Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 19 hours, 35 minutes, 23 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Tiny Artillery - rfgpfeiffer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    How to play:

    This is a game for TWO players at the same computer.
    You take turns trying to kill each other. You have 4 weapons: bow&arrows, bazooka, rocket launcher, baseball bat.

    How to run:

    when you have python 2.7 and pygame installed, run

    python artillerygui.py

    Known to work with the python2.7 and pygame packages on Ubuntu 11.10.

    * Update *

    There is now a Windows version. All dependencies are packaged. Tested on Windows 7 and 8.

    * Update 2 *

    There is now a binary packaged version for Linux.

    * Update 3 *

    There is now an Application Bundle for Mac os 10.7 available for Download.

    On 10.6 and lower you still have to install pygame(e.g. via macports) and run from source.

    View rfgpfeiffer's journal. | View all entries by rfgpfeiffer

    Ratings

    Coolness77%
    #324Theme3.23
    #471Humor2.14
    #584Fun2.55
    #589Innovation2.60
    #592Overall2.72
    #601Mood2.41
    #691Audio1.62
    #765Graphics2.19

    Comments

    m4c0 says ...
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 8:32pm

    I could benefit from instructions on how to start the game...

    rfgpfeiffer says ...
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 8:51pm

    hey m4c0, I added some instructions. I will also add a packaged windows executable on monday or tuesday.

    rfgpfeiffer says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:05am

    Windows exe added

    azmaeve says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:12pm

    Nice! a worms like where you can literally kick your opponent's ass out of the planet ^^.
    It works great, although I had to change the controls in the source because my keymap is a little tricky with numbers, damn you french keyboard!

    Nice work!!

    Cosmologicon says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:59am

    I found the controls and physics kind of frustrating, as well as the 10 second delay between turns. But I have to admit, blowing the other guy off the planet into the moon was a really awesome moment. I think you've got a great idea here.

    Raptor85 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:51am

    the controls are a little weird to get used to but pretty good, i like the jumping physics between the plant/moon

    JonathanG says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:54am

    We played it two player, liked the planet physics. Having the high ground seems to unbalance it a bit.

    quickfingers says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:45pm

    not bad man, nice work on the gravity

    kibertoad says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:31pm

    Why the annoying "wait" period after having shot?.. Also controls are frustrating :(.

    netmute says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:36pm

    Couldn't rate because I'm using a Mac. Sorry :(

    rfgpfeiffer says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:55am

    netmute:

    You can install pygame on a mac. There are installers on pagame.org and for brew and macports. I thought mac and linux users would just install the dependencies of with the package manager of their choice. It's not just for my game, there are more pygame users on this site!

    Anyway, I will try to lend a macbook from a friend and make a statically linked app bundle in the next days.

    rfgpfeiffer says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:24am

    Linux binaries added. I can also use the same tool for OS/X binaries, when can get hold of a mac. Stay tuned!

    Monkey Armada says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:30am

    I loved the original Worms games back in the time. I liked the "orbital" twist you gave to this one.
    I don't know if there was any music or audio fx, but i couldn't hear anything. You should improve graphics and animations but have a good concept over here. Keep working!!

    rfgpfeiffer says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:00pm

    Monkey: No sound yet.

    Jeffalisk says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:58pm

    Good way to fit the theme but could have used a way to go back if you select the wrong weapon - I picked the bat when the opponent was on another planet so wasted a turn.

    Dr.Pingu says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:13pm

    Nice work :)

    VoidChronos says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:34pm

    Well, this entry is not really bad, but i think you should make the power arrow represent projectile speed. Cause when i fired the rocket with the arrow of almost 4 times bigger than start, it just flew almost at my feet.

    Jeffalisk: You can use "Q" key to disarm yourself, so you can choose another wep.

    Anyway, Good Job!

    sudorossy says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:49pm

    Interesting gameplay. Not many multiplayer games on Ludum Dare. The physics are interesting.

    Nightsjester says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:20pm

    Its pretty okay but difficult to figure out, kinda common thing I am seeing in LD Games.

    xBlinkedx says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:29am

    Not bad, it was kindof hard to control. But nice idea overall.

    madflame991 says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:30am

    I think that if you continued to work on this it would make a fine spin-off on the original Worms-like games. I liked the sun and the fact that you made it in python.

    Topaz says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:41am

    Nice! And Python FTW!!! :D

    Daisuke909 says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:04pm

    Very cool! The sun looks nice. If I could say one thing, the pace could be sped up a bit, but it is really fun.

    aquasheep says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:56am

    Nicely done! I especially like that the levels are destructible and that gravity really works. Very fun!

    namuol says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:06am

    Cool! I'm a fan of Scorched Earth, and the gravity mechanic could make for some interesting tactics. Good idea -- you should explore it more with different planet/star layouts.

    One complaint I have is that I can't tell which weapons correspond to which keys, but once I select the weapon, I'm forced to use it. Maybe something like a mouse-select or scroll-wheel to select and then space to finally begin aiming/firing.

    OrangeeZ says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:43am

    physics is somewhat buggy, where sometimes the projectile collides with player and disappears even before rendered, but the idea of several islands with their own gravity and center of mass is damn good. nice job!

    netmute says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:17am

    Whoa, this was pretty cool! Very much like Worms :)
    The hand-drawn planet/moon graphics gave the game a very special charm.
    Firing could have used a bit more thrust. The projectiles always fell down before reaching the other player.
    Overall quite funny, good job! :)

    (Special points for adding a Mac build 'just for me' :)

    Jiddo says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:24pm

    Nice idea. The concept is very good and is lots of fun. The physics could use some tuning to feel more natural tho. When I tried it one of the players got stuck in mid-air and just flipped around back and forth. Also wouldn't mind some more graphical detail, but for a 48 hour game it is very impressive. The Linux release works perfectly as well.

    Jhelle says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:28pm

    Don't have someone here right now to play it with but it looks quite fun :)

    SLiV says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    Awesome! I really like the concept, and it looks decent as well. Good job.

    DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:48am

    Neat idea; try to clean it up a little next time ^.^;

    zkenshin says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 2:47am

    My friend beat me, because I blew myself up with the bazooka. She then projected spit all over my arm when she laughed. We approve. :P

    Will Edwards says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 1:45pm

    Loved it!

    jfroco says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 6:45pm

    Kudos for using pygame. Interesting idea

    May 8, 2012 @ 6:15pm

    Nicely done! I love Worms-style games and this was a blast.

    tcstyle says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 8:20pm

    Interesting basic worms-like idea. But the controls are quite counter-intuitive.

    JesterBLUE says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 3:54pm

    It was fun how gravity came at you from all directions. I liked thinking about how I am going to send my bazooka on an orbital path that figure eights around the moon... but it never worked out. Maybe if I had a ninja rope...

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]