Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 28 days, 16 hours, 1 minute, 16 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Tiny Planet - CherryNukaCola - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Set off as many stars as possible before day the night is over!

    Use the mouse to rotate the planet and collide with stars.

    Made with Unity. Unity webplayer required to play. Makes copious use of iTween and the Detonator framework. Bfxr for sound and Aviary for music.

    Phew! Looking forward to playing everyone else's game!

    BONUS POINTS: Guess the Joni Mitchell song I was listening to when I came up with the concept for this... ^_^

    EDIT: Post-comp version with MOAR SPLOSIONS: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1971219/Tiny%20World/tinyworldv101/WebPlayer/WebPlayer.html - Enjoy!

    EDITv2: Post comp link version above now has keyboard controls - use either the arrows or wasd to control the tiny planet. Cheers!

    EDITv3: A post-comp version that reduces explosions, to make it easier to see what you're doing. Wusses. ^_^

    View CherryNukaCola's journal. | View all entries by CherryNukaCola

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #160Theme3.55
    #184Graphics3.48
    #197Audio3.06
    #234Mood3.05
    #326Humor2.44
    #439Overall2.94
    #518Fun2.66
    #528Innovation2.72

    Comments

    Andrew says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:22am

    It needs more explosions I think.

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:32am

    Your wish is my command: MWAAHAHAHAHAHA!

    drZool says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:01am

    Looks cool

    aaronsnoswell says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:23am

    My eyes! They are burning! Sooo many asplosions! Love the cell-shader look you went for. The music seems to really fit, also.

    Great job!

    Lidfrid says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:29am

    AHahah that expliosons! From nowhere!
    With no reason.

    AWESOME!!!

    jami says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:45pm

    Sunglasses needed! :P Awesome explosions ;)

    bburbank says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:24am

    EXPLODING

    R3ason says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:09am

    Fun. Controls probably would have been easier with keys (instead of mouse), but it works. Hard to see through all the 'splosions! Thanks for making this!

    Orni says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:09am

    very nice graphic style - although my eyes are hurting now

    Zamando says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:53am

    Original concept! But, hard to navigate when seeing only explotions!

    tacograveyard says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:01pm

    Lots of fun. I agree that having an option for keyboard controls would be nice.

    gavin5564 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:54am

    Over excessive explosions, ha could have had a little less but it actually added to the fun and experience. Good fun.

    mjb says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:56am

    I really liked the whimsical music combined with the explosions. Fun game.

    omaha says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:58am

    i'm not sure what i just did but it was awesome.

    Chinchilla says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:09am

    Boom!

    rynti says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    The amount of explosions is TOO DAMN HIGH! Nah, just kidding - loved it^^

    Meedoc says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:18pm

    Clever control! I like what you did, it's a great game even if I'm blind now...

    Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:15pm

    Cool and simple game, great if you like many explosions.

    flaxenflash says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:18pm

    Very nice, really looks terrific

    evilseanbot says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:12am

    This had a really strong mood AND massive explosions. That's something for everybody.

    I really wanted to do more in such an interesting atmosphere. Also, sometimes the explosions made it hard to see what was going on, it'd be cool if the character's silhouette could be seen through explosions.

    otaviogood says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:39am

    The asplowshuns look pretty sweet but they do get in the way of gameplay.

    Jezzamon says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:33pm

    This game is really pretty with the explosions, but... I wish I could see what was happening. Most of the challenge of this game is trying to look past the explosions to see the planet. Which is a little silly... it's almost like it's covering up the lack of much gameplay.

    That being said, I really do like the explosions and stuff although it'd be good if they were behind the planet or something?

    notepid says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 10:37pm

    @CherryNukeCola: Particleeffects are indeed on the large scale. interesting concept, nevertheless I would want more incentive for the player to complete the objectives.

    Pitoum says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 8:31am

    Nice graphics ! Even I lost my right eye :)

    Pitoum says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 10:04am

    Even if.
    And I just lost the second one with the PostCompo version :D

    ericdpitts says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 12:35am

    When the first explosions happened, I had no idea what was going on and I was scared. :P I absolutely loved your game. The music was so fitting, and wandering around the little planet collecting stars and making explosions (once I knew what was going on) is really relaxing. Wonderful job!

    Datw says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 2:14am

    Great Art and Audio, but i didn't like the premise of the game.

    rvmook says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    Really enjoyed playing it. You already put all of the things I wanted to add in the post compo versions, so thanks for creating those!

    tcstyle says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 8:15pm

    Whoa! I think those explosions will give me bad dreams tonight. Neat effects and good idea for the game mechanics.

    KevinWorkman says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 1:29am

    Oooh, pretty! As others said, the explosions were a bit much, but I gathered that's what you were going for, so I dig it.

    machinas says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 6:32am

    got 49 on my first try. charming. lots of bloom. interesting mechanic of preventing the player from seeing. nice peaceful audio sets a good mood.

    Rabbits... says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 2:16pm

    Explosions so cool...I want to use something like that...How did you do it?

    May 11, 2012 @ 7:22am

    Rabbits, I used the detonator framework: http://unity3d.com/support/resources/unity-extensions/explosion-framework , which is a little bit outdated now with Unity's new particle system, but I haven't fully gotten my head around shruiken yet. ^_^

    Beerman says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 2:43pm

    So I take it you like explosions? :)

    JonathanG says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 7:58am

    A fun game, but it's difficult to see what's going on with all the explosions. Other than that the graphics are nice. There doesn't seem to be much challenge, so I don't think I'd replay it that much

    dr_soda says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 8:12pm

    I have no idea what just happened but it sure was pretty.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]