Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 18 hours, 7 minutes, 11 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    No Air Out Here - zkenshin - Jam Entry

    This was our first ludum dare game jam, so we weren't quite sure of the best way to submit the game. Download the .rar and run setup.exe to play. Have fun :)

    Edit April 28th, 2012:

    Just would like to apologize to those people who don't have windows machines and therefore are unable to play, I don't know the first thing about how to make a c# game with Xna work on different operating systems, and sadly will not be doing so for this competition. :(

    On the brighter side, we have decided that we will be making a version of this game for xblig at some point (with better controls :P) So thank you to everyone so far for the great feedback. :)

    View zkenshin's journal. | View all entries by zkenshin

    Ratings

    Coolness58%
    #129Theme(Jam)2.96
    #161Audio(Jam)2.28
    #186Mood(Jam)2.35
    #211Humor(Jam)1.62
    #216Innovation(Jam)2.15
    #230Fun(Jam)1.96
    #231Overall(Jam)2.26
    #234Graphics(Jam)2.11

    Comments

    Nilmrots says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:10am

    Very amusing game, but kind of repetitive.
    Nice drawings and upgrade system.

    Raptor85 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:25pm

    Unfortunately I can't test your game, the XNA4 crashes under WINE

    pbackx says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:43pm

    Game doesn't launch for me. It looks like it installs everything correctly, but clicking on the game icon yields absolutely no results (no error messages, no game)

    Alink says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:18pm

    Interesting shooting mechanic, but need more challenge or variety. Nice to have a upgrade/shop system though.

    tompudding says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:21pm

    Quite enjoyable, though the control system got a bit confusing.

    mailman105 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:43pm

    All right, but the controls were a little weird.

    devwil says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:00pm

    ***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

    When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

    Please consider making a browser game next time.

    SusanTheCat says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:00pm

    Where is your source code?

    Did not play because I do not install games.

    Kharza says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:56pm

    Worked great for me, but then I code xna so I had all the prereqs. I went heavy on the laser upgrades and it got really easy near the end. Balancing stuff takes time though and not enough of that in a weekend! :)

    SFBTom says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:10pm

    Made me a little nervous the number of registry keys had to be modified to install it, and then the first time it ran, it froze my entire computer (Win7 on a MBP). After a hard reset, I tried again and it worked the second time.

    cjke.7777 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:54am

    Nice idea. Liked the shop and the idea of running around the planet. Good effort but needs refinement :)

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:11pm

    Good job putting this together so fast. Found the controls awkward but you've nailed the tiny world theme

    Mach60KAS says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    Great idea for a game, I think if you put in a bit more work and variety for a future release it would be great!

    demonpants says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:43pm

    Please consider releasing this for Mac via mono or something, or I won't be able to play it.

    netmute says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:09pm

    Can't rate because I'm using a Mac. Sorry :(

    aeveis says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:21pm

    Fun, but really easy! Yeah, the controls are a bit weird but once you get used to them it's fine.

    AirRider3 says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:57pm

    No web/Mac version! You could get more reviews if it was more compatible!

    kroltan says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:41am

    Nice, but weird to control.

    Topaz says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:54am

    Nice work!

    davidwparker says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:09pm

    I'm sorry, I can't play your game because I don't have Windows (OSX).

    RHY3756547 says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:16pm

    Fun initially, but it gets repetitive. You can easily kill enemies by standing still and spamming the mouse buttons.

    Gunmonkey says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 1:10am

    I do want to play it but on a mac

    deejorg says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 2:18pm

    The shooting mechanic was interesting but the controls when going around the planet got strange at turning points. The upgrade system is nice and makes you want to keep going.

    lasseastrup says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 3:46pm

    Fun little game - way too easy though. I never walked around i just spammed my "giant laser" and everything died :)

    asfdfdfd says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 9:12pm

    It will be cool without setup :C

    csanyk says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 5:38pm

    Repetitive and no challenge. I can just sit in one place and shoot enemies left and right and beat the level without needing to move or power up.

    Also the sprite for your character reverses as you walk around the surface of the planet, and sometimes makes it appear that you are walking backwards.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]