Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 77 days, 3 hours, 6 minutes, 48 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Minisk, You Will - Miltage - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Minisk is a planet, a very small planet. So small, in fact, that it is located in a single drop of water. It is also your home.

    Its surface being rich in nutrients and resources alike, it has become the target of all nearby living organisms. Unfortunately, they don't want to live there. They're only after its resources, and won't stop until they've sucked your planet dry, leaving it uninhabitable.

    It's your task to ward off these thieves. Five waves of enemies, each progressively more harder than the last.

    Controls:
    WASD/Directional Keys - Movement
    Q - Shop
    F - Place Teleporters
    W - Use Teleporters
    Mouse - Fire Arrows

    Tools:
    IDE - FlashDevelop
    Engine - FlashPunk
    Graphics - Photoshop
    Sfx - Sfxr
    Music - FL Studio

    View Miltage's journal. | View all entries by Miltage

    Ratings

    Coolness67%
    #102Theme3.71
    #112Fun3.47
    #169Overall3.43
    #180Graphics3.50
    #295Mood2.93
    #368Innovation3.08
    #393Audio2.56
    #480Humor2.13

    Comments

    DoktorAce says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:56pm

    What inhabitants!? ;)
    Very nice game, but I would have loved to gotten more resources and action from the start. I have 1000 games to play!

    MarekkPie says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:57pm

    Maybe it's my screen size; but I can't get all of the screen to appear.

    Suese says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:00pm

    Fantastic game.

    The only thing that would have made this better would have been some fast-paced music and some mouse-able buttons for the shop/teleporters instead.

    Thank you for this.

    thristhart says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:01pm

    Woo-hoo! I beat it! Towers are OP.
    Innovation: 3/5 - Not particularly new, but not a copycat.
    Fun: 4/5 - I was surprised by how enjoyable it was.
    Theme: 3/5 - A literal tiny world.
    Graphics: 4/5 - Pretty, and functional. No complaints.
    Audio: N/A - Not on a computer with sound, so no rating.
    Humor: N/A - Didn't see any attempts at humor, so not rating.
    Mood: 3/5 - Very lonely.

    omaha says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:02pm

    very fun. also very hard to play with a touchpad.

    j_peeba says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:06pm

    A fun game! I only wish the player arsenal would be bigger but it was still very entertaining to try and hold back the enemy waves.

    Hume says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:56pm

    Great art, great controls. The arrows require skill to properly use. I enjoyed playing this.

    Congratulations on a polished entry.

    Miltage says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:27pm

    Thanks for the fantastic comments so far guys! :D

    vigrid says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:00pm

    I've had a lot of fun playing this game - it's a bit hard though.

    Mesene says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:04pm

    Good job man.
    The arrows somehow are affected by the rotation of the planet, it was intentionally?

    Miltage says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:21am

    Not intentional, no, but I didn't fix because it's fun to shoot arrows into an orbit around the planet and watch them come back around and kill a wasp.

    Miltage says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:58pm

    I realise now what MarekkPie meant about the screen size, the webpage was preventing you from scrolling down on smaller resolutions, but I've fixed it now. Also, I think I've got one or two of the winning/losing screens mixed up, I'll see if I can switch them tonight.

    Miltage says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:44pm

    Alright, I did indeed have them the wrong way round. I have switched them now, I'm sure a small fix like that isn't against the rules.

    Daniel says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:08pm

    It's pretty nice. But I think it would be more dynamic if money came in faster

    Zed says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:40pm

    Very good. Very clever. And very pretty, with clean and simple design. Good job!

    Birchmountain says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:04pm

    A very simple and entertaining game! The game difficulty scales rather slow but after a while it gets quite intense. I really like the audio on the sucky-thingies, it really makes you panic. Well done!

    Several says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:40am

    Upon realizing this would be game primarily about shooting random spawns, I was quite dubious at first, but having to frequently outrun my own wild arrows made for a very pleasant experience. Well done on the gravity + planet size + ease of missing.

    marudziik says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:31pm

    Very nice - feels very much complete. I like that there is a shop available, those turrets help a lot! Great animations, consistent graphics - liked it very much.

    MarekkPie says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:02am

    Alright, played on a bigger monitor. Great game. A little tough the first play through, but once you realize what to do isn't not too hard.

    Knighty says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:49am

    Good game. It was a little hard to predict how far my arrows would fly, and they move a bit slow even when fully charged.

    Kitch says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:16am

    Cool little game. Graphics worked really well.

    Zillix says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:20am

    I had a really fun time with this game. Shooting my arrows into orbit was really neat, and I liked the mechanics. Would have been awesome to be able to move while aiming!

    robcozzens says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 1:54am

    Really good. Even though it's kind of frustrating, I like that you stand still while charging your arrow.

    samoojamies says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 9:28am

    Finished it. Great use of the theme and overall really nice game.

    rvmook says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 5:40pm

    Lovely game, didn't really get to use the teleport though. I figured four turrets were better then one working teleport.

    Miltage says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 5:56pm

    Thanks for the great comments, everyone!

    @rvmook I know, the teleporters are my proudest feature, but also the least viewed feature, because everyone (including myself) seem to be able to beat the game without buying them. Oh well. I should have spent some more time balancing the game. Lesson learnt for next time!

    philhassey says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 2:02pm

    Liked the round world, looked very nice. Pretty easy to pick up.

    Sodaware says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 5:24pm

    Fun game, with a lot of polish. Loved the animation of the little sucker guys as they fell. I was sad I could only have 5 turrets, so my plan to cover the world with them failed :( An upgraded bow would have been nice, and some more variety in the enemies, but the core game is solid and well built.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]