Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 13 hours, 31 minutes, 14 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Adventures in NoLand - ncannasse - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Welcome to the wonderful tiny world of NoLand !

    In this tiny adventure game you'll fight tiny monsters, explore tiny cities and tiny caves, and eventually kill a tiny Dragon !

    Tips :
    - mouse-over the monsters to estimate their power before getting killed.
    - make sure to find enough gold to get the dagger and shield before moving forward
    - Make the good choices, and walk carefully

    View ncannasse's journal. | View all entries by ncannasse

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #94Graphics3.87
    #134Overall3.52
    #137Mood3.26
    #225Theme3.42
    #259Fun3.13
    #268Humor2.58
    #501Innovation2.78
    #684Audio1.67

    Comments

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:20am

    Love how literally you convey the theme! Nice fog effect, and visuals are good :)

    jeroenimooo says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:19pm

    Cool game, really like the fight system :)
    graphics are also cool :)

    Evgis says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:22pm

    I seriously LOVE the graphics. The gameplay is good, but I died alot!

    the8donut says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:36pm

    Art style is just adorable! Game's quite fun as well :)

    the8donut says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:37pm

    Really love the art style, very simple yet effective gameplay. Yup, this is definitely a nice little game!

    bms says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:37pm

    Love it!

    cornedor says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:44pm

    Very nice.

    Danik says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:49pm

    Great, but I kept dieing before I got far. I saw in the world PNG that the game is much bigger.

    ncannasse says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:24pm

    @Danik : this is the puzzle part, you need to figure out what pass to take / choices to make. Try to mouse-over the monsters to estimate your chances ;)

    davidllanos22 says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:47pm

    It's too easy to die >.< I'm in love with the graphics! A few weeks ago I was programming a fog that works exactly as yours! haha Well done :)

    Danvil says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:36pm

    Nice visuals, so I keep dying...

    azmaeve says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:59pm

    Really nice graphics ^^

    Cell says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:17pm

    Cool, but that Spider is OP!

    wibblymat says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:39pm

    Could do with a way to heal or something. I die pretty quickly every time! Awesome look and feel though.

    zitheker says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:42pm

    Un vrai petit bijou. l'effet de brouillard "de guerre" est vraiment trés bien fait et étant donné que j'adore les jeux en pixels, j'ai adoré. il est vrai que l'on meurt peut etre un peu facilement, mais on pardonne vu la qualité de tout le reste. Dommage que tu n'as pas eu le temps de mettre un peu de son, cela aurait été sublime.

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:03pm

    Cute! Love the graphics. Wish they were like twice as big though. Funny too. Enjoyed myself.

    AlwaysGeeky says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:35pm

    Sweet lighting.

    Lacutis says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:34am

    Cool game, I liked the literal translation of the theme. It was a tad on the hard side. Is there a way to regain health?

    McFunkypants says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:33am

    Really fantastic work. Beautiful big world to explore. Cute graphics. Love it. Keep up the amazing work.

    MarekkPie says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:16pm

    This game keeps itself from being great by forcing the player to follow a specific path. A little more freedom and it would have been awesome.

    whitetigle says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:06pm

    I like the lovely tiny pixel gfx. The game is a little bit hard for me. It really fits the theme ! bravo :)

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:03am

    WOW this is tiny... lol. I feel like this entire game could be taking place on the tip of my nose. ELFS LOVE CABBAGE. A LOT!

    strega says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:51am

    Nicely done! I like the simple RPG mechanics. I wish the monsters respawned so I could grid on them a little and advance easier throughout the game.

    GreyShock says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:51pm

    Amazing Puzzle with RPG elements. This is the game in wich I spent more time since I've been playing LD games. Congrats. I didn't finished it yet, but I will (sooo hard, like it).

    espiru says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:21pm

    I love it !!!

    I finish the game. Anybody know how go to the chest, north last live-regenerator near the dragon? The green trees not let me past.

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:56pm

    Really nice use of the tiny theme, but how are you supposed to proceed in the game? healing in the hut near the beginning cost insane 30 gold, easy monsters do not respawn and the stronger monsters brutalize you even with dagger and shield. Nice rpg elements, but you have made it unneccessary hard.

    blob says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:31am

    I dont get it either. Tried a few times now, and I very sincerely dont see how I can optimize my choices. I get the shield as soon as possible as there doesnt seem to be any other defense upgrade until long and I need to kill the blue blobs at no costs. But I get to the guy who asks for 25 and I only have 20 gold and 5HP so cant find more ( had to heal once or the green guys kill me).And, I ve killed all the blobs. I dont get it !
    Too hard and frustrating.

    The world is really cute and the gameplay is fluid otherwise.

    arcanmster says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:31pm

    Get dagger/shield asap, kill all blobs, kill green orc to reach the heal point, kill bottom spider, kill a second green orc above the 25 gold guy, and you should have enough. Afterwards, you get another def upgrade and get access to the center of the map where choices are less unforgiving as you have more freedom, and a much larger margin of error until the "boss". You don't even need all treasures/potions to finish the game, except if you really want to optimize your final score (my max is 300pts).

    I suppose an optional "easy mode" would be good, where you start with some gold or something like that.

    Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:53pm

    Love the effort, good take on the theme, and well executed. Top bad it lacked sound though, that always bring ratings down in my book.

    BlackDogg says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 12:21pm

    A really effective game ! Nice and quick to play, congrats :)

    Misfit says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 2:30pm

    Cool game. Nice graphics and gameplay.

    Keirua says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 3:23pm

    Nice game ! Quite hard, but well executed and the result is fun to play (even though I didn't manage to go very far)

    netmute says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 12:01pm

    I loved this. The tiny graphics are awesome.

    That spider/demon thing killed me a few times until I figured I shouldn't go there again ;)

    azurenimbus says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 2:57am

    It looks gorgeous! Good job.

    Shifty says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 6:27pm

    Really good graphics! I love the tiny blue slimes :) A bit hard from the beginning, I died in less than 3 minutes during my first game. A bit of sounds/music would have make it better. But still a well crafted game :)

    ratboy2713 says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 5:05am

    Loved the art style, though it really could have used a good sword clang.

    ehtd says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 3:20am

    Very good art and loved the unexplored fog

    Dr.Pingu says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 11:27am

    Nice game :)
    a little bit hard in th begining but i love the idea

    good work :)

    Syntaxide says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 12:22am

    Fun game. Graphics were really good. I kept needing to restart when I discovered a more ideal course of action. It seems like this game needs to be replayed multiple times to be beaten.

    May 11, 2012 @ 7:49pm

    Very nice game with a good concept and good graphics but it is too hard.

    gavin5564 says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 9:35pm

    I really liked the feel of this game. Plays really well too.

    May 12, 2012 @ 2:07pm

    Nice one. A little bit too hard but overall fun to play :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]