Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 17 days, 23 hours, 46 minutes, 39 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Pixel MMO - Daniel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    So I decided to participate in my first Ludum Dare competition this weekend. I have never made a game before, so this was an interesting adventure and I learned quite a bit; so I am pleased. I have heard before that the first game a person makes should be an MMO, and that makes a lot of sense really. So I made an MMO!

    Adhering to the Tiny World theme, this is a tiny MMO (as far as MMOs go). As small as possible, actually, since to be fair I have no experience in making MMOs. Or any kind of game for that matter. I made the game with JavaScript and HTML to make playing it more accessible [it is, afterall, an MMO!].

    The client was made with the following dependencies:
    -Twitter's Bootstrap CSS library
    -John Resig's JQuery JavaScript library
    -Guillermo Rauch's Socket.IO JavaScript library
    -Tomas Pettersson's sfxr

    And on the server, I used:
    -Ryan Dahl's node.js server
    -TJ Holowaychuk's Express plugin for node.js
    -Guillermo Rauch's Socket.IO plugin for node.js
    -Tom Gallacher's gzippo plugin for node.js
    -Ben Smawfield's Sanitizer plugin for node.js

    Thanks to all the above people!

    In the game, you play as a single coloured pixel in a small 2D world. Your goal as a pixel is simply to kill players of colours other than your own. In addition to this core Player-vs-Player mechanic, the game features real-time world chat so that you may taunt your opponents!

    I hope the game's server does not catch fire while I sleep.

    Good night, tiny world.

    View Daniel's journal. | View all entries by Daniel

    Ratings

    #57Innovation3.88
    #330Humor2.43
    #366Theme3.16
    #483Overall2.88
    #596Fun2.52
    #599Audio2.00
    #618Mood2.38
    #688Coolness46%
    #793Graphics2.12

    Comments

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:34am

    A really cool concept! A bit frustrating controls, but generally a cool idea.

    aaronsnoswell says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:06am

    Feels like playing Tron! Love the concept, would have been great to have randomly spawned AI players :) Great work!

    Darkcoder says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:09am

    Pretty unplayable for me due to the lag and lack of client-side simulation, but the webpage is very nice!

    nornagon says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:20am

    Awesome concept! Way buggy though :(

    Fireblend says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:45am

    Loved it! Played only a bit (could only see two other players), but it was lots of fun. The controls could've been better, and I could see some sort of teams-based gameplay with lots of people online working really well. Good job! :)

    oddgoo says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:48am

    Very amusing! I like how each beam has a different sound. Have to agree with others about the lag though.

    Rusty Moyher says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:09am

    Crazy. Fun. Weird. I like it. :)

    keely says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:13am

    Attempting MMO should be awarded :) Was buggy for me, but maybe it works for others.

    cirolve says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:26am

    other than a few bugs and glitches, that was surprisingly fun :D awesome job! 5/5

    chartinboy says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:19am

    Cool concept, though frustratingly small screen, an upsize of aabout 300%, with the pixel size increasing too, would be better imo.

    Well done though, one of few functional multiplayer LD's out there.

    Bei says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:34am

    Pretty laggy from Australia, but awesome concept!

    wibblymat says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:08am

    Mostly unplayable due to lag, and I was the only person logged in when I tried. After the first few seconds of it seeming to be ok I just started hopping around the screen seemingly at random and after about 10 seconds in my beam stopped appearing (though I still got the sound).

    There was also no one else on at the time making it pointless but I won't mark you down for that :)

    Evgis says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:41am

    The webpage wont load...? Bet the server caught on fire? :P

    Graham Weldon says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:07pm

    Wont' load.

    Lidfrid says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:18pm

    webpage isn't working! Do something!!

    Skully says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:58am

    Note rated because I couldn't play it
    It didn't appear to respond to my input, and the other players were whizzing around erratically. Although going off what you mentioned, me being in the UK may not help

    evilseanbot says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:30am

    I was wrong to doubt you, lee taxxor.

    Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:55pm

    Didn't really work for me sadly.

    kibertoad says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 7:28pm

    Ahahaha! Thanks, I was impressed.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]