Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 18 hours, 5 minutes, 49 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Sirus the Virus - eburn184 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Sirus the Virus

    Your name's Sirus and you're a virus. You prey on unsuspecting humans, jumping, and replicating your way through their body, up to their brain. Once there the human realizes you're no ordinary virus...

    Move with left/right arrow keys, or A/D keys.
    Jump with Up, X, or W.
    Collect the red blood cells to replicate. Clones of yourself can jump in mid-air while spawning!
    If you get stuck restart with the R button. There is a small camera bug that I did not have time to fix.

    Reach the human's brain to infect him!

    View eburn184's journal. | View all entries by eburn184

    Ratings

    Coolness75%
    #180Fun3.26
    #200Graphics3.43
    #211Overall3.36
    #225Humor2.70
    #231Innovation3.36
    #300Theme3.28
    #366Mood2.76
    #528Audio2.24

    Comments

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:57pm

    I found the controlls a bit goofy but it's a really fun platformer with a nice twist. Good job!

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:57pm

    I found the controls a bit goofy but it's a really fun platformer with a nice twist. Good job!

    mikolalysenko says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:09pm

    This game is frustratingly difficult. Especially in the places where you effectively get stuck after missing a red blood cell jump. Maybe it would be good to make some of them respawn or remove some bottomless pits?

    matt says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:20am

    Nice idea and game. I also found it too difficult.

    eburn184 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:25am

    Thanks guys! So far the comments have either been "too easy" or "way too hard". I guess I could say I didn't have time to balance the levels in the 48-hours :/

    Skully says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:32am

    Addictive game indeed
    Love the virus infecting the cell and using that as a mechanic for getting across passages.
    Also spot on having infinite lives: encourages continuous play and stops it getting frustrating (or at least less so!)
    great job

    Datw says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:37am

    Good game, a little bit hard though. I really liked the graphics of it xD

    Hazematman says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:41am

    Very interesting concept for a platformer! It was very fun, but at level 8 It was much too difficult for me :P

    pkdawson says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:44am

    Great game. Really hard, in a Super Meat Boy kind of way - your timing has to be absolutely perfect in a few sections, but that makes finishing it more satisfying.

    NefariousZhen says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:34am

    Quite enjoyable. For some reason chrome kept telling me it was unresponsive but it was very responsive. Otherwise it was fantastic.

    eburn184 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:40am

    Thanks! I had Chrome whine to me tonight too while playing Flash games

    Syntaxide says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:05am

    Good game. I only got up to the jumping trick, which I found really cool. I'll definitely play more later.

    eburn184 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:06am

    Thanks! I feel the mechanic definitely needs a bit more work if I intend to expand upon what I have.

    dacap says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:16am

    A lot of possibilities are open with this game. I really liked it. Good job!

    jacobalbano says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:23am

    Definitely the most unique game I've seen so far, and the first one to get a 5 star rating from me. Nicely done.

    eburn184 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:44am

    Thanks a lot! That means a ton to me

    Gornova says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:12pm

    out of theme, but fun game. I hate you for level 5 :D

    eburn184 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:21pm

    I'm not sure if I quite agree with "out of theme" My interpretation of the theme was you'd be a germ in a human body, which is a "Tiny World". I've seen a handful of germ games, so I can't be the only one who had the same train of thought. Thanks for the rating!

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:44pm

    Very Addictive! :)

    amidos2006 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:52pm

    Thats really a nice entry :) I love the twist in the game :)

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:43am

    Neat game. Reminds me of Too Many Plumbers.

    YMM says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:07am

    The gameplay itself was interesting and kind of fun.

    But I can't help but notice that the loading screen, menu, white bar effect and parts of the source code bear a striking similarity to my (uncredited) game Give Up Robot 2 ( http://games.adultswim.com/give-up-robot-2-online-game.html ) :S Credit would've been appreciated.

    Tourgen says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:09am

    Good game, I'm just bad at it. I couldnt do the 3 stacked jump that alternated directions.

    eburn184 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:14am

    Hey Matt, your work is actually a huge inspiration of mine! I'll be more than happy to give credit!

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:21am

    Creative twist, if a little difficult at times. But if you did copy the game from YMM, that ain't cool.

    YMM says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:30am

    Hey, that'd be cool but, uh, I never publicly released the source code for that game! I'm glad I inspired you and I really don't mind people decompiling my stuff to learn from it, but straight-up using a reskin of my menu/preloader in your game feels wrong to me (especially since it goes against the spirit of Ludum Dare).

    eburn184 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:34am

    I never decompiled GUR2. The preloader is actually based off Drakenek's preloader on the flashpunk forums, with a static background, text of the game's title, and a second colored bar. I learned how to do tweening from Chevy Ray's Flee Buster entry, which I thought was in the spirit of Ludum Dare. I honestly never meant you any harm. You're one of the reasons I got into making games!

    bms says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:41am

    It's really not cool to decompile games, use the code without permission AND make the code public as if you own it. Thus, I will not rate this game.

    eburn184 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:44am

    I never decompiled any Flash games. I can provide all of the forum posts that I got code / concepts from. All of the code in my game is code I've either written, or that is already open sourced via FlashPunk, and its forums.

    robcozzens says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:51am

    Pretty cool idea, but the controls are really difficult.

    mneubrand says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:33am

    Solid platformer with nice innovative game mechanics. Definitely needs some difficulty tweaking but otherwise awesome

    bms says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:34am

    Happy you guys have things sorted out with YMM. It's wierd situation indeed.. Anyway, I Quite like the game! cute graphics, solid gameplay.. Good job!

    Kendja says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:01am

    Very well done. But i given up on the tooth level(the last picture on that page).

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:01pm

    Okay I played the game all the way through and I must say, I am amazing!

    The mechanic is extremely innovative and extremely fun! I also really like how, it's very hard to master, but not frustrating.

    I think you did an amazing job with this. Great work!

    Angerus says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:26pm

    Difficult but not to much...I will say that's a challenging game! the graphism are funny and the gameplay is really interesting for a plateformer. I find it very fun ! Nicely done!

    De10ter says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:32pm

    Unfortunately I couldn't play. After the menu screen I get an error:
    Error: Error #2130: Unable to flush SharedObject.
    at Error$/throwError()
    at flash.net::SharedObject/flush()
    at com.ld23.worlds::TitleWorld()
    at com.ld23::Main/init()
    at net.flashpunk::Engine/onStage()
    at flash.display::DisplayObjectContainer/addChild()
    at flash.display::Stage/addChild()
    at com.ld23::SirusTheVirus/startup()
    at com.ld23::SirusTheVirus/onMouseDown()

    Broxter says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:11pm

    Interesting concept that kept me playing all the way through (took me a little over ten minutes); I really liked how you seamlessly integrated a meaningful story into such a simple game. However, I felt like you overused the multi-jumping aspect (which made the game slightly frustrating at times) at the cost of more puzzle-type plays on the concept (like in the last level). The graphics were quite nice and consistent for the most part. I thought it was weird when a copy would automatically jump if a red blood cell was infected whilst jumping, and I thought it was unnecessary that you seemingly amplified the jumping sound effect when there were more copies of the player.

    Orni says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:42pm

    simply a solid good game
    I enjoyed it

    eburn184 says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:18am

    If you have played my game and I haven't rated your's yet, no worries, I'll get to it this weekend. Thanks!

    Draknek says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:04pm

    It's a nice idea, been done before (Tiny Plumbers) but that's not a problem really.

    Found level 4 frustrating. Sfx annoying.

    May 13, 2012 @ 9:22am

    Haha! The graphics and humor are lovely! Kudos!

    Toast says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 4:00pm

    This game is the most refreshing and complete-feeling I've played so far. Really, good job on this one.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]