Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 31 days, 2 hours, 17 minutes, 32 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 66 days, 3 hours, 5 minutes, 32 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Pin Party - Cambrian_Man - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    It's a party! How many angels can dance on the head of a pin? Seven. Gather the other six angels and bring them back to the pin in this fast-paced score-attack twin-stick-style shooter... hyper fighting edition.

    Controls:
    Arrow Keys: Move
    WASD: Shoot

    Use the Party Sense Arrow above your head to find the nearest angel or your way back to the pin.


    Spacebar: Start

    View Cambrian_Man's journal. | View all entries by Cambrian_Man

    Ratings

    #88Audio3.46
    #179Humor2.83
    #288Fun3.07
    #308Overall3.18
    #322Mood2.86
    #339Graphics3.07
    #432Theme3.04
    #549Innovation2.67
    #670Coolness47%

    Comments

    Hume says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:59pm

    I'm really bad at fast-paced score-attack twin-stick-style shooter... hyper fighting games, so I didn't get very far. But what I saw was vibrant and smooth. Do like.

    It's too bad I didn't get to see more of your hard work.

    omaha says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:04pm

    love the font. i think i picked the same one for my game :)
    http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?action=preview&uid=5229

    Lots of fun. I just wish I could shoot diagonally.

    Gremlin says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:38pm

    I like the approach to the theme.

    The highest I got was six angels. I kept getting swarmed and losing all of the followers. That said, I'm terrible at twin-stick shooters (and I think my keyboard had an issue with me trying to press four buttons at once).

    nihilocrat says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:23pm

    Cool interpretation of the theme! There are not enough medieval-philosophy-dance-party games in the world!

    ChrisWhitman says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:31pm

    Pretty solid! Enjoyed the art style and music. Pretty difficult, but not totally impossible. I found it pretty tough to complete the party after getting all the angels, but I did at least make it to round two.

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:33pm

    I played all the way through before realizing I could shoot. D'oh.

    Cambrian_Man says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:44pm

    KevinWorkman, wow, that's.. actually kind of impressive.

    Shackhal says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:17pm

    I made like 30000 pts but lose in the end. Great game, i like the rainbow shoots xD

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:50am

    An nice, polished, and solid game. It was frustrating though; it took me a while to work out where I was supposed to go, and I quit at round 2 due to it taking ages to advance. But anyway, good work!

    Cambrian_Man says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:54am

    BlackBulletIV, doh, I forgot to put in that the arrow above the lead angel points either to the nearest angel or back to the pin, so you just follow that.

    gritfish says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:42am

    It took me a while to see the arrow too, but once I did, the game became a lot easier and more fun - I'm pretty surprised by how well 4-directional shooting works once you've got some angels following you - you just send walls of bullets (or a laser of death!) Maybe the arrow would have been more obvious if it'd been around the edge of the screen? That music is also spot-on. Well done.

    Terra says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:10pm

    Yeah, the graphics & music are great! I failed pretty miserably, the most I had I think were 5 angels before I gave up.

    Making a million colourful bullets was fun though :D

    R3ason says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:42am

    Ahh, pretty good after I read the instructions :D Was a little hard with the dual keysets, but that could just be me. Very colorful, and the music was great. Thanks for sharing!

    Jim Haslett says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:29pm

    It seemed too hard to for me. I couldn't keep the others alive. I did like the way they all shot at the same time.

    moonmagic says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:28am

    I thought this was an amusing take on the theme and I enjoyed the enemy sprites and the lasers, as well. I think it would have been more fun to shoot the enemies if there was some visual / aural feedback, but I loved getting the new angels and seeing the huge wall of rainbows I was creating. I was ready for the game to end the first time I got back to the pin; increasing angel speed might help with this?

    schizofunky says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 6:29pm

    What a great idea for a game! I got quite addicted and loved the reward of building up your angel team! Nice work!

    Robert Swan says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 6:35pm

    Far too hard... and maybe swapping wasd and arrow keys would help some of us used to other configs too :) Shame as I like these games, and this did look cool

    machinas says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 7:18am

    heh. my keyboard has the arrow keys split between the left and right hands, so i can't wasd and arrow at the same time. I might see if i can find a spare keyboard to try it out

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]