Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 31 days, 11 hours, 36 minutes, 1 second
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Inside My Radio - TurboDindon - Jam Entry

    Hi there !
    Here's our entry for the jam competition.

    It is called "Inside my radio".
    In this game you play the guy who's in charge to keep the rhythm in a boombox.
    All the moves you perform must be synchronized with the tempo of the music.

    The game was made with game maker.

    For this LD (and probably for the next ones as well) TurboDindon has recruted an awesome musician.
    So put your headphones on!

    Note: As the game is based on the rhythm it can be quite challenging. Press F1 to display a visual gauge if you experience some difficulties :)

    The TurboDindon team :

    Vincent Filipiak --> Art
    Joachim Neuville --> Sounds and Music
    Baptiste Martin and Jerome Fait --> Game/Level Design and scripting

    Hope you'll enjoy the game.

    Bisous

    TurboDindon

    turbodindon@gmail.com

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    N.B. : The display resolution was deliberately set to a low value (800x600) for better performances on low end computers.
    Feel free to change it by editing the file "zik.ini" :
    [Display]
    width = <- set the display width (0 to keep the current desktop resolution)
    height = <- set the display height (0 to keep the current desktop resolution)

    View TurboDindon's journal. | View all entries by TurboDindon

    Ratings

    Audio(Jam)4.78
    Overall(Jam)4.30
    Coolness89%
    Innovation(Jam)4.37
    #4Fun(Jam)4.00
    #5Mood(Jam)4.06
    #7Graphics(Jam)4.54
    #52Humor(Jam)3.07
    #112Theme(Jam)3.07

    Comments

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:10pm

    proper great entry.. so polished :)

    Nibelung says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:14pm

    I'm not going to lie, I see this ending in the top 5. Great concept, great innovation, awesome graphics, perfect sounds.. Do I need to continue?

    ziomorti says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Very, very cool. Really like the beat :D

    Shackhal says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:28pm

    The music...i'm speechless. Simply awesome.

    MadGnomeGamer says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:45am

    There is CRC model on file: C:\Users\...\fmodex.dll

    when I try to extract it. But then files zipped with WinZip never work for me anyways, so maybe it's not your game.

    MadGnomeGamer says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:45am

    oops i typed model when I meant error

    Fireblend says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:00am

    Wow, so good. If I didn't knew any better I'd thought this belongs more on the Steam catalog rather than here. The graphics are probably the best I've seen so far, and I'm a huge sucker for rhythm games. Thanks for this :D

    emongev says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:05am

    I pretty much loved it, only that the movement seemed irresponsive at times. I know the point was to move with the rhythm but i think a visual indicator of when it was possible to jump or dash wouldve been great. =)

    TurboDindon says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:18pm

    Hey thanks for your warm comments, they are really motivating. Glad you liked it ! :D

    MadGnomeGamer: hmm I don't know how to fix this :( I have packed it with Winrar, maybe I should use 7 zip instead ? I'll send you an alternative link as soon as I've uploaded it.

    emongev: Good point :) We were already concerned by this issue when we played it and the good news is that the game already features a visual helper ! You can display it by pressing F1 at anytime.

    This info is displayed on the HUD at the beginning of the game but disappears after 1 minute so you've probably missed it. Maybe you can try it again with this visual indicator and tell me if it helps you ?

    Thanks again !

    -blemish

    Chupon says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:59pm

    Freakin' AWESOME!!!

    SmallDeadGuy says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:45pm

    Amazing! I totally love it! At first I thought it'd be shit as it was game maker but you proved me wrong! I knew games with game maker could be good, but I've always disapproved. For you I just made an exception :D

    madpew says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:46pm

    Sadly I'm not allowed to rate this game. But its frickin awesome. It's been a while since I last played a game where music wasn't just there to fill the gaps in the audio but rather get the world moving. Well done.

    brianshaler says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:49pm

    Wow. Just wow.

    Wampus says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:57pm

    Excellent idea executed beautifully. My favourite game so far.

    netmute says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:25pm

    The gameplay video was impressive. Awesome combination of graphics and sound.
    Unfortunately I can't rate it because I'm using a Mac. Sorry :(

    firstrowgames says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:26pm

    Amazing polished game thats really unique and fun.
    Its a bit hard at first to get the hang of it,but i think its great that way.
    Anyway amazing job.

    jeroenimooo says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:27pm

    W o W
    W o W
    W o W
    (hope it is still intact)
    The graphics are real cool, the movement on the music is so flawless. The music also is real nice.
    Best game so far i think too.

    Lidfrid says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:34pm

    Great audio and Hard control, what's best?!

    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Just 1 word: Awesome! :D

    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:07pm

    Very creative and fun

    Sheep says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:11pm

    The last part was really frustrating. But I beat it! Haha, 'beat' it...

    BenW says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:08am

    Really really really good. The only thing I think didn't fit was the theme.

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:37am

    This is amazing.

    marudziik says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:07pm

    Beautiful, but was kinda hard, even with the visual helper. But a great entry. So far I'm pretty sure this is going to be in top 3, if not the first place in the jam.

    bitslap_ says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:09pm

    I beat it faster than someone else! Also great game. Gamepad would rock this one. Go release it.

    Jigxor says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:50am

    What a fantastic game! Incredibly polished, fun gameplay, and of course - amazing music. The mechanic of moving in beat was a new one that I haven't encountered before in a music-based game, so job on that!

    Congratulations on making such a great game! Definitely one of the best in the jam! :)

    ra4king says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:07am

    5* all around! :O

    01101101 says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 10:18am

    Bluffant, faire un jeu de cette qualité en pensant aussi bien la prod, les graphs efficaces, la musique fusionnée au gameplay, revisiter le plateformer hardcore c'est vraiment la classe, bravo ! (comment ça je ne suis pas objectif ? )

    Shadow says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:32am

    A.W.E.S.O.M.E
    The level of polish in here is OVER 9000!

    CappaGames says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:47am

    Amazing music and amazing concept. I would recommend leaving the display gauge on as default, as the game can become VERY frustrating. Without it, my brain tries to play the game like a regular platformer, which results in frustration and painful hands from pushing the buttons so hard. Overall, this is a really good game and would like to see a full version.

    AD-Edge says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:29am

    Amazing! And for 72 hours, I kept thinking 'screw 72 hours, this could be a commercial game!'
    Great gameplay, loved the beat(s)!

    TobiasNL says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:20am

    Jeah really loved this one. The SFX rocked butt and so did the music. Cool idea as well:)

    DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:53am

    We've got ourselves a winner. Love the aesthetic; it's cohesive and shows through in all elements of the game. The glow, pulsating graphics, and music all work together really nicely. Of course, always nice to see attention to electronic music production as well ;) Level layout was nice, and the "flow" of the game and transitions between puzzles seemed very logical, reminded me of...I want to say Limbo, but maybe that's not quite right. Great job keeping the gameplay tight as well--I'm always scared to do any sort of rhythm-based input in LD because it really needs to have tight controls in order to feel right.

    kddekadenz says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:14pm

    When I tried to play, I got the following error:
    ERROR in
    action number 1
    of Begin Step Event
    for object Surf:

    Trying to use non-existing surface.

    TurboDindon says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:58pm

    Hi and thanks everyone for your nice comments, it's really cool to see how much you liked it !

    kddekadenz : this issue can come from different things.
    - Maybe your video card doesn't support surfaces: updating drivers solve this problem most of the time.
    - Does it happen everytime ? When you launch the game ? if updating drivers didn't work you can also try to launch it in windowed mode: edit the file "zik.ini" and change the "fullscreen" setting to 1.
    - Maybe it comes from an unsupported resolution, in this case try other screen sizes by changing the "width" and "height" value in the ini file (set it to 0 keeps the current resolution)

    Let me know if the problem persists !

    -blemish

    robbiehunt says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 1:04am

    Dude this game is super super awesome! wonderful job!

    But I suck so bad at this game!! haha. I'd love to play the slow dance version though :P

    chambers says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 10:57pm

    The last stage was really hard XD

    There was also a bug in which, after clearing a stage, the music stopped and didn't come back (it was the stage right before the hall with electric blue things), making it impossible to proceed, so I had to start all over again.

    This game is awesome, very neat idea and great polish. Doesn't look like a game made in 48 hours at all!

    I did wish for more stages when I finished it though =P

    Alexandre says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 9:05am

    Very good game! Very good idea and well done!
    I liked the visual, gameplay and music a lot!
    It was maybe a bit hard at times...

    Drabiter says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 1:31pm

    The controls are bit hard, especially jump.

    Great work! It's very innovative :D

    Gremlin says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 2:29pm

    Awesome, and very polished. I'm rubbish at keeping the rhythm, of course, but even so I didn't care.

    I did get an error after I quit the game (something about not being able to write to a surface).

    ratking says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 6:20pm

    I didn't get that far...I find platformer always pretty hard, especiaslly when you can just jump in a certain moment.
    Nevermind, the entry looks great, the sound is awesome!

    May 4, 2012 @ 7:45pm

    Oh my god this is amazing. The entire idea, executing and asthetics are brilliant. It also feels much more complete than Your Last game Starring Roberto TnT (forgot the name)

    Pierrec says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 11:30am

    This is great, so much better than Bit Trip Runner and co. Rythm is REALLY important!
    Sometimes, it was very hard because my computer is a bit slow and I'm afraid it breaks the rythm,but the whole thing is awesome.
    Ony problem : Where is the theme ?

    Pavel Dlouhy says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    I am sorry. I have following error:
    ________
    ERROR in
    action number 1
    of Begin Step Event
    for object Surf:

    Trying to use non-existing surface.

    "Ignore" doesn't help. It is there again and again and ...

    dr_soda says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 7:53pm

    I'll get my only complaint out of the way upfront : I wish your game hadn't resized my monitor resolution, even if it gave my old one back.

    That said, everything else in this game was wonderful, from the beats to the graphics, to the idea. It's hard to know what to suggest as an improvement from a gameplay standpoint, though I felt like the final room relied a bit much on explotation of the controls and just randomly spamming the jump button until you reach the first of those three diagonal steps that lead from lower left to upper right in that room. Reaching the first step felt impossible without just jumping straight up and hoping I got caught "in" the block so that I could spam my way out of it. If I managed to land between beats, I was able to keep time once again.

    Oye Beto says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 7:13am

    I'm very impressed. Five stars in everything.
    Congratulations, team!

    bscott says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 1:42pm

    Really like the concept,graphics and sound.

    RĂ©mi says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 9:53am

    Awesome! Very polished!!!

    Dr.Pingu says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 4:25pm

    Well here is a game that throws of paté! and using GameMaker ... Great job guys!

    Bravo :D

    pythong says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 4:50pm

    i had strange black bounding boxes around the character, and all in all many other objects seemed to to had those as well (windows 7, 64bit). therefore everything seemed nearly black. from the gameplay vid i could clearly see that everything was more colorful than what i had played. all in all, good job

    TurboDindon says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 8:51pm

    Thank you all for your cool feedbacks!

    matthias_zarzecki: Glad to see you liked our game! And kudos for remembering our previous entry :D Yeah we're pretty happy with this one as we managed to make it in less time and in a far less stressful mood... We've slightly reduced the scope in comparison to "Action Time" to provide something more polished and Joachim was there for the music this time around :)

    Pierrec : Thanks a lot for your comment! It's funny you're talking about BitTrip Runner as it's precisely the kind of gameplay we wanted to avoid :) I love rhythm games so I naturally gave it a try but I was really disapointed by it too: a lot of style but very shallow as you must follow a pre-written score. And even there I think it's not as good as a simple Guitar Hero clone as you actually have to to "desync" with the music and anticipate everything... (Thanks for the review on your blog BTW! and also for the link to Sophie Houlden's criticisms regarding BitTrip Runner: it sums up pretty much everything I don't like about it).
    IMO too many rhythm games follow the same GuitarHero/DDR pattern over and over ("a scrolling score you must follow", even BTR is like that but disguised as a platformer/Canabalt). It's OK as it's way more accessible than what we did with this game but jams are cool for these kind of designs as there's no commercial pressure.
    Try Rhythm Tengoku/Paradise/Heaven on GBA and DS if you haven't yet! Best rhythm games (design-wise) to me :)

    You're right concerning the theme too, it's really too far-fetched now ("inside a tiny radio world"). It's a poor excuse but as time went by we had to scrap the few elements tying the gameplay with the theme: an "open" (i.e. not linear) level where the player created a tiny world full of small dancing NPCS if he kept the rhythm (oh the joys of the first Ludum Dare hours :p). Anyway it was way too big for us and we would have probably came up with something shitty, so we've decided to focus on a smaller game, albeit less related to the theme. We hoped for something clever to emerge during the weekend, but it just didn't came up.

    dr_soda: Actually, getting caught in the block and jumping out of it is more an exploit than a conscious design choice. Congratulations for finding it though =) The "right" way to finish it is to walljump before, like this : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoryOpECjFA&t=10m37s (thanks to this guy for recording a walkthrough!).

    Pavel Dlouhy and pythong: It's the same problem kddekadenz encountered, and I don't know if it's possible to fix it (unless by providing a "low detail" version where the surface effects are removed).
    As I said earlier, it can come from different things:
    - Maybe your video card doesn't support surfaces: updating drivers solve this problem most of the time.
    - Does it happen everytime ? When you launch the game ? if updating drivers didn't work you can also try to launch it in windowed mode: edit the file "zik.ini" and change the "fullscreen" setting to 1.
    - Maybe it comes from an unsupported resolution, in this case try other screen sizes by changing the "width" and "height" value in the ini file (set it to 0 keeps the current resolution)
    Hope you guys will be able to play the game !

    Cheers,
    blemish

    spooks says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 9:51pm

    awesome! very well done, really enjoyed it

    cadin says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 1:56pm

    Wow, your gameplay video looks amazing! I wish I could play, but I'm Mac only. :(

    Valeour says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 9:32pm

    Timing stuff is incredibly annoying, because I have a poor sense of rhythm, so this game is really frustrating for me. However, looking past that, this is a fantastic entry and very well made.

    May 9, 2012 @ 8:27pm

    Concept hyper interessant mais le jeu est vraiment trop dur meme en utilisant la commande F1.

    robcozzens says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 11:31pm

    Holy frijoles! That looks awesome... can't play because Window-only, but the video looks incredible.

    Angerus says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 10:55am

    One of my favourites entries. I'm just amazed by what you have acomplish...Give me the sensation that I have to do more and improve my skills ! Great feelings for a great game!

    Ranoka says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 12:03pm

    This entry is amazing, very polished game, feels more complete than most LD Jam entries. It got very hard for me, I got stuck on the bit with the small blinking platforms and moving electric razors, I couldn't get the right timing. One of the best games I've seen so far.

    May 13, 2012 @ 4:08pm

    This has a perfect audio visual presentation. Really love this, but for some like me who is completely unmusical, this is really hard to play. :( not your fault ;)! Anyway great work love it! Simon

    JonathanG says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 11:54pm

    This is a good idea, and it's well polished and hangs together really well. Graphics and audio are fantastic! It is incredibly difficult though, I'm fairly musical and I found it difficult to time my jumps to the beat properly, especially when jumping on disappearing platforms and avoiding the electricity! That gives it a sense of frustration, feeling as though it's the game that made me lose, rather than my own failing.

    csanyk says ...
    May 15, 2012 @ 8:42pm

    Terrific entry! I only wish you made the source available. Please consider releasing it!

    TurboDindon says ...
    May 19, 2012 @ 6:19pm

    JonathanG : We had some similar feedbacks so yeah there's definitely something frustrating in this game for some people (even our musician had some difficulties at first (and he's a drummer). He got better during the weekend though).
    I've set the timing tolerance to +/- 100ms, which seems already enough to me.

    The music is set at 120 BPM, making a beat every 500ms. With this +/- 100ms tolerance you can only fail in a 300ms gap.
    Making it bigger ruined the rhythm constraint so I've decided to keep it that way.

    That said, other problems can cause this frustration:
    - GameMaker : GM handles the draw events in a sequenced fashion in order to keep the FPS defined in the room (I guess it automatically waits a few ms before proceeding to the next step to keep a constant frame rate). As I've set it to 60 FPS, the draw event is called every 16 ms (in the best case scenario, where the computer is fast enough to keep it at a this frame rate).
    So if you are unlucky and you've pressed the jump button just after the key strokes are registered, this lag can go up to nearly 32ms between your input and the visual feedback (i.e. way too big for a rhythm game IMO).
    Maybe there's a trick to define a variable FPS in GM (calling the draw event only when necessary), it'd prolly help reduce the lag a lot.

    => If anyone knows, I'm very interested. Maybe set it to like 120FPS and render every 2 steps? Or use an high definition timer dll to detect when it's better to call the draw event ?

    - Visual/Gameplay feedbacks: Currently there's no visual nor gameplay feedbacks when you miss the timing. I've already developped a small v1.1 with better "miss" feedbacks but I don't know if it helps as nobody tested it yet. The screen flashes, the PC shakes and stops for a very brief instant. That way you don't fall from the platform if you missed the jump button. It's a small fix but it may be part of the solution.

    - High difficulty level design: As we had only 48h we couldn't produce a lot of interesting levels. We've chosen to ramp the difficulty early and quite high :) The game felt more interesting to us that way, and more satisfying to beat but we knew it'd make it kinda "hardcore" and not accessible.

    TurboDindon says ...
    May 19, 2012 @ 6:27pm

    casnyk: Thanks ! Yeah I'll probably release the source code in the upcoming weeks. I'll just do a bit of cleaning before as the code is wayyy too ugly to be readable (lots of dirty patches and commented code here and there).

    It's so dirty that it'd be better to start it from scratch if we want to push it further :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]