Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 19 days, 1 hour, 56 minutes, 54 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Microscopia - azurenimbus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Stencyl, Photoshop, GarageBand, Audacity and bfxr.

    My first time making a game! This was a blast!

    View azurenimbus's journal. | View all entries by azurenimbus

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #16Innovation4.26
    #23Theme4.11
    #61Overall3.77
    #119Fun3.43
    #125Mood3.30
    #172Audio3.13
    #460Humor2.17
    #521Graphics2.74

    Comments

    wibblymat says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:09pm

    Pretty sure Garage Band samples aren't allowed within the rules... Rating 1 for the Audio and Mood (mostly set by the music).

    A cool game about finding yourself, though I eventually got to one of the levels where you control dozens of microbes and then its just more or less impossible to do except by luck.

    J0hnjwj says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:18pm

    The game was sure innovative, but I soon got headaches at the difficulty of this game. I've never seen anything like before though. Sad to hear what the previous commentator has to say...

    Zed says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:05pm

    That is so RIDICULOUSLY clever! Genius.

    Sanguine says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:10pm

    I liked the concept, however, the task became tedious and hard rather quickly.

    Terra says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:54pm

    That was brilliant! :D

    ASOT says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:00am

    AAAH! I feel so... insignificant!
    Wasn't sure if it was ever going to end. Fun concept.
    It got really easy when I realized I could filter out the weird ones by holding one key for a while.

    Pixelulsar says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:21am

    Interesting concept, I've never seen anything like it. However it got a very repetitive and difficult. Maybe could have made it a bit more colourful?

    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:21am

    Really neat concept. There's a microgame in Warioware similar to this, where with a bunch of worms, where you try to identify which one is controlled by you. You took that concept, though, and explored it in a ton of awesome directions. The minimalist graphics were perfect, and got quite hypnotic in the later levels. Awesome game!

    Datw says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:29am

    I think it is a really cool simple game. The concept was awesome, it was moderately difficult (not so hard though), it fits well the theme and i kinda like the music :). Good game!

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:38am

    Very well done. I could definitely see this being a game for mobile devices, people playing one level at a time as they wait for their train.

    Hume says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:38am

    "Fonts, drum loops, drum samples, and sampled instruments are allowed IF you have the legal right to use them." -- from the Rules.

    Here's Apple's legal stance on the loops in Garage Band:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2931

    I'm going to take that as yes, you have the legal right to use Garage Band samples, and vote accordingly.

    I finished the game. That says a lot. I give full marks for most of the execution. I really enjoyed the level of difficulty (I may have shouted an obscenity when you reversed the controls).

    Great job, all around.

    LegacyCrono says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:39am

    Very neat game. Awesome concept, really creative. The ending was kinda disappointing though...

    robcozzens says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:50am

    Wow! That got surprisingly difficult!

    azurenimbus says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:42am

    Wow! Everyone, thank you so much for commenting and giving me feedback. I will definitely take everything you said in consideration when I go back and work on this game to make it better.

    I am very glad I chose to take part in this awesome compo. Totally worth it!

    Monkey Armada says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Really good idea. Hope to see it improved. Is like fresh air.

    whitetigle says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:43pm

    I don't know what level I reached (10-15?) but I sure enjoyed playing that far :)

    devwil says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:54pm

    i love minimalism, but just a *little* more context would have been nice. i didn't have any clue what to do for a good few seconds. having the controls on this ludum dare page would've been nice.

    all that said, i LOVE the concept and minimalism of it. it would've been nice to be able to reset a level, because i'm not sure i didn't drive my organism out of the view and i didn't want to completely start over.

    otaviogood says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:45am

    That was original. The music was good.

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:46am

    Neat idea; reminds me of the feeling you get when you've lost your mouse cursor on the screen.

    I like the music transitions quite a bit.

    dukope says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:21pm

    Brilliant concept. So simple and engaging.

    RHY3756547 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:08pm

    This is sweet! I love how it got really difficult when the others moved with the keyboard too. Great job.

    stigmawall says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:42am

    Innovation it´s his definition. The game is very good. Quite difficulty, but i enjoy it! :)

    marudziik says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:18am

    Finished. Awesome entry - I actually LIKE that there's no straight explanation what player has to do (it's simple enough, really). Music is a bit repetitive, but fine, graphics are simple, but consistent with gameplay. Very good take on the theme.

    vigrid says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:25am

    Very addictive - I love the idea, and the realization of the theme!

    johanp says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:25am

    Good stuff! Incredibly easy to lose track, in a good way. Good job!

    Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:27pm

    good stuff man.. love the concept :)

    homnom says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:29pm

    Saw a writeup of this on indiegames.com and came right by. This is a fantastic game!

    ghRibacki says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:08pm

    The graphics are very simple but fit well with the gameplay. The audio is very pleasant and add a lot to the mood. Gets very hard at some point, but it has the right amount of levels Great game! =)

    deejorg says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:16pm

    I like the concept and the hardness of the game! Congratz!!

    Endurion says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:35pm

    Hats off to you sir!

    This is just what this compo is about, innovative, simple games. Well done!

    Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:59pm

    Got to the level where everybody moves when you do and they all go off in different directions. my eyes hurt now :D

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:18pm

    Nice job! Quite the challenge too..

    Fsmv says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    Amazingly fun, I love the name and the music. Great job!

    BNeutral says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:58am

    Awesome.

    soy_yuma says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 10:11am

    It's a brilliant idea! But I think you should have put more work on the difficulty curve. Becomes impossible too soon. Good work!

    Oreganik says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:53am

    *high five*

    23 says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:23am

    Really clever - a pure original concept implemented well.

    Are you familiar with Hidden in Plain Sight?

    Also, what are you supposed to do with the guys who only move when you do? I got completely lost once that got hard. Probably wasn't paying enough attention, though...

    Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:20am

    Amazing game! My jaw almost dropped when I saw others started to move as I also moved.

    Skywilly says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:39pm

    Very clever !

    Nolan C says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:57am

    Hey, I used Stencyl too. Neat little game, it got really hard though. But I like the concept.

    alexlarioza says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:01am

    Awesome.

    I actually finished it! =D You have a difficult but original game here.

    steamgirl says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:37am

    Wow, what a unique creation! (I must say, my fingers did hurt a bit at the end...) I played it to completion and I really enjoyed it, very clever idea! I liked the level progression as well, though the last one was really tough!

    My tactic was to move up and down or side to side until I'd spot the piece that exhibited that behaviour. ^_^

    Eroguitar says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:45pm

    I like how it progressively got harder as you went along. That is an example of great level design! I give it two thumbs up, you creative fellow!

    jimmypaulin says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:09pm

    Enjoyed this, lovely presentation, nice difficulty curve, stays just the right side of annoying ;) A thorough exploration of the idea so good stuff

    jerombd says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:09pm

    No need to better graphics for this kind of simple but clever game: well done ;)

    Mrnewt says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:46pm

    Its fun like driving drunk.

    Danvil says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:46pm

    Very innovative!

    May 1, 2012 @ 1:02pm

    Very clever idea. It matches the theme 100%.

    Pierrec says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 4:47pm

    First time making a game ? Really ? This is one of the most clever game I've played in this Ludum Game. THIS is innovative ans THIS is a wonderful take on the theme.

    castor says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 7:20pm

    Epic innovation.

    Jigxor says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 5:40am

    I love this game! I beat it and it was a lot of fun. Very innovative and creative mechanic. It's such a cool idea that getting to the middle is a very simple concept, yet the distractions make it so much more complex. Just when I thought I'd figured out a technique for beating a certain type of level, you'd mix it up with a new mechanic such as moving in the opposite direction. I really loved how you introduced the concepts as well, by having the player alone and letting them figure out what was new by themselves.

    Congratulations on your first game, which is awesome :) It was fantastic!

    Kane says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 7:38pm

    Excellent game ! Really !

    Broxter says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 8:50pm

    Interesting concept. Not as much depth to it, displayed in the game, as there could be, though.

    mildmojo says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 3:57am

    Hey, this is nice. The minimal graphics fit the microscope theme really well. You've distilled the essence of big Bomberman games where you can't figure out which character you're controlling, so you try to find the one that's responding to your input. =)

    I got as far as the level where the four corners split into pieces and every sprite is controlled by the player. I ran a bunch of them through the center, but apparently there was still a "special" one that I had no hope of finding.

    GreyShock says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 11:27am

    Great job. With quite simple elements you've made an enjoyable game. Congrats!

    Jeffalisk says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 11:41am

    What a great idea for a game mechanic. Really enjoyed this, and one of the most original takes on the theme I've seen so far. Good stuff!

    madflame991 says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 1:20pm

    It was pretty easy at first but after a while...

    Mesene says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 1:39pm

    Good job! I enjoyed it, with a timmer it will be even funniest. Nice music helps a lot to the Mood

    amodo says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 3:27pm

    I see what you did there... Really clever!

    Daisuke909 says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 5:16pm

    Aw man that's brutal. Especially howthey start and stop randomly sometimes so you think you got it but you didn't.

    Shadow says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 2:48am

    Fun and innovative. Congratulations, It's an amazingly simple but seriously fun game.

    Volute says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 9:56pm

    Sometimes I was so happy when I found myself :) Really great job !

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 2:32am

    "Awesome," indeed! I loved the mechanic a lot. Not only that, but the later levels created some pretty neat looking patterns. Well played, sir!

    01101101 says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 9:22am

    Like everyone already said, really clever! :) Cool idea, well done... It got as far as the 3rd or 4th level after the one where everyone starts moving only when you do. Quite hard but you still you can manage to develop a strategy to find yourself. I like it :)

    hungyg says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 11:19am

    that was an amazing idea! I found a truck however: most levels can be solved by going in one direction for a while, until the field is empty, after that go in the opposite direction, and the first one to leave appropriate wall will be you.

    ps: sorry for being rude to the creator of that particular I Refuse game, but I really didn't see a point in it. Thats not an excuse, tho, so yea sorry, you're right. (This didn't affect my rating either.)

    Maple says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 12:56pm

    "Awesome." :)

    May 5, 2012 @ 2:37pm

    Clever and fun idea.

    ratking says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 2:41pm

    Haha, nice idea. But the lag drags the fun out of it. :-(

    davisan says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 3:31pm

    Very nice!
    A few suggestions: add a color the each level or level group, and create more levels with rotating controls, wrapping the position around the edges and so on.. :)

    derosa says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 10:28pm

    Oh, wow! I wasn't expecting this kind of game! Really clever and innovative. I had a lot of fun playing it. Thanks!

    nornagon says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 2:09am

    This was really cool, but I got lost around level 5 :(

    namuol says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 4:47am

    Beautifully simple! The way it progresses is perfect. And to top it off, you didn't cheapen the experience with any kind of UI cruft at all.

    Tiny itty bitty complaint: a level-restart button/key might be helpful for those with crippling doubt -- pretty sure I went out of view at one point -- of course, I can't be sure. :p

    I love this mechanic and think it could be explored even further. Bravo!

    Datamosh says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 2:20pm

    Drove me completely crazy, hahaha! It's really innovative AND fun. Love the mood too.

    May 6, 2012 @ 5:48pm

    Yay!

    May 6, 2012 @ 9:41pm

    Loved it! Such a simple concept and yet it's so devious. This game made me smile, it's so refreshing!

    ilo says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 10:06pm

    Fiendishly clever, and a great take on the theme!

    chambers says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 1:17am

    "Awesome."

    Too bad so many people already made this very same comment =(

    kirbytails7 says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 2:01am

    Lovely! I'm wowed at how well this concept works, and I appreciate the intuitive controls and objectives, without having to explain anything beyond the first screen.

    AD-Edge says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 8:41am

    Very innovative! Started off thinking it was super easy, then it sunk in! Super simplistic, and nicely done because of that.

    rvmook says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 12:22pm

    Lovely little game. But after a few levels a bit to hard for me. Would love to play this while waiting on my bus.

    Gemberkoekje says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 5:16pm

    Finally found you. Is your twitter suspended?! Anyway, I've rated you high on most, but I must say I didn't find your game much fun. You succeeded in what you intend to do; perhaps a little too much ;)

    azurenimbus says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 5:52pm

    Everyone, thank you so much for all your feedback. I am definitely taking every single one of your comments into consideration, as I improve the game for a post-compo final version.

    One of the things I'm definitely doing is increasing the difficulty curve, as it got frustrating for many people too soon. That was because of the time, I couldn't get it to be as I wanted in 48h.

    I will also be playing and rating all of your games, of course. I still do not have access to a Windows machine, but will do so definitely before the end of the voting!

    And like gemberkoekje said, I got my Twitter account suspended :( I started following a lot of Ludum Dare-related people blindly, and Twitter's automated process thought I was a bot or something. I'm working to get that sorted out. I might lose all my following/followers, so please add me when I do get it back @azurenimbus

    Thanks again!

    FaBrito says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 1:35am

    Wow! Great idea and excellent level design! Congrats!

    Gostei de ver brazuca mandando bem! ;)

    Jezzamon says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 7:27am

    cool game and concept. :D It's cool, although I can't think of anything that could really be added to the game.

    ncannasse says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 12:32pm

    I loved the concept, quite frustrating but you know there is an answer.

    DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 1:28pm

    Simple, clever, maddening (in a good way). For an LD entry, this is great! Difficulty got frustrating but it didn't really bother me; maybe I'm a masochist like that. Interesting to come up with "strategies" in some of the later stages.

    Extra credit for creating an optical illusion by making me focus at the gray dot in the center for a long time, lol.

    Gremlin says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    So many tiny little things moving in different directions...inverted controls were where I gave up too.

    May 9, 2012 @ 7:34pm

    Brilliant concept, good to see another Stencyl user.

    When controls got inverted that's when I gave up, the game becomes very hard quickly and it simply isn't very fun trying to pinpoint yourself from hundreds of identical critters. Nice work though, you sure nailed the theme.

    tcstyle says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 8:26pm

    Wow, it's amazing how such a simple idea can make such a challenging game if it's mad as good as this one. Impressive that this is your first game ever.
    Only negative is that playing this game after some beer is really annoying at the higher levels ;).

    Sestren says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 9:50pm

    Cool concept. Does a very good job of establishing mood from something very simple. Felt like "Where's Waldo?" at times, but in a good way.

    Make A Game says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 10:41pm

    It's a clever cognitive test, but damn the difficulty ramps up like crazy. :D

    vilya says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 1:27am

    Well done! Simple but effective. The music was very atmospheric. You did a good job of introducing each change to the game mechanic too. Great use of the theme too!

    BTW, congratulations on getting your game featured by Edge magazine!

    summaky says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 7:11am

    Truly an innovative game. However, the later levels in which I control all the microbes are impossible for me to figure out. The music provided an excellent atmosphere.

    Per says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 8:35am

    Very smart idea!

    Qaterknan says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 10:27am

    Simple but clever. I like it

    yosh says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 10:50am

    Simple but so clever concept.
    For those who get stuck near end levels (a key stroke move everyone), the easiest way to win is to keep on key pressed to clear the scene, and then just see which one seems to obey.

    ratboy2713 says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 4:08pm

    I love the concept. I would have liked to know whether or not the character was outside the viewing area, and a reset button would have been nice for that as well.

    Sodaware says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 5:35pm

    Great job for a first time! I really liked the way it unfolded as you went along. A really great learning curve, especially as the dish resets when something new is coming (like the dopplegangers).

    AlwaysGeeky says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 6:31pm

    Great stuff, I thought this game was really good! once you get the hang of it is becomes very addictive :)

    edbadiux says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 9:29pm

    This game is REALLY good. One of my favorites so far, simple and elegant. Excellent choice for the theme, great job!.

    ericdpitts says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 12:44am

    Wow, amazing job. Great idea for a game, very fitting of the theme. It became much, much, much more challenging than I expected it to be at first glance.

    Peter Cooper says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 12:58am

    Clever idea minimally implemented. Nice one!

    firstrowgames says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 1:21am

    pretty unique game!
    really nice,great job :)

    Drabiter says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 5:18am

    You know, it hurts my vision because it's so fun so I played for long time! :D

    Valeour says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 9:06am

    Very clever, got very painful after a while.

    May 11, 2012 @ 12:42pm

    A simple idea, but lovingly produced. Exactly the sort of thing I love to see, awesome music too.

    Jonny D says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 12:52pm

    That was great... Very Puji-like at first, but it gets crazy.

    daredevildave says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 5:28pm

    Nice original idea, got a bit hard for me though :-)

    Beep2Bleep says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 5:42pm

    Great game, good music. I loved having to figure out strategies to beat each new version.

    Beep2Bleep says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 5:43pm

    Great game, good music. I loved having to figure out strategies to beat each new version.

    Sheep says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 7:38pm

    Nice concept. Awesome theme song!

    davidllanos22 says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 7:59pm

    Very interesting game as well as challenging!And very amazing if it was your first game! Good job! :)

    Thotep says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 8:47pm

    It clever and pretty fun, however it gets old rather fast. Still, congrats on making your first game, nice effort!

    Danik says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 9:14pm

    Quite unique. Haven't played anything like it before. Good job, and congrats on your first game and LD entry!

    Raptor85 says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 9:47pm

    it gets REALLY hard once you get to the inverted controls...i found the easiest way to find yourself when everything moves only when you do is to simply go up/down/up/down etc... repeatedly and look for the only one only making vertical motions.

    intmain says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 11:39pm

    I was staring at this so intently that I had dots in my vision for a while afterwords. wonderfully simple.

    eli says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 8:40am

    Powerful game, powerful message. Unfortunately, I didn't have the patience to follow through to the end, especially after the reversal mode came in. Music fits great, a little repetitive though. Love the simplicity and feel of it. AWESOME first game!!! Can't wait to see what else you come up with. Good work!!

    Krisjet says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 10:51am

    Very cool idea! Never seen anything like it before!

    BenW says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 4:23pm

    aHHHHHHHHH, can't find my little dot.

    moonmagic says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 6:03pm

    I really enjoyed the pacing of this game. I spent just enough time thinking "is this it?" for the revelation of complexity to be meaningful. I think the absence of instructions is really important for this game; a lot of the enjoyment is in discovering how small you really are. Loved the movement of the other organisms, also. I would like to see a "reload" button; sometimes I wasn't sure if I was in the viewport any longer, and I wasn't sure if it looped.

    Dramble says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 6:23pm

    Fun game that becomes, purposefully, increasingly annoying until you just can't stand it. But apparently I hate myself because I liked it.

    Will Edwards says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 7:19pm

    Top notch graphics, actually - sometimes perfection is when there is nothing left to take away!

    May 12, 2012 @ 10:14pm

    Top marks for innovation, fun and theme! Lovely lovely game

    Mago says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    Amazing! This game is something special. With minimalist graphic and great idea you created unique game experience.

    May 12, 2012 @ 11:15pm

    Great concept, the only thing missing is a progress counter.

    kato9 says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 11:24pm

    First, thanks for your thoughtful comment on my game, much appreciated!

    This game was really interesting and very unique. I can't say I've played anything quite like it - it's almost like an interactive Where's Waldo. I enjoyed the feeling of the game and the music set a very nice mood, but eventually I got to a level where I just could not discern which speck was me and had to give up. It might be nice if there was some kind of hint system, sort of like a marco polo/hotter/colder thing - not quite sure how it would work. Anyway, still a very creative and enjoyable experience.

    caranha says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 1:40am

    Awesome.

    Super cool puzzle game. I loved the very unique idea, the execution, and trying to solve the puzzle was quite interesting.

    Two suggestions:
    1- There should be a "reset level" button.
    2- There is a bug, that if you go all the way to the goal while the screen is still fading in, you will get stuck: Try it on the first level!

    Cheers, and thanks for the great game.

    tomhunt says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 2:03am

    Interesting, fun, and innovative. Nicely done!

    TyrusPeace says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 4:26am

    I really like that the game ends with "Awesome." :P.

    The central mechanic is cool and unique and the visuals and audio work really well with it, but I agree with other users that it can feel like a chore at times. I really like the music; hopefully garageband samples are allowed.

    scgrn says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 4:54am

    Good stuff!

    Cake&Code says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 8:28am

    It was a new and creative game. It started off simple but quickly grew to be a difficult game. Some of the stages could easily be solved by erratically moving your germ around, but it grew hard really fast and was pretty enjoyable.

    Ranoka says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 10:03am

    I really liked the simplicity of this one, nice concept. I like how the game adapts each frame almost to combat different techniques I was coming up with which kept it interesting. I made it all the way through! Thanks for making this game for us to play!

    dray says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 10:08am

    great idea, i love it, you should make a mobile version for it!

    apfrod says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 11:24am

    brilliant. a great example of simplifying until you have something fun, then building on it. Love the way it gets really complex then seems to reset to a basic level again, to assert a new rule.

    I'd hate to see this 'enhanced' with more fancy graphics, title screens etc. I like the purity and instand action. Reactive music would be good, or sounds.

    bms says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 12:24pm

    really innovative game! i like the minimalist design and black and white graphics suit the concept. Only thing that I can complain about is the round frame.. you can't see your guy when you're out of the frame, and you have to press random keys witch can get a bit annoying.. maybe you could make it wrap around to the opposite side or something. Anyways I really enjoyed the game! good work :D

    omaha says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 3:07pm

    Fun. Inspiring. This is your first game? Amazing work.

    May 13, 2012 @ 4:03pm

    This is a pretty cool game ^^ especially the concept is intriguing. It does, however, not seem very scalable in terms of gameplay. It gets difficult rather fast :P

    PabloAM says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 6:27pm

    Good concept but you can get a headache! xD

    crippledgames says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 7:03pm

    Very unique and awesome

    jimmypaulin says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 7:39pm

    Love the simple, crisp graphics and petri-dish bacteria duplication vibe. Would be interesting to see some alternative shapes, perhaps muted colours for different types of lifeform? A good take on the theme, and well executed, thanks!

    Pavel Dlouhy says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 7:52pm

    This is unique! I like it!

    Lotsa says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 8:55pm

    Good little game, weirdly I didn't find it too difficult as I just kept tapping movement which made finding myself easier. For expansion maybe some of the AI could do that?

    Ishisoft says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 9:12pm

    Nicely presented, simple but tasteful. I enjoyed the gameplay too, I've played a couple of things similar to this before but this mixed it up more. Found I had to come up with different tactics to filter myself out from each of the 'enemy' behaviours.

    PaulSB says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 9:23pm

    Maddeningly clever. Also, maddening. Great job :)

    amidos2006 says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 9:49pm

    Nice clever game idea :)

    tacograveyard says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 9:50pm

    Nice use of simple audio and visuals to create something bigger than the parts. I enjoyed finding strategies to differentiate myself from the 'others'. Overall the game left me with a feeling of smallness (which is good).

    josefnpat says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 11:27pm

    Awesome. This was rather fun once I figured it out :)

    May 13, 2012 @ 11:27pm

    Whoa, that's an awesome idea! Very original and fitting for the theme.

    Fireblend says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 11:57pm

    It got pretty difficult really fast, but it's nonetheless a brilliant game and a pretty well executed concept, even with the very simplistic graphics. Unlike other comments, I wouldn't say its repetitiveness is a bad thing; the difficulty curve might be steep, but that's part of its appeal. Great job!

    piterlouis says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 12:02am

    Good concept, good game!

    naufr4g0 says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 12:17am

    Great concept! Very hard but eventually I completed the game.

    wgemigh says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 12:41am

    The concept is a lot of fun! I would have liked to be able to give up and see where my microbe was. I also had some slowdown issues when there were a lot of microbes on the screen. Overall, I really liked the atmosphere and the way the concept of the game is shown to the player through level progression.

    True Valhalla says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 12:59am

    Last minute rating, but it was quite good! I liked the concept.

    wademcgillis says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 1:00am

    Wait. So nothing ends up killing me?

    This isn't hard until you get super far.

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 1:00am

    This was great. Simple, but innovative idea, implemented in a minimalistic way. Well done.

    nek says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 4:08am

    I've missed the opportunity to vote but have to say your game mechanics are original indeed. You've got really low level and mind bending stuff going on.
    I also like the music. It adds atmosphere to the minimalistic visual representation.

    Keep on making games!

    zenasprime says ...
    May 17, 2012 @ 6:09pm

    Interesting concept. I liked it, though I think it would eventually drive me mad! ;)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]