Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 29 days, 7 hours, 39 minutes, 57 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 64 days, 8 hours, 27 minutes, 57 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    The World in a Bottle - Robotic - Jam Entry

    I present you "The world in a bottle"
    Play with your mouse and arrows (or ZQSD, azerty only sorry)
    Click to see the intro.
    Then choose a jar (some of them are really hard, but since they're is no real goal who cares).
    During the first phase you have to miniaturize people using your reducto laser (mouse left), you can also throw minibombs sometimes (mouse right) and move around. Avoid ennemy rockets or you'll lose people.

    Once the time is off, if you've harvested at least 10 people you will play with them in a jar, where you have to lead them to the most gruesome deaths (the more they explode, the more you score) in some kind of Anti-Locoroco.

    The game has many known bugs, mainly because of bad decisions made very early.

    Made by:
    Loic P, Celia G, Vincent R and Tom V

    View Robotic's journal. | View all entries by Robotic

    Ratings

    Coolness82%
    #5Theme(Jam)4.13
    #11Innovation(Jam)3.98
    #12Humor(Jam)3.84
    #18Fun(Jam)3.70
    #32Overall(Jam)3.74
    #39Graphics(Jam)4.09
    #47Mood(Jam)3.41
    #111Audio(Jam)2.98

    Comments

    AlwaysGeeky says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:19pm

    Nice! I really liked it :)

    Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:23pm

    Cool game, cool artwork, cool concept! I think I might have enjoyed playing the role of the evil scientist a bit too much in this case as I now plan to buld my own shrink ray and...err no, wait a moment, that's going a bit far. It took me a couple of attmpets to figure out the controls but I really like how this game plays out seperating hte level into 2 halves with the collecting of humans and then the gruesome destruction of said humans. Quite a toughie to get the hang of but really fun once you get the hang of it.

    uuav says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:58am

    Ahah first game I saw with the same idea of mine of putting world into bottles :)
    I really enjoyed shaking that bottle ;D

    R3ason says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:07am

    Ah, wish I had read to use the arrow keys a bit earlier (finally figured it out!). But yeah, pretty fun! Art style is awesome! Thanks!

    dagothig says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:26am

    Cool concept and cool execution, I was totally unable to do anything worhwhile on the 2nd part with killing the humans, but I'm assuming this is just me being bad at this. Great game!

    cakemonitor says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:33am

    This is a very well put together game - congratulations! I found it quite hard though - on my first attempt I captured 12 humans when the goal was only 10 and then in the bottle I killed them all for a score of 720 just to find out the target score was 3,000 so I hadn't even got a quarter of the way there!! Next attempt at the same level I only managed to capture 8 humans so I failed before I even got to the bottle stage :( Still, nice to see good artwork, sound and music making it in to a game, and I think this game fits the theme very well.

    jeroenimooo says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:09am

    Awesome story. Also real great design. it was quite hard though. But a real good job! the chopper and tank attacks really added alot to the game.

    dukope says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:14am

    Quite impressive with the two game modes. The bottle mode is especially clever, but I wasn't able to do much of anything useful there. Love the art.

    Topaz says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:21am

    Cool!

    SLiV says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:57am

    You twisted souls!

    I really like the two-sided concept, and the execution is pretty good. Well done.

    Monkey Armada says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:58am

    Fantastic! Congrats guys. I really enjoyed being evil.
    You've done a great job here, the game is fun and replayable.
    Maybe if you provided a more clear goal it would be more challenging. It also lacks some good music. Anyway, one of the best i've rated so far. Congrats again.

    jami says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:32am

    Very funny game!

    Madball says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:43am

    I was surprised. It's a so well-done game. But, well, you worked in a group of 4.
    When cakemonitor said he scored 720 with 12 people I loled. 720, you say? Hah! I would totally get 120!

    colincapurso says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:49am

    Enjoyed this game. Its fun and well done.

    Dr.Pingu says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:52am

    first: i love godzilla's games !
    second: amagowd ! people in a box !? woooohoooooo *shake* *shake* *shake* : great idea !

    great game :)

    Jeremias says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:30pm

    Very nice graphics and audio, funny idea. But the second game (killing the people in the bottle) is more fun than collecting them. In my opinion it would improve the game, if you focus just on this part.

    PaulSB says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:38pm

    Neat idea! Damn those helicopters. Found the bottle bit very difficult unfortunately. Nice art.

    Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:42pm

    Awesome! Well done, lot's of content.

    CaanonFodda says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:54pm

    Really cool. Didn't work out how to score more points on the second stage of levels, but still really enjoyed the game.

    kibertoad says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:57pm

    Excellent idea and style! Wish it had more polish. Hope you'll eventually get to work on it some more :).

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:25am

    This is genius. Just plain genius. I love this and would love to see a more polished version. You could make a killing on mobile devices with something like this.

    Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:01pm

    Pretty nice game!

    It got really fun once the helicopters and tanks got in and I was shrinking everything in sight with no mercy. I could really see how this could be expanded to feature more levels and features and make a kickass game!

    Volute says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:49pm

    So fun :D Great art too !

    firstrowgames says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 10:12pm

    pretty cool game and great art!

    Make A Game says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 3:51pm

    This was a surprising entry. The first part of the gameplay was really well done, with great artwork which awakened my inner sadist! I just wished you guys could add more work on the sound department and the bottle sections would not be so zoomed out. Otherwise, a fantastic entry!

    someone says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 3:57pm

    Wouldn't run in wine unfortunately. Just freezes when you start a level. Like the intro though.

    davidwparker says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 7:52pm

    Sorry, I don't have Windows.

    May 10, 2012 @ 7:53pm

    This game was a lot of fun. I cackled with sadistic glee throughout the entire experience. The controls took a bit of getting used to and the difficulty level was fairly high, but it was a lot of fun.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]