Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 30 days, 18 hours, 59 minutes, 37 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    ZUNZANDA - SonnyBone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Did I ever tell you about the time I nearly wiped out an entire planet? It was an accident, of course... and I ain't proud of it. But man... lemme tell you... what I saw that day gave me a new appreciation for what we got. We got this vast universe and we can travel all over... the whole galaxy at our fingertips. But here's this tiny little world stuck right in the middle of it all... completely out of the loop. It all started when ...

    CONTROLS
    --------
    MOVE - Arrow Keys
    SELECT/PLACE - Left Mouse Button

    Post-Compo Edits:

    - Fixed a bug that prevented the game from running with certain audio codec installation issues. If you continue to have audio problems, please post a comment! I'll try to figure them out!

    - Added a few extra lines to the credits as a dedication to my aunt that passed away shortly after the end of LD23.

    - Fixed a critical bug that prevented player movement. (Removed the asdw keys for input as a quick fix. Could not find the true cause.)

    - Removed several unused graphics files in an attempt to reduce the file size. Sorry... it's still over 18 MB due to the audio.

    View SonnyBone's journal. | View all entries by SonnyBone

    Ratings

    Audio4.65
    Coolness87%
    #9Theme4.35
    #19Humor3.90
    #21Mood3.86
    #48Overall3.82
    #177Innovation3.48
    #247Graphics3.30
    #259Fun3.13

    Comments

    Danik says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:33am

    The links seem to be broken.

    Hazard says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:57am

    yes, links are all dead :(

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:57pm

    ACK! I used the Dropbox short link and it didn't work for some reason... I think my original file name was too long. Should be working now.

    ziomorti says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:44pm

    Amazing and fresh. Really liked this!

    devwil says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:27am

    ***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

    When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

    Please consider making a browser game next time.

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:46am

    I really really enjoyed the narration and story, EXCELLENT, but the gameplay was very hard to get into. I fell off the side a lot while trying to get stars, and most of the time they just didn't land on the island.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:10am

    Pacifist Games, I was worried that the game was too easy, as I was able to complete it 3 times in a row without even taking a single hit. I guess that's the problem with limited playtesting... you work so close with the game and it's hard to get a grasp of how it feels to a new player. I also play most PC games with a joystick and joy2key, using the analog stick as the mouse cursor.

    The randomness of the stars can make or break the difficulty of a wave. Sometimes you won't get lucky, then you'll get 8 in a row with little effort. Thanks for playing and commenting!

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:12am

    I actually enjoyed the game a lot, altough it took me a little bit to understand some things like "why should I be able to delete terrain?!".
    Absolutely loved the voice acting.

    haslettj says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:13am

    The artwork and intro were excellent. I didn't get the game play at all. All I could do was expand the island.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:26am

    haslettj, did you play story or sandbox? Sandbox mode is basically my debug mode. Story is where you go through the waves of enemies and rebuild between waves.

    Evil Sandwich Studios, thanks! Yeah, the delete terrain option was left over from sandbox/debug mode, but I left it in story as a little 'joke'.

    Jerm says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:34am

    This was awesome (especially the audio and intro)! Although the gameplay felt really slow and I kept falling off the side. And a lot of the time the starshines would just go out into space which made it take ages to get 8 of them.

    LukeRissacher says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:35am

    Bastion-style narration was great; good voice acting and audio all around. I found the pace a little slow, which made falling off really punishing (needing to sit through the easy levels again). Like others said most of the stars didn't hit the island which also made it challenging. Really polished for the timeframe though, great game.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:45am

    I ended up dropping two gameplay features halfway through the second day... one of them being a starshine attractor. You had a little energy bar that would slowly regenerate... holding down a button would emit an aura that would pull the starshines to you. I felt that it made the game too easy, but maybe I shoulda left it in. :(

    OH WELL

    Thanks for the plays and comments! I'll be getting to your games asap.

    omaha says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:59am

    couldn't get it to run on my mac.

    bms says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:08am

    BEST INTRO EVER!!

    Zythiku says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:41am

    Great narration! Would be nice to start at the last level you beat though instead of starting all over.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:43am

    Zythiku, yeah that's a feature that I thought was working... but then I realized that it's broken... well after the deadline. UGH. Maybe I'll update for a post-compo version if anyone cares.

    Izzimach says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:10am

    The audio narration makes it. The pacing was a little slow, especially since every time I died I had to click through the start menu and skip the intro again. But besides that, really fun and polished.

    hamburger says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:10am

    Wow you have generated a huge amount of narrative content for a 48 hour period! Love the Bastion-esque player narration. I found the gameplay pretty slow going and frustrating.

    umwgmc says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:10am

    Interesting gameplay, but felt a bit slow. I feel like everything should be twice as fast, maybe. Otherwise, it can entertain for a while.

    robcozzens says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:18am

    I would have played it if there was a Web or OSX version.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:27am

    Another feature that didn't make the deadline was a way to skip to the next wave when you're done building. And yeah, it seems as though my games always end up with a super slow pace. I'll keep that in mind next time... I'll try to make something with a bit more "GET UP AND GO". Thanks, everyone!

    Kitch says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:37am

    Narration, intro, music, all awesome. Only complaint really is that the slower pace really makes "falling off the damn side" punishing.

    Great work!

    Dracir says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:06am

    Really cool game. :)

    Budda says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:32am

    Awesome game, loved the narration

    dukope says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:43am

    Really fantastic presentation. Great music, story, dialog. Gameplay was fun, but the penalty for dying was too high. Pacing would've been ok if I could just restart the current wave.

    JustinMullin says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:51am

    Voice acting was excellent, as was the rest of the sound/music. The gameplay itself wasn't anything special, but the story/narration really held it all together. Very nicely done.

    Kayamon says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:55am

    You definitely deserve a prize for the awesome voice work on this :-)

    dr_soda says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:21am

    I really enjoyed this entry overall. The music and narration were far more than I expected from a Ludum Dare entry, and the gameplay wasn't bad either.

    I share the observations of others though in that the game is a bit slow paced. I made it to wave 3, fell off on my way to my last piece of starshine, and just couldn't bring myself to do it all over again. I still give it high marks in spite of that, though.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:30am

    CRAAAAAP. I'm guessing nobody has been able to finish it, then? Nobody found the cat, either. I think I'll make a post compo version with a respawn for those of you that wanna get to the end. Thanks for the comments, everyone!

    blob says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:42am

    I found the cat ! I found the cat ! :D
    But I died in this wave or the following one. Havent been able to beat the game yet :(

    This is really my only complaint: restarting the whole game when you reach even wave 5 ( which he says is half the way ? So im guessing I have to survive ten whole waves without dying ! )
    Read that restarting on the level was supposed to work though, so im hoping to get a post mortem version with that ! I'm enjoying replaying the game anyway, until I'll beat it. One of my favorite of this ludum dare so far. Great narration as said by others and cute little universe. Sweet story too...

    (also, the green buddy could have a nicer walking animation)

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:14am

    Blob, thanks for the great comments! I'll certainly be giving an updated version with respawns... and the green dude kinda slithers, actually.

    Vic says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:42am

    I love the intro and the voice :D.

    Make A Game says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:23am

    I haven't been able to beat the game, but this is my 48H favourite entry so far. The green creature is very cute. The sound effects are awesomely blended. The voice acting was an amazing surprise and the narration was very complementary to the gameplay! I don't dare to imagine what another 24H would do to this game.
    It was very thoughtful of you to include the sandbox =D. Congratulations =D

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:58pm

    I don't know how much more I will extend the game... as I usually leave my LD48 games the way they are, but I'm working on a version that will allow everyone to at least FINISH the game. And thanks for the kind words!

    For anyone that rates and comments, I'll be playing your games first before any others. I have a backlog, but I'll get to 'em all.

    caranha says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:23pm

    Sonny, I loved your game. It is quite hard, having to reset from the beginning if you die near the last level, but I made it!

    The narration is great, and the game is full of polish. The game play is hard, but in a challenging way. I wouldn't add a lot of features, other than a way to begin at half point in the game.

    Also, if you could add some subtitles for us ESL'ers, that would be awesome (I missed a bit of dialogue in the opening, not much).

    Cheers, and thanks for the game! Stars all around for you!

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:00am

    Thank you, ol' friend! I still haven't played yours, but it's in my next batch. I thought about subtitles, but I didn't really build that sequence to be very friendly with changes. I'm glad you were able to finish it! I like the idea of starting over at he halfway mark, but then I'll have to figure out how to save the island state at that point before the addition building and destruction, and I didn't really account for that when I built the game. It would take a lot of extra effort, so I think I'll just allow infinite respawns in the post-compo version so people can get to the end if they want.

    invaderJim says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:02pm

    +10000 for voice acting!

    Rectifier says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:55am

    While I didn't like the gameplay, the narration absolutely sold it.

    Fantastic job. It's things like that which set a great LD entry apart.

    Gunmonkey says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:55am

    i agree with devwil :(

    robcozzens says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 4:54am

    I would try it if you had a Web or OSX version.

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 7:27pm

    I don't make web or OSX games.

    Madball says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 1:44pm

    It was too hard. I fell several times and quit. And I couldn't understand speech (I never understand it XD), can you make subtitles?

    jmaasing says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 8:50pm

    Sorry, can't judge since I don't have windows.

    asfdfdfd says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 9:30pm

    Cool overvoice :)

    Terra says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 4:42am

    Really cute! I loved the intro an narration. I wish I got more bits of land for each jelly though, I would have liked to build out to catch all the stars that missed my planet altogether!

    JellyFame says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 9:53pm

    don't have windows

    crhallberg says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 10:03pm

    Someone's a fan of Bastion. ;) Excellent work! Best story and sound I've seen so far.

    Sos says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 11:23pm

    This is full of win! High fives, man!

    ilo says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 11:24pm

    Obviously the narration stands out - having played so many games with text, it's a special touch that adds a lot in humour and atmosphere.

    My best effort was about six waves in story mode - I would have played on but for the inability to restart at the wave I died on.

    I thought the land destruction/building mechanic worked well, and I liked that you had to choose whether to risk walking over a perilous bit of terrain to reach a starshine, or play it safe in the middle with the enemies.

    Maybe there could be more things to pick up - whether it be power-ups to temporarily slow/freeze the enemies or make the starshines attracted to you, or rocks you could use to add terrain during the waves.

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 12:00am

    ilo, those are great ideas! I don't normally continue working on my LD entries, as I'm busy working on a full-scale commercial game at the moment. Thanks so much for the plays and comments, everyone!

    May 14, 2012 @ 1:21am

    good stuff man.. audio well deserved 1st :)

    caranha says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 2:02am

    Congratulations on best audio, man. It was well deserved!

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 7:54am

    Thanks a ton, binarygirl and caranha! I really didn't expect it... so getting this gold medal on the 10th anniversary is a really rad feeling. Thanks for playing and rating!

    aquasheep says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 8:35pm

    Fun. Love the narration, and the concept is cool. What would be really neat for the future is if you took this idea and turned it into a tower defense game where you can build towers out different colored blocks and you build barricades for the jellies. Not that this game isn't awesome, just a thought for future work.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]