Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 7 hours, 15 minutes, 16 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 7 hours, 15 minutes, 17 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Forever Alone - ra4king - Jam Entry

    Our first ever Ludum Dare! We're pretty proud of this....

    Idea was djdduty's, but he didn't participate.
    Me and razorquick expanded upon it.

    You need at least Java 6 to run this. Get it here www.java.com

    Instructions:
    WASD to move
    Hover over planets to popup info window.
    Expand the drop downs to interact.

    Ship info:
    - To Fix: metal = level x 20, oil = level x 10, slaves = level x 5
    - To Upgrade: metal = level x 50, oil = level x 20, slaves = level x 10

    Home Planet info:
    - To Upgrade: wood = level x 100, stone = level x 70, slaves = level x 50

    Description:
    You're a dejected robot on your tiny home planet, all alone with no resources. One day a random spaceship crashes into your planet, which you proceed to claim as your own!
    You start adventuring around your "cluster" of planets (50 of them), quietly stealing resources necessary to upgrade your spaceship and your home planet.
    Your goal is to conquer the universe, by destroying all 50 planets, making you the most powerful robot ever....all alone.....Forever Alone......

    How To Play:
    - To take an action on a planet, you hover your ship over it where a window will popup on the lower right hand corner of the screen. Expand the tab to take actions!
    - You can only manage to quietly steal from a planet once, all further attempts will cause them to notice you and hurt you by 10 HP. You do still manage to steal, but not as much as the first time.
    - Attacking a planet will make you take all their resources (to the max your spaceship can hold), and even the population become slaves. However, your HP will go down by the planet's Defense value.
    - Your home planet is where you store your resources. Storing puts all your resources on the planet. Equipping equips your ship up to the max it can hold.
    - There is no point to upgrade your home planet, that was for a proposed idea where planets attack your home to try and stop your unending rampage!
    - Your ship's max HP and max resource capacity can be increased by upgrading your ship.

    The background music is Clair de Lune by Debussy. I would have performed it (I'm a professional pianist), but I had no time and ended up using an online source. I don't believe you can copyright such music, so it's considered public domain.

    It has quite a bit of data to load, so give it a minute...I should have put a loading screen :P

    Coded by me from scratch using my lovely game library: java-game-utils.googlecode.com

    Art is by razorquick. He's pretty awesome. :P

    View ra4king's journal. | View all entries by ra4king

    Ratings

    #37Mood(Jam)3.50
    #44Audio(Jam)3.55
    #54Fun(Jam)3.30
    #69Overall(Jam)3.39
    #107Innovation(Jam)3.09
    #116Theme(Jam)3.04
    #156Graphics(Jam)2.96
    #177Humor(Jam)1.92
    #688Coolness46%

    Comments

    sythe says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:14am

    Can't run this.

    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:41pm

    Ahh, afer playing this nice, calm, relaxing game about destroying planets whilst your planet grows to gargantuan proportions I feel much better :) Very nice resource management, I still couldn't beat it, after my 3rd/ 4th try but never mind, the point is that I had fun whilst playing it, the soothing music matches the movement of the craft which is quite responsive yet forgiving. Glad to see the important GUI elements are there, without that red arrow pointing to home I would have got lost quite easily.

    You may need to upgrade your JRE to run this but it's worth it :)

    BenW says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:17pm

    I had a lot of fun playing this and taking over the universe. I didn't like that I had to open a popup for each planet that I visited. It should have just displayed all the options when I got there. Also I didn't see much point to upgrading my home.

    Darkfrost says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:08am

    This was awesome! 5* for mood, it was so relaxing to play, good fun too :p I tried about 6 times, but still died, but itwas good fun >:] Would've been nice to have other planets attack you or something, give you a bit more to aim at with upgrading your planet, etc, but it was fun! Nice work!

    dr_soda says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:39am

    I'm afraid it didn't run on my machine.

    Windows Vista 64

    ra4king says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:17am

    You need to have the latest Java version installed. www.java.com

    razorquick says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:49am

    @Darkfrost : the attacking planets are in works ; they will show up in the next installment .

    Suggestions/CC are welcome

    Lidfrid says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:57am

    I like this game! Even it Does not have a goal!
    I will add the possibility to repair the ship though!
    cool concept.

    you can't use this song!!

    keebus says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:00am

    It's hard to grasp, some tutorial is needed to really appreciate this kind of games. Keep on!

    Great music choice!

    Taugeshtu says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:50pm

    Awesome. Great mood, great fun to play. Held me for quite some time!
    I specifically like "slaves" resource :D

    ra4king says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:10pm

    @Lidfrid, this is a piece composed by the great Debussy, a French composer who lived in the 19th century. I was going to perform it myself (I'm a professional pianist), but I had no time and simply downloaded it off an online site. There is no way you can copyright that music, so it's considered public domain.

    @keebus, thanks for reminding me! I wanted to write a full explanation in the description....doing so now :)

    @Taugeshtu, thanks for playing! XD

    triplefox says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:00am

    It took some time to understand how to play and after a while it became repetitive. I never found the last planet...

    However I really liked stealing from other planets and making your own bigger. :)

    My FPS was quite low, 3-15 FPS. I think it was using software rendering...but this didn't affect play so much.

    pighead10 says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:32pm

    Gameplay had a lot of potential but ended up being fairly simply, presumably because of lack of time. Nice GUI elements, and the sound as well as graphics made it very addictive and strangely calm.

    TurboDindon says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:34pm

    I second that, nice concept and good job on the GUI and overall mood. Too bad it lacks a bit of depth and clarity (resources needed to upgade/fix should be showed when the cursor is over the button. Same thing for an attack, it'd be great if the consequences were displayed beforehand when the cursor is over the attack button).
    Anyway, I liked it :) It reminded me a bit of desktop dungeons as it's all about choices and simple stats without pressure. You could check it out as a source of inspiration (to add depth while staying accessible) if you want to develop further versions.

    Shadow says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:14am

    Nice game. Death was confusing sometimes, but I think you managed to put quite a few interesting things into this (like the whole resource-stealing thing and the ship/world upgrading). Music was perhaps too relaxing, it could be more epic or space-y, but I certainly enjoyed the experience. Good job, especially for being your first LD.

    free_napalm says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:03pm

    Excellent choice of music, relaxing gameplay and nice mood. Well done.

    Kvisle says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:50pm

    I didn't figure out how to start this.

    The jnlp-file was downloaded by my browser. I attempted to open it with javaws (web start, often works) - it complains about parsing the file.

    Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:00am

    Cool relaxing game. I enjoyed it.

    Per says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:42am

    A nice game. Liked the mechanics. It might be to unforgiving sometimes. Loved the music, a real classic and perfect for space games of this kind :)

    Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:32pm

    Very relaxing indeed. Just letting the music play for a while in the background :D

    Performance varied greatly between 15fps - 60fps at times.

    Keep working on this :)

    Fireblend says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 10:01pm

    A pretty relaxing game, mainly due to the music and the fact there isn't much action or any time-dependent elements to be worried about. The controls were pretty good, considering some other games I've played suffer from really floaty/accelerated controls and that usually hurts the experience, not so here. The mood achieved by the fullscreen and the music was also pretty enjoyable, and I got into it for quite a bit :)

    I think the gameplay mechanics itself could be greatly improved upon; there was no real tradeoff between stealing and attacking beyond the fact that the first steal was a "freebie", and I guess that took away some of the experience (knowing it came down to just attacking planets/healing when necessary/traveling back home for storage/upgrades); at the end it did seem a bit like a chore.

    Anyway, pretty enjoyable game overall; I wouldn't advice to mess with the mood by adding enemies or something, but some more strategy and planning elements would be very welcome. Great job!

    robcozzens says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 1:26am

    Wouldn't run for me... on an iMac.

    ra4king says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 3:52am

    Thanks for the awesome reviews! :o)

    @robcozzens
    You're the second person to have had a problem with it on the Mac. Could you send me a stacktrace? You can find the stacktrace in the Java Console, which you enable by going in to the Java settings and set the console "always show"

    Jedi says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 10:44pm

    Very nice, overall :). I conquered the galaxy! Galactic conquest has never been so relaxing! :D

    My main complaint is that upgrading the ship becomes a bad idea after a while, since there's no kind of damage or shielding bonus for upgrading and you end up just missing out on repair opportunities. You should have full health after an upgrade.

    Also, I think it was cool how you'd have these different resources to manage but in practice, metal is too rare and becomes the only one of import.

    If you keep working on it, this game could really benefit from a minimap. The only other issue is that it didn't want to exit after I won; I had to use alt-F4.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]