Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 73 days, 12 hours, 38 minutes, 10 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Celia - Finn Stokes - Jam Entry

    Installation
    ------------
    For Windows users:
    Download the Windows version
    No installation required, just run Celia.exe

    For Mac and Linux users:
    Download the Love2D version
    Go to https://love2d.org and get the appropriate version of Love2D
    for your operating system if you have not already done so.
    Use Love2D to run Celia.love either by double-clicking the file
    or from the command line.

    How to Play
    -----------
    Left/Right - Move
    Up or Space - Jump
    Enter - Restart Level
    Escape - Quit Game

    Credits
    -------
    Programming: Finn Stokes, Saxon Douglass
    Level Design: Jaime von Schwarzburg, Travis Morgan
    Music: Joshua-Douglass Molloy
    Graphics: Colin Capurso

    This game was built on the Gauge engine, initially created by Saxon Douglass and Harriet Lloyd and updated extensively throughout the jam

    View Finn Stokes's journal. | View all entries by Finn Stokes

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #9Theme(Jam)3.98
    #25Graphics(Jam)4.20
    #49Overall(Jam)3.56
    #52Mood(Jam)3.37
    #59Fun(Jam)3.25
    #86Innovation(Jam)3.22
    #131Audio(Jam)2.80
    #147Humor(Jam)2.17

    Comments

    colincapurso says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:02am

    I love it, it turned out really good, I only wish it were longer

    lowang2000 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:45am

    Nice I'm happy with that, wish I didn't have the cheap jump in the final level but it's beatable so meh.

    dxdydz says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:11am

    Very nice. Music seemed a little out of place, but absolutely gorgeous visuals. I really liked the idea of a platformer puzzler where you have to grow and shrink appropriately, very novel and it's easy to see how you could build on this idea a lot more.

    Skulls says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:55am

    I really enjoyed this game. The core mechanic of shrinking and enlarging has a lot of potential, and the graphics are inspired and enhance the experience. That being said I found the music repetitive and uninspired I have no idea why you changed it from the original better music. The first levels were good at training you the basics but there were only two that really used the core mechanic in a meaningful way. It's a great start to a platform puzzle game and for a jam game I am very impressed.

    nilstastic says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:19am

    Very nice indeed! The shrink thing combined with the beautiful graphics made it stand out above the rest of the platformers =)

    Jigxor says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:11pm

    I love this game! The graphics are very pretty and the Alice and Wonderland theme is a really great idea. The gameplay was very polished and fun. The teacup level was however, a little confusing when I first played, but made sense when I got to the end. Definitely one of my favourite games!

    Well done everyone!

    Wampus says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:28pm

    The theme was creatively interpreted in a wonderful way.

    Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:16pm

    Thanks for the feedback, everyone! I have plenty of ideas for new levels and mechanical twists, so I'm eager to continue work.

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:04pm

    Beautiful graphics and nice game! I really enjoyed it but the frustrating part was that you didn't mention that the enter key restarted the level (which is really unintuitive and should be something like R) in the game. I only figured that out when I read your description here, and that was after I had quit and opened the game 3 times due to mistakes in later levels.

    With that said, I did enjoy the game but I think it's missing a "soul" if you will. Who is she? What is she doing here? What is this world? Why am I doing into doors? Some small backstory could go a long way into converting this from a game where you grow large and go into doors into maybe a game where you are lost in a lush and dangerous world that you are desperately trying to escape.

    Orni says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    nice - the alice sprite looks awesome and the concept fits the theme perfectly

    Finn Stokes says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:11pm

    There is a sign in the fourth level that is supposed to teach you to use enter to restart. However I know at least one other person missed it and thus we probably should have made it more obvious. I also agree that r (or both) would have been a more intuitive reset button. I'll keep that in mind if we continue to work on the game

    jfroco says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:02pm

    Nice gfx and great idea... really loved the backgrounds. Music was simple but effective. Congrats

    gnx says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:30pm

    Very nice looking game.
    I feel the background parallax is a bit overwhelming though.

    There seems to be some slowdown when going to certain parts of a level.

    A nice neat platformer with some performance issues.

    Finn Stokes says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:38am

    Since submitting, I have noticed the performance issues on some machines when you are large. We should probably use something like mipmapping to avoid scaling the tileset so much in realtime.

    Tourgen says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:06am

    Very nice graphics. Cool mechanic and good fit with the theme. The later levels designs are more guess-and-check than good application of the mechanic though.

    stigmawall says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:38am

    I like the concept, but the problems with the bounding boxes it´s annoying. I reaaally like the candy level. Congrats. :)

    Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:50am

    Tourgen: We had a zoom out feature that allowed for more meaningful choices in the last two levels, but we dropped it because it completely fucked up the parallax. If it were up to me, we would have dropped parallaxing instead, but I'm just one voice.

    Finn Stokes says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:55am

    stigmawall: If you are talking about the bounding boxes on the tea pickups being too large, I completely agree. That was a mistake I made assuming that they were graphically the same size as the cake when in reality they were slightly shorter and didn't notice the difference until it was too late.

    character says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:02am

    Really like the shrink and grow mechanics of this beautiful looking puzzle-platformer. I really dig the graphics on this one. Nice use of bright colors for the player against the muted ones for the environment.

    Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:45am

    I love the parallax scrolling backgrounds. What editor you use to build the world?

    Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:55am

    Tiled

    Pierrec says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:53am

    I thoughy Alice in Wonderland would be a nice idea to fit the theme, I'm glad someone did it.

    Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:31pm

    Good job! I love to creative puzzles

    Jiddo says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:17am

    This game is really LÖVEly. :)

    The positioning of the camera didn't work well at all on a widescreen resolution for me (on Linux) and especially not with a multi-monitor setup (the game got stretched out over both monitors, which in my case wasn't the best idea). The screen was kind of offset to the right so that the character was always at the edge of the screen. Setting a regular 4:3 resolution made it run perfectly tho.

    There was also some camera jerkiness when resizing event occurred.

    Other then that the game was just brilliant. Even tho I got stuck on the last level for a while it was fun enough to keep me playing until I finished it. The graphics are just amazing and the game play mechanics are great. Maps were also well designed, even tho it would be great with more of them! :)

    Evil Cult says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:27am

    [Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
    Quite a cool game you have here :) I think I managed to exploit the level with the I LOVE YOU bear, bypassing most of it by narrowly sliding past the shrink item. The level after that I found was very overwhelming due to it's open level design and I had to put the game down there. Other than that the game was pretty good. The graphics were great and the music was very relaxing. The movement was pretty smooth and it was very clear how to play from the very start. Not bad work!

    Moth says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:02pm

    Real artful visuals and I feel the music was unintrusive and did a nice job of complementing them. The tea level's background was a bit creepy!

    I was at first confused by the looping forest level, but once I figured it out I got the pattern down and beat it pretty quickly. It was fun and I think it's based around a pretty solid mechanic that I feel meets a satisfying extent of use by the time the experience is over.

    Good job!

    sebbu says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:24pm

    I like it, but had some bugs : the sound took several level to begin, i had to launch the game several time before being able to play (i started in the air, unable to move left/right, only jumping at like 5fps).

    Jezzamon says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 8:44am

    Wow, the graphics in the game are great! 5/5

    The music is pretty good too, although it's has a few flaws in the playing of the instrument (Ukelele I'm think), which are a little annoying to listen too. I guess that's ok for a Jam entry, but... if the music guy wasn't working on anything else in the game, maybe they could've worked on the quality a bit more?

    The level design was pretty good too, especially for a 72 hour time-period.

    You also get 5/5 for the theme too... I'm ranking based on how interesting their interpretation of the theme is, so not like whether it literally fits it or anything, and this whole Alice in Wonderland thing was great!

    My two suggestions:
    For levels that loop, it's kinda confusing having your character suddenly appear on the other side of the screen. It'd be nicer if the graphics were just tiled, and there was no obvious "jumping" from one side of the level to the other. Of course, you'd also have to include something to make it obvious that levels WERE looped.

    Also, it's kinda disorientating having the background move in the opposite direction to the rest of the level whenever the camera moves. It should really move in the same direction as the rest of the level, but slower. That give a cool sense of depth.

    gritfish says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 11:44am

    Great graphics. The music is good, but a bit mis-matched to the alice in wonderland theme. The first level with the tea just made me rage though.

    Introducing a new item/mechanic and then punishing me for investigating it CAN be ok - "Mirror Rays" did this well with its "don't press d" message - but waiting till the end of the level to tell me I should have avoided that thing a minute ago? Urgh..

    That said, the only thing that really could have been added to this was a transition between levels, and some more character to the doors. It's a really solid platformer.

    Finn Stokes says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 1:55am

    sebbu: I'm not really sure why you would be having these issues, I haven't heard of anyone else having a similar experience. Could you give more details so we could try to reproduce your problem?

    Jezzamon: The music guy actually did the music for several jam entries and didn't end up spending as much time on ours as others. I was thinking exactly the same thing about the looping levels, but we ran out of time to do anything. The parallax was originally correct but it seems that it was broken during refactoring. These are definitely things we will try to work out if we keep working on it.

    gritfish: I agree that the tea party level needs a lot of work. It should probably be a lot shorter and have most of the jumps impossible if you are small.

    DaveDobson says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 1:20pm

    Really neat concept, and beautiful graphics. Great implementation of the theme. The puzzles got very hard very fast, but I liked the mix of platform skillz and logic required. On one level, when I jumped near the top, I wrapped around to the bottom, which was weird.

    Will Edwards says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 1:54pm

    Excellent artwork; parallax works really well.

    someone says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 2:58pm

    Nicely put together game. The resizing is good.
    The way the level wraps is a bit odd just jumping, and I did manage to fall down a gap at the edge.
    Good job.

    gregdevice says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 4:40pm

    Nice work! Graphics are excellent.

    deejorg says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 2:53am

    Great game overall, the graphics and mechanics work out nice and it fits in good with the theme. The audio is somewhat annoying after a while though. The later levels could have some kind of way to visualize the entire level so as to make decisions instead of trial and error. Nonetheless great entry!

    Alexandre says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 1:04pm

    Nice game, I liked the graphics and the mood.

    pythong says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 5:02pm

    i didn't read all aforementioned comments, so here:
    the graphics were really nice, great for mood, in the level with the cakes i realized the connection to alice when i saw the creepy rabbit in the background. kudos for graphics! but the bounding boxes of the sprite seemed strage, annoying, and the music also seemed out of place. i stopped playing in that on level with the grass where you seem to make a portal jump from left to right and bottom to top - cause it gave me motion sickness :D. that jumpy connection between levels or when you restart a level didn't make the jumpiness better ;)

    AD-Edge says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 9:13am

    Nice work guys, and good usage of the shrinking, that was a nice addition to the game.
    Graphics were really nice, and that slow scrolling background made my brain trip out on several occasions!

    Shadow says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 3:08am

    Clever use of the theme (I mean, linking the tiny world thing with Wonderland). The only downside of how you used Alicia's adventure in your game is that for the most of it, it's a tiny character in a normal-sized world. Music was a nice touch and graphics are quite good. It's an overall solid entry. Congratulations.

    murilo says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 10:32pm

    Nice puzzler! Great graphics too!

    May 13, 2012 @ 9:31am

    Very very cute. I loved the Alice theme. Background scrolling was a little weird, and it could have used some parallax, but it's a jam game, I know you didn't have time. This grow/shrink mechanic, if polished a little bit, could make for an awesome platformer. It did remind me of American McGee's Alice2, but the puzzles weren't nearly as dependent on careful selection of powerups. Oh, some respawning enemies might help. Top marks anyway :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]