Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 18 hours, 4 minutes, 55 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Little Locations - NoLan Labs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Travel through four tiny worlds. Collect spheres for bonus points. Try to reach the door at the end of each world.

    Use the arrow keys. Press 0 (zero) to mute.

    View NoLan Labs's journal. | View all entries by NoLan Labs

    Ratings

    Coolness72%
    #157Fun3.33
    #239Overall3.30
    #248Innovation3.32
    #257Graphics3.28
    #431Mood2.68
    #568Humor1.96
    #640Audio1.89
    #705Theme2.45

    Comments

    Fireblend says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:32am

    Loved the idea of falling into other levels, but I eventually quit out of frustration (maybe it would be better if it didn't start at the beginning all the time, but from where you got your last "pebble" from on that level, or something) :P

    invaderJim says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:50pm

    Slick little platformer you got there.

    chinchang says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:55pm

    nice cute game...i really liked the player graphics and also a random level after you die :) gameplay is a quite repeating though...

    Zoomyzoom says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:55pm

    Loved the idea, but the worlds are not "tiny" including space lol. But that is my only complaint. nice work bro.

    omaha says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:00pm

    I didn't get any audio. had fun playing though :) pretty challenging jumping on the tall 1-wide pillars. seemed like the newgrounds flash wrapper was causing it to skip the main menu?

    MarekkPie says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:09pm

    I really, really enjoyed it. Loved the fact that you never actually die, but just go to a level you haven't finished yet. One of the best on here.

    NoLan Labs says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:24pm

    @omaha I'm pretty new to Stencyl and haven't quite figured out the NG API yet. Don't know about the audio problem though.

    Evgis says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:43pm

    Good work, nice idea.

    Pixelulsar says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:55pm

    I liked how dying would bring you to a different stage. However think it needs music, just jumping sounds got annoying.

    bms says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:43am

    I like it!

    Jacic says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:38am

    A fun, polished platformer. Good work. :)

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:43am

    I like the cyclical nature of it, and the genuinely tiny world!

    machinas says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:18am

    I loved the mechanic of switching between levels, but didn't enjoy restarting them each time. I feel like if where you fell through one level would affect where you came into the next level, would avoid a lot of frustration. Also in terms of level design, could have an 'easy' path to get through any area you've already been through, but wouldn't have any of the gems on it, so those would still be skill based. nice job!

    Cake&Code says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:19am

    I don't see how this ties into Tiny World thematically and also really got tired of starting each world off from the beginning, I think Fireblend's comment about starting from a checkpoint of some sort would be a really good feature. I realize that the coins can be skipped and gotten in a different order so you'd have to find a way to make checkpoint optional or explicit/avoidable.

    The jumping sound really got annoying after jumping so many times but I think with a bit of volume-lowering and some background music it would be alright.

    The idea of falling off of one world and into another was really cool and I think it's darned innovative. Well done with that. The controls and feel are also really nice so it feel like a solid platformer.

    The only other thing I would suggest would be some kind of indicator of position when the character is off the screen vertically as it is a bit difficult to intuit the falling location after a jump way up there. But that's a gameplay decision and I eventually did get used to not seeing my character's position.

    Hope you can find some time to polish this gem up! :D

    Evil Cult says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:19am

    [Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
    Unsure if I liked falling into the other levels or not. Graphics quite cool, sounds could use a little work. Was a little hard to control in places and a bit frustrating not being able to try again straight away. Not bad other than that though. Good work for the 48!

    orangepascal says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:13pm

    The switching-level mechanic is very interesting!

    Make A Game says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 12:54am

    It seemed like your classic platform game until I fell into a pit. Then the idea made true sense to me. Although it can become fustrating, the innovation factor and classic gameplay makes it shine!

    rvmook says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 4:45pm

    Like the others already said, some checkpoint mechanism would be a great addition. For the rest I really enjoyed playing it. I did not have the patience to complete all the levels though.

    derosa says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 9:41pm

    I love the level changing mechanics! Very smooth movement and control. Thanks!

    castor says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 9:10pm

    So difficult, but it's a great idea. I must be loving the punishment because I continue playing it. Great platformer.

    May 8, 2012 @ 8:52am

    Love the level-progression-gag, makes player-death more meaningful.

    robcozzens says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 8:56am

    Whoa! That was about as perfect as you can get!
    Normally I would say you should have a jump button separate from the movement buttons, but for some reason this felt right.
    I loved that you never die, you just fall into the next world. And I also like starting at the beginning of the level... it reminded me of the old school games.
    I really can't think of anything to improve it... maybe add music?

    maxman43 says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 2:24am

    This was an absolutely great game. Good controls, neat concept, classic aesthetic, and fun to play.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]