Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 3 hours, 55 minutes, 4 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 3 hours, 55 minutes, 5 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Space Bear - madflame991 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Seek the 7 Cosmic Stars to make rainbow glue out of them and put Earth back in one piece!

    Controls: Arrow Keys and Spacebar

    View madflame991's journal. | View all entries by madflame991

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #22Humor3.80
    #226Mood3.06
    #326Graphics3.10
    #481Fun2.71
    #515Overall2.83
    #597Innovation2.58
    #729Audio1.35
    #757Theme2.31

    Comments

    Toast says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:48pm

    Simple game, but I like the whole mood.

    Cambrian_Man says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:50pm

    ... and here I'd thought I'd made the only entry that was a shooter that had rainbows and bears.

    I dig the graphics. Plus bears.

    Sanguine says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:52pm

    I love the graphics, the game is a bit hard though.

    Ergo says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:21pm

    What a story! :D

    Running out of oxygen gets kinda frustrating, coming across space-trees is really random. I guess that's the challenge of the game though. Maybe you should have had a closest tree indicator and reduced the oxygen to keep the challenge?

    The graphics are interesting lol. Flying around a bear-head with 6 stars trailing behind it is quite a sight.

    The lack of sounds (mainly music) kinda sucks. D:

    Overall a pretty nice game though! :D

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    I thought the game was hilarious, primarily due to the story and graphics. I didn't realize the need to find oxygen, even after I died once. The game would be really cool with some silly sound effects, but overall I enjoyed it. :)

    samoojamies says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:35am

    urls do not work

    madflame991 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:08am

    I've hosted my game on GameJolt and it seems to be dead now :(
    Anyways, I've managed to upload the game to my blog (and the sources too (as it is written in JavaScript/HTML5))

    Daniel says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:39am

    Collecting the cosmic stars was pretty entertaining :)

    Proch says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:44am

    i loved that fuckin nonsense XD

    kutuup1989 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:07pm

    lol how do people come up with this stuff! Not a bad game at all, quite hard and could use some sound though!

    Transmit says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:47pm

    Bears! In space!

    Darien says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:55pm

    It's a bit frustrating not having any idea where the trees are; the core gameplay is pretty fun, but it seems relatively random whether or not you'll survive long enough to get all the stars.

    Jhelle says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:08pm

    I'm sure not what I just played but I think I liked it? good job?

    callidus says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:54am

    go space bear, go! your our only hope!

    badlydrawnrod says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    Very funny.

    omaha says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:09am

    pretty funny. were there more wolf attackers coming if i waited longer? they were my favorite part.

    leafo says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:14am

    Cool game, takes forever to find the stars. Needs audio to keep things interesting

    dagothig says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:23am

    Was funny to play, though the oxygen thing got frustrating and the whole thing felt fairly long after a little while (sometimes the stars would be very far apart from each other)

    TenTonToon says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:43am

    Cool exploration game, with an awesome sense of humor! I agree that the stars feel a little bit too far away from each other, mainly because there's not a lot of action other than the initial pack of (space) wolves.

    "The eruption was so awesome that the volcano itself blew up [...] After several decades humanity decided to send a giant bear head in space"
    Where did that came from?? XD

    Congratulations!

    MurrayL says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:35pm

    What is this I don't even

    Ishisoft says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:25pm

    I didn't notice the oxygen either until I died once and looked at the comments. I did spend most of the game just staring at the distance value, but enjoyed noticing the surreal stuff floating around space. Bonus points for rainbow stars. :)

    LukeRissacher says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:44pm

    Cool - seems like an accurate scientific prediction of how the next 50 years are going to unfold. And nice to see something original come out of the now-cliche bear-head-in-space genre. We've played enough of those I think.

    Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:08pm

    Ok I must say, this game is hilarious!

    My only suggestion is I think you should have made the game tell me which direction the next star is instead of just numbers. Makes it easier.

    crazyheckman says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:11pm

    Awesome, really simple and a bear head for some reason. Would be nice to have a map so I could see where trees are. I got 4 stars and was frantically searching for air, but couldn't find any. But a really good game anyway.

    jwolf says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:00pm

    Nice sense of humour! I couldn't figure out what was supposed to be oxygen, however (or it wasn't picking it up correctly).

    Jeremias says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:01pm

    Very funny theme/story, but the gameplay lacks of fun - if you fly to one star, nothing happens :(
    Just add some faster enemies or obstacles.

    Space Bear!

    Oye Beto says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:09pm

    Maybe you could add arrows pointing to the nearest star to improve the game flow.
    It was fun to kill the evil wolves and I was expecting to see more enemies but they did't appear.

    nornagon says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:05am

    Awesome mood :P

    spiral says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:14am

    How many drugs were you taking?

    FredericRP says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:30pm

    The story is.. completely ****** ** ! (in a good way) The game wasn't so hard after finding that you've got to come across space trees to regain oxygen, but it misses music and something to do between the star chase 0_o

    summaky says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 12:43pm

    Very funny story :-D

    Scott Baker says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 12:44pm

    I'm am sure in Pompeii when the volcano erupted the Romans screamed "Quick, get the bear head!!!!". But alas it was too late.

    Nice humor and game play. I had fun with this, thanks. I wish it had audio and a way to take the stars back.

    It took a while to realize I had to find trees in space for O2. Cause, you know, I didn't think to look for trees in space.

    levelbylevel says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    I had fun :) Didn't manage to find a cosmic star, but then it took a while for me to notice the "distance from star" mechanic :p

    Jack says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 1:48pm

    I don't even. The gameplay wasn't something I'd really write home about but the surrealism of the whole thing earns you a bunch'a points in my book

    KevinWorkman says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 12:12am

    I love ridiculous games like this. My only critique is that there weren't enough flying wolf heads floating in space, and I'm only saying that critique because I'll never get the chance to say it again. Great job.

    namuol says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 6:23am

    I have chosen to replace all punctuation in this post with BEARS in honor of BearsBEARS

    I have failed the people of EarthBEARS a few timesBEARS Sound and stuff could make this a semiBEARScultBEARShitBEARS

    Silly games always get extra pointsBEARS so that was a wise design choiceBEARS I thinkBEARS

    Andrew says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 11:42am

    My biggest issue with the game is that wolf heads should be smaller than bear heads.

    Catman says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 12:39pm

    Weird! The introductive story was funny :)

    angrygeometry says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 6:13pm

    i liked it. finding the stars became long and tedious but the graphics were great. i loved the way the stars bounced around behind you. nice work.

    ratboy2713 says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 5:12am

    If you are going to go silly, you better go whole hog. Loved it.

    thatshelby says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 4:42am

    I loved the hot-cold mechanic.

    Krisjet says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 2:35pm

    I love how bizarre it is, but the game design could use some work. Running out of oxygen after hunting stars for long time is VERY frustrating, especially considering how much time you spend just traveling around. The rest is just super weird, in a good way :)

    Keirua says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 7:25pm

    Haha, it looks like whe had a very similar idea; however your game is much better than what I did, and the story is much more crazy :D

    tcstyle says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 7:39am

    Funny story. Finding the stars via the distance works well but flying around becomes tedious after a while.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]