Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 19 hours, 32 minutes, 43 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 19 hours, 32 minutes, 44 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Tiny Parallel Worlds - MadcoreTom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    His world may be tiny in 2 dimensions, but he has the new found ability to travel to parallel tiny worlds!

    Help the 3-pixel red dude find his spoon so he can eat and grow up big and strong.

    - Java Applet, requires Java 1.6
    - Source code created from total scratch in IntelliJ IDEA IDE
    - Sounds created with bfxr
    - Killer graphics created in paint.net

    View MadcoreTom's journal. | View all entries by MadcoreTom

    Ratings

    Coolness55%
    #105Fun3.49
    #138Overall3.51
    #187Mood3.13
    #189Humor2.81
    #191Theme3.49
    #261Graphics3.27
    #533Innovation2.70
    #581Audio2.09

    Comments

    bigbass1997 says ...
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 2:30pm

    looks very interesting but it wont let me play it. And before you ask I do have Java. When It says to hit space to play and I hit space it doesnt do a thing.

    MadcoreTom says ...
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    You may have to click it first. What operating system do you have? Are there any errors in the Java console?

    Demurgos says ...
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 5:26pm

    It's an interesting game, I found it too short :P

    cacciatc says ...
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 6:55pm

    I like the teleporter animation and that whale.

    m4c0 says ...
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 8:43pm

    Fantastic game! You have potential! I felt like playing my old Atari 2600S! You really must consider making more levels for posterity! :)

    Evgis says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:51pm

    Pretty good,I like the graphics, sound is annoying though!

    matt says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:01pm

    pretty cool

    d_durham says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:26pm

    Great little game! Nice concept, short but sweet.

    callidus says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:23am

    nice retro feeling game, short but quite fun :-) good entry

    aquasheep says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:01am

    I cannot start the web version either. Running Ubuntu 12.04 with Sun Java 1.6.0_31. No console output though. It looks like the applet initializes fine, but I simply can't click inside it to get started.

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:10am

    A very nice retro-feel, super fun!

    The focus on game-play and level design over graphics really makes a difference.

    hulahulahest says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:14pm

    It sure is tiny. I played it all the way through, which is a good sign. Graphics are fine, but simple. Audio is a bit grating though, at times.

    blob says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    Why does this guy has a giant murderous fire in his own home ?
    Old school feeling, jumping sound gets annoying though.

    Lacutis says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:16pm

    Cool retro game. I didn't like that it didnt say what items where for though when you pick them up. Cool little puzzle game.

    Endurion says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:55am

    Nice little game :)

    It needs just way more tiny worlds. Unfortunately I couldn't see the ending message since pressing a move key brought me back to the title screen at once.

    R3ason says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:58am

    I got my spoon back! :D Very fun! Good, effective use of minimalism. Thanks for making this!

    Jhelle says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:37pm

    Hated the loud sounds, but loved all the different tiny worlds to explore. Played it until the end, good job!

    Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:00pm

    I liked the look of this and it was fun too. Alo the tiny version is so cooool!!

    MrDanH says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:55pm

    Short and sweet. Had a couple of minor issues (would accidentally come back through a teleporter just after entering it, & I never saw the end of game screen because I was holding left when I got the spoon and that closed it straight away) but it otherwise made me smile.

    amodo says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    Very cute game :) Nothing to complain about. It feels very coherent and complete.

    angrygeometry says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 8:57pm

    it was okay! i was gonna say maybe checkpoints would help but the game is too short for them, or rather there isn't too much of an issue without them. sometimes using the warps and holding a button would cause you to rapidly warp between the two screens. other then that it was cute and well made and polished. nice job!

    Danik says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 11:33am

    Short but sweet, I like it! Maybe the zombie (or whatever it is) should be more clearly dangerous, like making growling noises or something. I just walked into him the first time.

    orgarus says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 11:33am

    A cool one! I play it until the end, it demonstrates that a engaging game doesn't need of superespectacularawesome graphics.
    Congratulations, i like it very much!

    seagaia says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 8:00pm

    I liked travelling between worlds (and they were cute and small!). Checkpoints would have been nice, dying and starting all over is a little annoying.

    DoktorAce says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 8:02pm

    I loved this! Great work!

    Make A Game says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    Very nice! When I looked at the picture I thought I'd be playing as the dinosaur.
    If you want to polish it for the future I'd advise against the trees as a final obstacle after being able to climb one earlier on. First you teach the player they're ok and suddently they're a threat that even looks like it's hurting you.
    Still, good job!

    May 11, 2012 @ 1:50pm

    A fantastic short but sweet experience. Loved the mechanic and the presentation.

    Oye Beto says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 7:58am

    It was pretty cool. I liked the big pixels graphics and the dimension traveling.

    For a post-compo version I'd add music.

    summaky says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 9:33am

    I liked the idea of tiny parallel worlds and found the game too short; I want more tiny worlds! :-)

    RĂ©mi says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 12:38pm

    Cool game! It just need sound design and music to have a better "atmosphere"!

    MadcoreTom says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 12:59pm

    Wow, thanks for the feedback everyone
    @Demurgos I wanted to make it short enough to finish, but i agree.
    @cacciatc The whale is one of my favourite parts
    @m4c0 I do plan to make some more levels, with additional game mechanics that I didn't manage to fit in.
    @Evgis fair enough, I'm no audio artist. It is a bit loud and sharp.
    @aquasheep Damn. Sorry i can't help you with that one.
    @william_edwards Retro was my goal with this one
    @hulahulahest I agree about the audio
    @blob I'm not sure, he should probably invest in an extinguisher
    @Lacutis I didn't want to make it too easy, but i could have at least given a hint.
    @Endurion Yeah, i noticed that bug too late. I'll make new levels after the voting is complete
    @tripleVisionGames Thanks! I know the tiny version isn't for everyone
    @MrDanH Yep, I plan to fix those
    @Danik Yeah, it also kind of blended in. I didn't think of sounds.
    @orgarus Is that a real word? it should be
    @seagaia If it was any longer than i would have added checkpoints
    @Make A Game - Good point about the ending trees
    @Oye Beto - what would you suggest as a tool for making music?
    @summaky As i've said above, i do plan to make more, with better stories

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]