Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 10 hours, 56 minutes, 35 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Giant Wizards from the Outer Rim! - tompudding - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Giant Wizards from the Outer Rim!

    When you're a giant wizard,
    All worlds seems tiny...

    This is a turn-based wizard simulator a bit like chaos, except it's on a tiny world map that wraps around and your wizards are giants that can wade through the ocean. Also there's only the one spell ...

    Instructions:
    - Read the README
    - Do what it says
    - Know also that dragging with the right mouse button moves the map

    I'm not sure if it will work on a 32-bit machine or not as I don't have access to any. Sorry if it doesn't

    View tompudding's journal. | View all entries by tompudding

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #492Graphics2.78
    #661Innovation2.44
    #710Humor1.63
    #714Mood2.21
    #723Fun2.26
    #727Overall2.48
    #747Theme2.33

    Comments

    Raptor85 says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    Won't run, on linux x86-64

    ImportError: ./libnsl.so.1: symbol __libc_rpc_getport, version GLIBC_PRIVATE not defined in file libc.so.6 with link time reference

    Naouak says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:34pm

    My Wizard kept spawning in the water and the controls are somewhat frustrating.
    Graphics looks good but the two previous problems are deal breakers :/

    tompudding says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:38pm

    Thanks! For reference, spawning in the water is normal; You're a giant so it's just like wading :) The controls are horrible though I agree, I didn't have time to add things like any indication whatsoever of where to click ...

    Beerman says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:43pm

    Needs more variety of weapons, but could see an expanded version of this making a fun party game.
    Took me a couple of minutes to figure out which was my wizard at first, might be good to have an option to centre the view when it's your turn.

    crazyheckman says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:46pm

    Pretty good little strategy game. I wish there was more to it, I just ended up standing in the back until one wizard was left with no health and beat the crap out of him.

    Danvil says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:59pm

    I missed reference to the theme, also controls are a bit frustrating.

    FrankTheTank says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:02pm

    This definitely needs more actions - otherwise its pretty solid.

    oldtopman says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:48pm

    This is fantastic! Give me some more weapons, more health, and a little more strategy and I'll be able to play it with the rest of my family! It reminds me of Advance Wars a little bit.

    Kvisle says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:55pm

    There's a lot of potential in this game - I hope you keep on pressing with those plans you mentioned.

    The game eventually crashed for me, here's the Traceback;


    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "<string>", line 76, in <module>
    File "wizards/build/pyi.linux2/wizards/outPYZ1.pyz/game_window", line 462, in Update
    File "wizards/build/pyi.linux2/wizards/outPYZ1.pyz/game_window", line 329, in Update
    File "wizards/build/pyi.linux2/wizards/outPYZ1.pyz/game_window", line 186, in NextPlayer
    File "wizards/build/pyi.linux2/wizards/outPYZ1.pyz/wizard", line 202, in Select
    File "wizards/build/pyi.linux2/wizards/outPYZ1.pyz/texture", line 281, in Enable
    NameError: global name 'Hover' is not defined

    ThatSnail says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:55pm

    Controls didn't always feel too responsive and the game closed out when I was one move away from killing the wizard, hmm.

    Rather nice but it's also way too easy to watch the AI duke it out and pick off the scraps afterwards.

    Lots of potential though, nice work.

    Johnicholas says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:08pm

    I almost got to the fight! But then I think it crashed.

    tompudding says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:14pm

    Kvisle, thanks for the bugreport (my first ever!), I just checked in a fix for that bug into my github. Sorry about the crashes everyone :(

    artefon says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:27pm

    I got the same error of Raptor85.

    uberneen says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:11pm

    I played one round through fine, then started it up again and got this a few turns in:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "<string>", line 86, in <module>
    File "wizards/build/pyi.linux2/wizards/outPYZ1.pyz/game_window", line 471, in MouseMotion
    File "wizards/build/pyi.linux2/wizards/outPYZ1.pyz/game_window", line 313, in MouseMotion
    File "wizards/build/pyi.linux2/wizards/outPYZ1.pyz/game_window", line 348, in GetTile
    IndexError: list index out of range

    jwolf says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:38pm

    There's not much to it yet, but it's a good foundation. I'd prefer it if the Move action was a bit easier / quicker to use, perhaps by some separate controls.

    Anyway, there's a lot of potential in this concept. I hope you do more with it.

    geekygenius says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:04pm

    It runs fine and all, but sometimes I can't see my wizard. Sorry, but no rating from me :(

    robcozzens says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:12pm

    I would try it if there was a Web or OSX version.

    Benjamin says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:30pm

    Everything is working fine here, but the game need more spells .And random magic pentagram to refill energy or boost action point so we are not only moving to the enemy place. Nice entry

    SFBTom says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:34pm

    It's impossible to right-click drag on a MacBook Pro trackpad running Windows, sorry!

    josefnpat says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    I got this to run on ubuntu 11.10.

    Very nice game! Shame there isn't much more to it :)

    jrasmussen24 says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    Killed one of my rival wizards... but it crashed shortly thereafter :P. Still, good basis for a turn-based strategy.

    Gremlin says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    It's a good start. The rules need work, of course, since at the moment it just comes down to whoever gets lucky with attacks. More actions and tradeoffs would help, as well as meaningful terrain and more limitations (to shape the strategy).

    I did have the game randomly close a couple of times, and the interface is really really clunky for a game with one unit (having to click move again and again gets tiring).

    gormio says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 9:19pm

    Said to me "there is no soundcard" on the console although I'm pretty sure there is one in my computer. Hence I didn't hear any sounds. Is there supposed to be any audio? I'm leaving audio unjudged because I didn't hear any.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]