Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 5 days, 13 hours, 45 minutes, 33 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 5 days, 13 hours, 45 minutes, 34 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Primordial Pool - ben657 - Jam Entry

    There are bugs, and not as much as we wanted to put in due to time constraints and generally not doing any planning... But it's turned out pretty well! The basic gameplay is there for what we wanted, and it can easily be expanded, expect a post-jam version!

    View ben657's journal. | View all entries by ben657

    Ratings

    Coolness63%
    #73Theme(Jam)3.16
    #148Overall(Jam)2.97
    #150Fun(Jam)2.78
    #165Audio(Jam)2.31
    #172Mood(Jam)2.48
    #187Graphics(Jam)2.69
    #206Innovation(Jam)2.31
    #206Humor(Jam)1.53

    Comments

    mdkess says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:11am

    I love the art style in this! It's lo-fi, but effective! Very cool!

    I think that the game needs a bit more feedback about when things are happening. Like, when you are absorbing things, or when you are getting hurt versus stealing from the enemy.

    Overall - great!

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:35am

    It's kind of frustrating when an enemy spawns on you and you immediately shrink.

    The followers seem kinda useless.

    It's weird that when two blobs are about equal size, the slightly larger one immediately absorbs the smaller one.

    Nice work, I can definitely see this being expanded on.

    nseward says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:52am

    This was very zen for me. It was great. Keep up the good work. I don't know what you could change.

    ben657 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:55am

    Thanks for the kind words! We were getting a bit frustrated with little bugs by the end, so a lot of the things we wanted didn't get put in, and a few big things were missed, as mentioned, but definitely going to polish it up after votings done :)

    blundis says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:55am

    I like it! Got really protective of my kids. As has already been needed, feedback is desperately needed when absorbing others.

    The music got a bit annoying after a while, just a couple of variations and maybe a bit less frantic would have made a huge difference.

    dredlockz says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:09am

    Nice! I really liked that collision with enemies/victims was not instant, and you had to absorb them over time.

    The music was nice, but It could have not looped that soon.

    alvivar says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:33am

    Nice art! Really funny.

    With an infinite game are this game could be awesome.

    Kickerua says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:06am

    I played about 6-8 minutes and I like it.
    But I didn't understand what my followers do?

    It's hard to recover after being eaten by big cell, but it's ok.

    Your cells looks not so "fried eggs" like my. :)

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:42am

    I like it. =)

    juaxix says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:17am

    I like the idea

    chumez says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:06pm

    Nice game, but one thing I found frustrating is, bigger cells quickly absorb me and bring me back to the beginning, and growing is slow. Also, the absorbing sound is a bit annoying after a long period of time, but otherwise, nice music and gameplay.

    tdsmale says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:40pm

    Works really well!

    Zamando says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:41pm

    Cool, didn't understand what the followers did though. Also, the looping music gets kinda irritating after a while :P

    Mago says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:15pm

    I realy liked game idea and that you shrink when loosing health, its better than normal health bar. Nice game

    thewiseguy99 says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:32am

    Nice game. Relaxing and well rated to the theme. A great start and something to build on for sure. Well done!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]