, The graphics are great and consistent and the game play is challenging.

    Orni says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:42am

    thanks guys :)

    I wanted to include other species, about a dozen, and different color variations and abilites - but there is only so much I can do in 48h

    PohyCZ says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:03am

    Awesome, i love this one! :)

    zapaman says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:04am

    Extremely cute and fun!

    phren says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:05am

    Wow, very cool graphics! The game was fun to play, but I seemed to get owned by dinosaurs spawning right next to me and shooting fireballs. Overall the game felt very complete. Great job!

    Orni says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:12am

    yeah, you have to look out for those, that's what the trees are for, try staying in between them
    games are supposed to get harder - especially game I make ;)

    Thurig says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:27am

    The graphics are really good! Plays fine. I enjoyed it.

    Jamin says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:42am

    Fun little game! Straight-forward and has a very nice pace to it.

    I did catch myself realizing a bit late that I had evolved. I guess the new icons on the screen should have been evidence enough, but I was naturally expecting more of a Mario-style grow/shrink sort of thing.

    Oh, however, GAH, chording E+D to dash right. Maybe throw a key like that on shift instead? My fingers will love you for it.

    I'll have to go back and play Asylum, and I look forward to playing more games built by you. Thanks for the awesome!

    amidos2006 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:10am

    Amazing as usual as all ur ludumdare entries :) I like it :)

    JokerDen says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:00am

    Amazing visual work. I like style and gameplay very good. And he look like charmander :)

    timtipgames says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:30pm

    Nice game! My absolute favorite feature: Enemies shooting at each other :)

    Vennril says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:00pm

    Fun game and cute art style =)
    I also like how you can actually look around with the mouse.

    MattHartley says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:34pm

    Awesome, very fun

    savethejets1 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:11pm

    Cool game. Love the Graphics.

    pereubu says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    maaaan, this game is insane, from all the guys that used the theme "evolution" this way, you're the one that added it to the gameplay the more professional way so far.

    The game is absolutely clean from any bug and/or problem and the art is shiny.

    the roguelike style fits prefectly and dying is absolutely not frustrating ( in the bad way i mean ). Great job, i'm now trying another time to go to the top of the food chain !

    Orni says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:09pm

    I'm very amazed you guys like it that much!

    I had to scratch so many features I planned to do that I feared the "remaining" stuff wouldn't be enough for a fun game.

    It's a shame I hadn't 2-3 more hours to invest ... I could've implemented more polishing effects (screen shakes and shadows and sound effects and such things) as well as more content (like more abilities) and improve the AI more. I think the AI turned out more or less decent, but being a long time Robocode coder I could improve it (much much) further

    sadly I don't think I'll make a post-compo version, since the game concept has quite limited potential

    Mach60KAS says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:11pm

    The graphics are really lovely, and there's quite a lot of fun to be had from marching around a fire breathing dinosaur, too. :) Good Job!

    x3zinja12 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:42am

    I love this, whole-heartedly! It takes a simple motive and adds a fantastic art style and intuitive gameplay without losing the sense of direction and purpose. Great Game!

    kodguaxinim says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:46am

    Very fun game and will be pretty neat to have a post-compo with that 2-3 plus hours. Add a childish anime short story to it, a couple of cute light-hearted companions to relief the loneliness of the main char. It's always good for a portifolio or just for fun haha

    Really like it, and by the way, I feel like a charmander and thats pretty cool

    Jeremias says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:59am

    Nice and addictive game. Here is my feedback:

    - If I got a levelup, there are spawning enemies on my level. That's a bit sad, because it makes no sense to try to be fast. Instead you can fight single enemies and then regenerate slowly. It would be funnier, if a lot of enemies spawn at once at the start and everybody tries to kill as much as possible to get on the higher levels.
    - Sometimes enemies killed me instantly with 2 or more hearths. I'm not absolutely sure about this.
    - An enemie spawned into me and killed me instantly. A spawnfree-radius would be nice.

    Orni says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:10pm

    @Jeremias:
    thx for your feedback - all your points are good ideas which I somehow didn't think of during development (my head was buzing from all that coding anyway)

    actually the enemies progress on their own - if you evolve too slow they will start spawning on higher stages than you (making your life considerably harder) but I agree - I didn't think this through

    emveyh says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:58pm

    Great graphics, great controls, great game! :D keep it up!

    Zccc says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:00pm

    Great graphics and very fun.

    crockid5 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:04pm

    Interesting concept, i like the way that the world is so free, and all of the lifeforms are againts each other not just you :)

    IJoshayy says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:31pm

    Fun game, if a little to hard. Good job =)

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:31pm

    Good all round :)

    FunByJohn says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:33pm

    Very cool. I interpreted the theme being a fix of evolution and survival of the fittest :D It felt pretty cool walking around fighting my own species, and then realizing sometimes when a more developed race appears, it sorta scares you for a moment, sort of tells you how it would feel to be a real animal walking around in nature encountering a more dangerous and bigger animal :)

    CappaGames says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:29pm

    Liked the graphics, gameplay and evolution system. Good job.

    kirill says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:14pm

    Wow, nice one! Great gfx. I liked the tree so much, I had to have a go at my own tree, lol: http://styts.deviantart.com/#/d5cuwcw
    What was annoying is when you were turned at a slightly wrong level you would not hit your enemy and get killed very quickly, so I never made it beyond the firebreathing level.
    Also, nice particle effects on the fires.
    I'm bookmarking this one ;)

    Colisan says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:24pm

    Never made it to the winged one... it hard ! But I really, reeeaaally enjoyed it ! Congrats :)

    Bemmu says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:44pm

    Cursor position affecting the camera and the player turning to face the cursor were nice touches.

    BrothersT says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:56pm

    great little game. It definitely gets a lot more fun when you throw in the long range attack. well done!

    Pixelulsar says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:00pm

    Good game, it was very fun. Graphics are also cool.

    nuria says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:46pm

    Very good graphics! The controls were not good though, I don't think using the mouse was all that necessary. In general a cool little game, well done!

    renatopp says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:57pm

    Cute and fun! And man, it's hard when comes the fire!

    flyingbear says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:00pm

    The main character sprite enticed me to check this out. solid gameplay, looked forward to seeing what the upgrades were.

    Jezzamon says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:17pm

    NICE

    BenW says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:10am

    Looks really good. I could never evolve past fireballs though, it just got too hard.

    Maple says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:12pm

    Not bad at all. :)

    Barry Abrams says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:54pm

    Game was pretty solid, though I think it could use a bit of backstory or something.

    Chezzo says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:33pm

    This is a crazy good game, man! Difficult, addictive, AND you could tell you had no idea what you were going to do before you got the theme. Which is the point of LD, I think. Wonderful job. This should win.

    xhunterko says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:44pm

    Very fun!

    kato9 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:29pm

    Really nice! Simple concept but executed very well. The enemy AI is actually pretty good (especially for 48 hrs). Graphics are solid as well. But why F5 to restart?? Haha, not that it's a big deal, but kind of annoying on a mac keyboard.

    Orni says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:10pm

    @kato9:
    because I initially didn't have the time to make a restart function and thought that the browser would simply reload the swf on F5 ... but I was wrong about that and had to change that but somehow kept the F5 key (well, it was late, I was tired ^^)

    @barry abrams:
    I can't really think of a backstory for this - but if you have some cool idea, please tell me :D

    @BenW:
    yeah - it is hard. but I've managed to beat it twice so it's doable although I have to say that some little tweaks (like a spawnfree radius around the player and a small delay before enemies could shoot fireballs) would improve balance a lot (funny, those are changes I could make in 5 minutes but somehow didn't saw during development)

    Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:07am

    I was alone in the world. Discontent with my predicament, I went off in search of a partner, an equal, to share my company, and finally end my solitude.

    After some time in the woods I indeed saw another! Oh blessed be the spirits, my loneliness was finally at an end. Eager, euphorically I approached my new friend-to-be, and

    SO I MURDERED HIM AND ATE HIS HEART

    Seriously. This is how the "story" of the game reads.

    Enough about that, though: Graphics are beautiful, gameplay is punchy, and the evolution-aspect is well done. Also nice work on the crontrols, they work so flawlessly I wasn't inconvenienced at any point.

    But still. Your enemies are "your kind"? Make them another color, it would be a first step towards defusing this

    Jacic says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:30am

    Nice game, but a bit simplistic (as you mentioned). What's here is fun though! :)

    AndyBrown says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:39am

    Great entry! I found myself dying instantly a few times, but it was fun to level up and evolve!

    Maxium says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:53am

    Fun game. Camera controls felt a bit loose, but the fighting was still good.

    SiENcE says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:24am

    Your pixel graphic is very nice! I would choose the mouse buttons as weapon controls instead of keyboard.

    Kuulog says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:37pm

    Fun game. I liked the way you can move the camera with the mouse.

    Starmen says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:26pm

    Really nice, fun game. I felt like I was a Pokemon, which was great. The art was really nice too, although I noticed some tiny mistakes. Stuff like just flipping the sprite to do left/right movement. That doesn't work because the lighting swaps sides and that looks a bit weird. Still, that tiny gripe aside it's a really nice game. Good job.

    Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    Great graphics and really fun! Hey if you need music for anything I'd be happy to help, I love making music! Love the extra abilities with E and Q, really felt like I could kick ass when I got them

    someone says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:56pm

    Excellent game, great fun.
    Sometimes it felt like I was dying for no reason, but I think that is because the game over screen is so abrupt I didn't see what did kill me.
    Also the monsters attacking the second they spawned right next to you was irritating.

    AuxiliumGames says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:05pm

    Pretty fun game :D Camera control was well done, and a great feature!

    90sml says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:19pm

    I really loved the graphics and the idea. But too bad there is no music or any goal except destroy them all :p

    Switchbreak says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:58pm

    Really nice graphics. I got a bit frustrated, it would be nice if there were checkpoints at each stage of evolution. The combat seemed weird - sometimes I could fight, other times the attacks would randomly one-shot-kill me and I would have to start all the way back at the beginning.

    Gib says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:53am

    Loved the way you handled the camera. Great entry o/

    Evil Cult says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 8:09am

    At first I didn't like the way the camera moved but as I played more I really liked the frantic looking around feeling as if I was playing an FPS. Graphics are fantastic. Audio was good but could have used some music I think. Gameplay was also great but I found that a couple of my deaths seemed a bit unfair. Fantastic work for the 48 hours. Probably the highest rating I have given a game thus far.

    mfitzp says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:34pm

    Great little game, would love to see this developed further. I think you could extend the game concept if you included multiple species, perhaps some that don't attack their own kind (swarm), and reproduction with mutation. Make it asexual, so after a certain time/when full health/enough space in the environment it splits into two (including the player) with some alteration in stats or random level-ups. That would give you both natural selection and evolution.

    Anyway, it's great fun as it is! Thanks for making it.

    shard123 says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:59pm

    A really great entry! It was easy to learn and really addictive. The graphics and polish were really good!

    juaxix says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:16pm

    The only thing I would like to change is the balance of the firepower and enemies generations.
    What is the tree chopping stuff for?
    Thanks for an awesome game!

    free_napalm says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:47pm

    Great work, and nice consistent graphic style. Quite addictive, too, but I quit after the third failure in fireball age, because I did not want to play through the easy levels again.

    kibertoad says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 10:08pm

    Wow, that was fun!

    zkenshin says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 6:07pm

    Nicely done, loved the art :)

    Gornova says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:54am

    I liked you rgame, well done!

    LoneStranger says ...
    Sep 7, 2012 @ 4:30am

    I thought the idea was good, but the controls were a little difficult to get, especially when the camera changes, but the mouse cursor doesn't. I like the idea though, especially how the trees end up as casualties of the battles.

    AaronYip says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 7:31pm

    Everybody else covered all the highlights I would have said, lol, so I'll try to give more feedback.

    The fireball battles were definitely the sweet spot. :) I found myself hoping for more abilities and design centered around that mechanic (wind buffers, teleports, stuns?), maybe at the cost of skipping one of the earlier melee evolutions or somehow adopting procedurally generated sprites (ala Bubble Tanks). Deaths came pretty quickly though, and I seldom knew what hit me. :( Then again I may just be terrible at this, lol.

    I disagree with you that "the game concept has quite limited potential" :P I can totally see a free-for-all DotA/LoL-esque battles with this system. Different evolution paths determined by how you play and earned by successfully killing other players and "farming" trees. Add in regenerating health, running away, stuns, and it'll still be an awesome gaming metaphor of natural selection. ;) Make it happen, man. :D

    Fadobo says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Really awesome man, super addicting!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]