Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 7 hours, 18 minutes, 37 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Subatomica - SFBTom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Enter the extremely tiny world of subatomic physics! You control the charge on a particle to the left with the y position of your mouse, and your aim is to get it to the yellow goal on the right. Other particles, fields and even antimatter will help/hinder you along the way.

    View SFBTom's journal. | View all entries by SFBTom

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #36Innovation4.01
    #116Overall3.57
    #148Fun3.36
    #191Theme3.49
    #317Graphics3.12
    #475Mood2.62
    #743Humor1.54
    #745Audio1.28

    Comments

    andrebeton says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:00am

    Wow. This is really a fun idea. A it fits the theme nicely!

    stromchin says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:07am

    It kept getting more and more fun

    Cyboot says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:48am

    This was really funy, one of the best i played yet.
    I like the controls and the Theme fits perfectly.


    Great Job! :)

    keely says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:50am

    Cool idea! Good idea in making them bounce and not punishing the player too much. You can get through first levels with just dumb luck and feel the game out. Graphics are polished and game feels good. Nice twisting of the theme too.

    the8donut says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:55am

    Really fun and polished game! Simple yet smart core mechanics.

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:57am

    Great concept, love the execution, too! I might like a pop-up telling me what each new element does - but maybe that would ruin the discovery? Great job, could really see this being further polished and commercially released! Cheers!

    sdwil2k5 says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:05am

    Awesome!! Quite original and difficult to master but not too much.
    Some audio indication of field strength by changing the pitch or something would really top it off.

    marudziik says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:40pm

    Awesome, especially since we went for similar take on theme (yours is on smaller scale). Vector graphics look awesome. I'd prefer keyboard controls and the possibility to reset the charge to neutral (or even better: reset, max positive, max negative) and more puzzle-like levels (static charges), less action-like ones. Anyway, great game. Some sound would be nice.

    JPSoftware says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    This is excellent.

    raarlac says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:00am

    Beautiful game!

    TyrusPeace says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:34am

    Hard to handle but fun. Nice work! It's hard to think of a faster control solution that wouldn't just be binary with the inputs. Maybe making the controls take up less of the screen would keep people from mousing out entirely on accident?

    Mostly my difficulties seemed to stem from how hard it is to handle the timing with these fast moving particles. Very pretty and fun to play with, though. It's the kind of thing I could do for a very long time with the right sort of music.

    Cool concept, nice execution :).

    nihilocrat says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:40am

    Very interesting idea. Pretty tough!

    Milo says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:44am

    Impressive! The game was really intuitive (probably since its clean graphics communicated well) and pretty fun. The levels were well designed, and had a clear, but fair increase in difficulty (I got gold the first 4(?) levels, then silver the next 3 and bronze the last 3).

    bms says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:59am

    Highly Innovative game! I also love the graphics. well done!

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:33am

    Great innovative concept and cool take on the theme!

    shmooel says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:52am

    Greatly enjoyed this game. Just challenging enough.

    firstrowgames says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:05am

    fun and unique game.
    Very well done :)

    Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:45pm

    Cool concept, really enjoyed it.

    demonpants says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:46pm

    Very cool, but I found the game extremely difficult once I was past the first 3 levels though. I couldn't get enough control to get it into the goal.

    robcozzens says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:47pm

    OMG! That is cool. Really difficult to get it to do exactly what you want, but fun anyway.

    racarate says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:07pm

    Very cool! I would change "click here to start" to "click to start"... it took me a minute to realize that there was a third state of neutral in addition to positive and negative, maybe you can mark that on the slider too? Yours was the first game (of 25 so far) that I played all the way to the end. It was great fun to play with the repulsion and attraction mechanic. I never quite understood the purple and green particles -- they were enemies, I assume? Do they have less attractive and repulsive power than the red and blue? Also, the BARRIER level was quite hard! I just kind of kept trying until I got lucky enough to make it through. All in all, I really enjoyed this. The starfield and glow effects were fancy, but it was a shame there was no audio. I would keep developing this concept!

    AD-Edge says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:47am

    Cool game, fits the theme really well and full stars for innovation. I remember seeing it during the very early WIP on the front page, love the trails the particles leave.

    DaveDobson says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 1:55pm

    Neat idea, tying in with the theme, and cool puzzles. Very nice graphics and clear, easy-to-use interface. Some of the later ones got to be quite difficult; I won some of them just by setting my particle to neutral and letting it bounce around, which is probably not optimal. Nice work!

    Alexandre says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 3:37pm

    Great game, fun to play!
    I loved the concept and mechanics, and it fits the theme very well. Some explanations would have been nice (the electric field effect is not obvious for example).

    smvilar says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:11pm

    Nice idea and graphics

    schizofunky says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:12pm

    Quite innovative!

    vigrid says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:05pm

    Simple, yet very interesting idea, it stands out from the other "gravity as control" games. Great realization of the theme. I found the controls challenging, but hey, that was pretty much the idea for the puzzles :)

    Raptor85 says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 12:27am

    cool concept but i found it kinda hard to control, loved the attract:repulse mechanics

    cltatman says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 12:40am

    My favorite so far! The interactions were intuitive and smooth, and the visuals were very effective.

    When I saw the puzzle with only two antimatter particles, I knew this was a solid puzzler.

    Altogether, though I'd love to have some audio/music, it's very playable and feels complete, a great job in 48 hours. :)

    madflame991 says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 7:23pm

    At first I thought this is a nice take on gravity games, but after a few level I couldn't control it anymore... I think a speed limit should help. Anyways, nice presentation with the sparks and trails and background!

    Monkey Armada says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 10:15am

    I really like the mechanics. Hope I had that idea before! haha
    Maybe another control setup or a lower difficulty level should be better.

    RĂ©mi says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 11:39pm

    Great concept! (it's maybe a little hard to understand the control the first time, a sentence could help!)

    ratboy2713 says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 12:41am

    Nice idea, though it could have used a bit more of an explanation in game.

    otaviogood says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 7:59pm

    Great game. One of my favorites. The controls got frustrating though. Somehow I never got an intuitive grasp of the controls. The up/down thing makes you think it's gonna go up/down unless you pause to think. I'm wondering if some vector field visualization would help intuitively understanding it all better.

    Pixelulsar says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 11:05pm

    I've seen a few games with this concept this compo, but I think the different levels of positive or negative was cool.

    May 5, 2012 @ 1:50am

    An incredibly cool concept.

    May 5, 2012 @ 3:42pm

    Amazing idea, fits theme well.

    May 5, 2012 @ 10:12pm

    Great little (pun intended) game! Reminds me of our first Ludum Dare entry which also involved getting a ball from point A to point B using magnetic physics, but you actually made more than two levels.

    http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-20/?action=preview&uid=4336

    derosa says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 10:47pm

    Great idea and very well done! I couldn't pass the barrier level, but that's mainly my fault :) Thanks!

    Make A Game says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 10:52pm

    Cool concept!

    Daniel says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 10:21am

    Awesome idea! 5 star :)

    chinchang says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 10:54am

    nice game and concept. I liked the graphic details but felt the controls could have been better.

    Benjamin says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    Nice idea and good execution. Death on border hit would be a bit frustrating but maybe it will make the game more playable : On the 1-5 first level if you can't manage to find the right path you end up bouncing in every directions, you could as way auto restart at first bounce on wall and add bounce zone on the level which need it.

    Valeour says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 3:58pm

    Very clever indeed, difficult at times, buts very fun.

    Tom 7 says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 4:02pm

    Really cool. I had a hard time getting the hang of it at first (might just be the controls?). I realized eventually that if you are neutral and moving fast then you will eventually reach the goal from bouncing around randomly. That's kind of a flaw (maybe you should not bounce, but drift off?) though your time system makes it still a challenge.

    Biggest downside for me was that the game got slow and crashed about 8 levels in. :(

    Hume says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 6:19pm

    This is a great idea executed with considerable polish.

    I agree with marudziik -- I would have enjoyed this better as a puzzle game, not a twitch game. I knew exactly what I was supposed to do, but by "Slalom," I couldn't accomplish it. I was too frustrated to play more, which is a shame.

    Great use of theme, very solid technically.

    Datamosh says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 1:45pm

    Truly fun and addictive! Good work! Glad I stumble upon this one.

    Vilborg says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 5:12am

    I think there were some advanced techniques I didn't master, and I don't know where the antimatter was, but I got gold on one of the last levels. Pretty neat idea!

    bombom says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 9:26am

    Awesome idea!

    matt says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 3:21am

    I enjoyed this a great deal. Nice concept and execution.

    heuermh says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 6:06am

    Very cool. I liked the feature that if I got by a level on sheer luck I could Replay to do it right the next time.

    23 says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 7:41am

    Really clever mechanic. Not sure what to make of the moving non-player particles, though - are they stronger?

    Toast says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 3:48pm

    Finally, another original idea. I was beginning to lose hope.

    dray says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 8:02pm

    Great idea, we can be really precise with the controls.

    Sheep says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Nice innovative concept!

    jeffz says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 12:13am

    well done on the game and the amount of games you've rated, would have enjoyed some music with this one though.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]