Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 8 days, 3 hours, 33 minutes, 10 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 8 days, 3 hours, 33 minutes, 11 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dude, where's my planet - Zamando - Jam Entry

    Press enter to start at title screen and to reset current level.
    Arrow keys to move.
    __________

    Made by:
    Alexander Batsis : Programming
    Teo Mathlein : Graphics (teo.mathlein.se)
    Martin Petrini : Programming


    The music during levels is credited to www.audionautix.com

    View Zamando's journal. | View all entries by Zamando

    Ratings

    Coolness75%
    Graphics(Jam)4.79
    #10Overall(Jam)4.01
    #12Mood(Jam)3.83
    #18Theme(Jam)3.82
    #21Audio(Jam)3.88
    #35Innovation(Jam)3.65
    #37Fun(Jam)3.48
    #55Humor(Jam)3.04

    Comments

    SpaceToaster says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:11am

    I really like the art style!

    Toast says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:02am

    Nice art style. Unfortunately there's quite a few games like this given the theme, but the "run-up" mechanic is fairly original.

    GreyShock says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:08am

    Best art i've seen so far at LD23

    derosa says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:02am

    Love the graphics! Also, the jumping dynamic is different from the classic "jump" button. I went into deep space a pair of times before realizing how to do it well!

    Transmit says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:05pm

    Fantastic art, good gameplay, great fitting audio!

    jeroenimooo says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:12pm

    Awesome design and a fun way to travel from planet to planet :D

    GFM says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:40pm

    This game is really beautyful.
    And original in the way you travel from one planet to another.

    But sometimes I felt that the gravity could be stronger... Since I'm not pulled into a planet, except if I'm really close to the planet... (or so it semmed to me)

    JaJ says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:38pm

    Looks and sounds beautiful. Game is nice too, but it can get annoying when you have to wait while hanging still in the air because of the lack of gravity.

    Zamando says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:34pm

    Thank you all for the feedback. For those of you hanging in the air, press enter to restart level! But i guess we'll fix that in the future :)

    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:23pm

    Best jam entry so far. Everything is great about this game - the art, the music, the gameplay and the idea! It prevents me from playing and rating more games, as I need to play it more...

    Jacic says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:40pm

    Nice mechanic, and great art!

    Monkey Armada says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:43pm

    I really enjoyed this one. Graphics and audio superb.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:44pm

    Really enjoying this game. Well done!

    ziomorti says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:48pm

    Outstanding music and art. And good gameplay also! One of the best entries I've seen so far.

    devwil says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:58pm

    beautiful sprites, but i found the mechanics and controls off-putting.

    Jimjam says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:06pm

    Holy crap! 10/5 for graphics. This is a thing of beauty!

    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:07pm

    It's incredible, i love it!!! :D.. The style is great, the gameplay is amazing and the character is so cute!! It's a beautiful game!! Good Job!!! :)

    Nocturne says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:25pm

    This is probably my highest rated game yet... stunning stuff! A really simple mechanic (done it myself (whistle...)) but beautifully tweaked to give it that innovative twist. Add some wonderful graphics, fitting music and ingenious music and you get one of the best games in the competition. Great stuff!

    Norgg says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:51pm

    Love the art, like the mechanic.

    jrasmussen24 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:23am

    Great style going on with this. The aesthetics and music are beautiful-- the game mechanic seems a bit overdone within LD23, but you guys executed it perfectly.

    TaoPhoenix says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:18am

    I coudn't find anything to do. After the left and right arrows running my hands over the keys did nothing. And Bad Physics, if you're gonna let me run "under the planet", don't kill me by making me "fly off at Australia".

    kasarun says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:53am

    Good mechanics, but i need something to show me when i will leave the ground (like a speed indicator)

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:10pm

    Every kind of awesome. Great graphics music and gameplay!

    Keirua says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:40pm

    Wow. Graphics here are really original !

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:31am

    Great game, one of my favorites. I try not to repeat what other people said, but they said it all. Great art, fun gameplay, good use of the theme. Nice work.

    daandruff says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:39pm

    Amazing graphics and sound! Gameplay was a bit hard. I didn't really felt that I had any precision without a jump-button

    dcolgan says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:46am

    Really well done. The graphics are awesome, has a lot of polish. Controls were a bit frustrating and hard to figure out at first, but once I understood them, they worked well.

    Danik says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:56am

    The art is absolutely amazing!
    The gameplay is interesting but hard. It was a little hard to control the character. Being able to jump would have been nice. But that might have made it less interesting, I'm not sure.

    Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:55am

    Graphics are amazing! The mechanic is innovative, but I'm really struggling with it. It just feels fairly awkward for me.

    Digitalis says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:06am

    Gorgeous art style and music!
    I really enjoyed the gameplay as well- simple but really challenging with nice progression in difficulty.
    The only, only thing that annoyed me was that, for some reason, I thought the pink house in one of the levels was mine, and got frustrated that nothing happened.

    This is my favourite entry so far :D

    Zemmi says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:08am

    Dude, that was cool. I'm sad that I suck at it, but I had a lot of fun flinging the flailing rocket man through the air. When the demon came in I had to give up, maybe most people are better than me but I would slow him down a bit. Stellar art and music too by the way.

    vitou3d says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:02am

    the control is a bit frustrating. But it has Best audio and graphic so far. I love it!!!!

    Lacutis says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:54am

    The game was a lot of fun although the cloud monster that chases you is a little fast and it was frustrating trying to run away from him when I had no clue where I was going.
    Great mechanic, like the game.

    greg20man says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:15am

    One of my favorite games so far, great art, great audio, the game was kind of hard but I just couldn't stop looking at it so I trudged on to victory.

    gritfish says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:30am

    AMAZING graphics, but for the love of god, let me jump! :D
    Somehow this is like mario galaxy as a precision platformer... without jumping! Every jump hast to be JUST right (start about opposite from the direction you want to go?). Those clouds, man... how could I be angry drifting off into space in front of those?

    bytegrove says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:11am

    Lovely art style and great music, they both reminded me a little of the game Rock of Ages. Got some pretty annoying framerate issues on the level with the monster. Also, you might want to add some instructions in the beginning on how the planet hopping works.

    Jedi says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:24pm

    The best overall entry I've seen so far! AWESOME! AMAZING! 5 stars left and right!

    It's just too hard! I'm stuck at the 2nd level with the tentacled-monster-that-moves-way-too-fast. It's much, much too hard for the average Ludum Dare game but it's one of those rare entries that's good enough that it can be really hard; you don't mind spending extra time to get good at it. However, this one is still harder than that :). I turned my sound off so I can respawn indefinitely and come back. I intend to beat this :).

    The music you found fits the game perfectly, although it gets repetitive after a while, especially since you hear the beginning so much.

    While all of the artwork is amazing, I want to say that I thought designing the character to look a bit like a rocket was a REALLY nice touch :).

    tlaine says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:24pm

    Awesome music, awesome graphics, awesome way to move. The second level with the Cthulhu creature was a bit too hard, I tried it around 15-20 times and couldn't beat it.

    strega says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:35pm

    Beautiful art in a very unique style, and the music was great too!

    kddekadenz says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:53pm

    This game is art!

    dastry says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:11pm

    So good!!! I love it!

    ilo says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:09pm

    The art style (which reminded me a little of Braid) was very accomplished. In particular, the charming rocket-shaped avatar and layers of clouds I liked a lot.

    The jumping mechanic is intuitive, pleasing when you manage to successfully thread the character between two spiked planets, and you can keep adding new elements to the game to keep levels fresh.

    However, I felt that, while the difference in the planet size or mass affecting how far you have to run to get into orbit added depth to the gameplay, it was frustrating to have to run a little bit, then stop, then run a bit more, then stop, until you get into a position to start a run up. This becomes most apparent when you're being chased by the monster. If the player controlled when they jumped, it would be easier, but then you'd need to change how the planet size affects the player.

    If you were to develop this idea further, the gameplay could be more focused. I liked the challenge of accuracy in the early levels, but I'm not sure the monster chase complemented it. The monster could always be reconfigured as an area that the player must avoid falling into, like the spiky planets, rather than an a moving adversary, and more emphasis could be placed on the accuracy/puzzle/exploration part of levels. Or you could instead focus on the monster pursuing the player through hazards, but give the player more control over their jumping. Just a thought.

    Also, since you restart a lot, it would be good to find a way of restarting without having the music restart, as it got a little irritating.

    DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:46am

    Cute, fun, and with an interesting learning curve. I didn't think the gameplay was quite that intuitive with the Z key fixing your radius. I'd also echo the previous comments about getting stuck in the air being a little annoying.

    Jigxor says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:57am

    This is the most beautiful game I've seen so far. I absolutely love the graphics, the presentation and the music is amazing! Very professional. I did find the later levels quite hard, but it was fun nonetheless. I could easily see this game being expanded into a very polished complete game, and I hope you do just that!

    Overall, amazing game! I enjoyed it a lot :)

    Zamando says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:10am

    First of all I want to thank everybody for the great feedback and responses!

    There is a lot of things we are going to change in future versions. For example removing the wait time when you get lost in space, music not restarting and such smaller things. We are going to tweak the gravity/radius each planet has and see if there is any way we can make that better. And we are also going to test every level we make more thoroughly, and make the difficulty cure less steep, and add more levels of course :D

    Another thing i want to note is that we only made the music which plays during the title screen! The level music is credited to: www.audionautix.com. We are going to make our own music in the future, and it will be just as good ;) trust me on this one!

    Finally for those who have used the Z key and found out that there is i kind of rope. That is actually not supposed to be there! So please do not play the game using the Z key :)

    And once again thanks for all the responses, all kind of feedback we get makes us happy :D
    /The team

    Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:42pm

    This is awesome, you guys! Full marks :))

    bompo says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:51am

    Amazing art style!

    tequibo says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:08am

    Beautiful visuals!
    I found it horribly hard to travel from one planet to another. I think character controls needs more work.
    But one of the nicest looking game on Ludum Dare.

    dray says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:30am

    Beautiful art style !

    MrDanH says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:49pm

    Occassionally infuriating but often entertaining, a nice idea for a short game

    gelatindesign says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:46pm

    Spot on, loved it. Only minor gripe is the music resetting each time.

    Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:49pm

    Wow! What a breathtakingly beautiful visual style and a really fun mechanic. Great job! :)

    mildmojo says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:34pm

    Like everyone else has said, beautiful art and great difficulty progression. It took me forever to get through the last level. =)

    I really liked the tentacle monster as a pressure mechanic, and you made a great choice in keeping its collision area small. Several times, I was nearly engulfed in tentacles, trying to push the arrow key through the keyboard, going "aaaaAAAAAH!"

    I'd make the cannon tip/fire animation run a lot faster. It should be a really gratifying reward at the end of a stressful level, and it feels a little sluggish right now.

    My GGJ entry (Flare) was a planet-hopper and my LD23 entry (Single Cycles) is a one-button planet racer that penalizes you for building up too much speed and taking off. So you could say this game's up my alley. =) Nice work.

    mooosh says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:42pm

    holy cow. the art, idea, and music in this is mind-blowing. I feel like I should have payed money for this.

    Shadow says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 2:51am

    Amazing art and music. Sadly there are a few "gravity-based games on small planets" this time around so it's not that innovative I'm afraid :/
    The quality of this game however make it a top-notch entry and definitely one of the best games I've tried so far.

    Pierrec says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 4:26pm

    Planet jumping is hard (especially taking of from bigger planets) but the game is lovely

    RĂ©mi says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 7:54pm

    EYE CANDY!

    Thotep says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    Amazing art style, I love it! The gameplay is a little bit frustrating, one bad move and I often have to restart the whole level...

    MrBarnslig says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 5:48am

    Wow, incredible art, really cool. I love it all, the backgrounds, the clouds, the little guy, the painting type planets. Didn't really match the title though, which was more goofy I thought. The music was great too, reminded me of Super Mario RPG.

    Tomalla says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 4:42pm

    I love the idea of the 'jumping' technique. The graphics are astonishing! I just wish the background music wasn't restarting every single time I die. From what I see it's quite long and during my normal play-through I'm not ever going to listen to the whole piece.

    marudziik says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 1:44pm

    Lovely, lovely graphics. Audio also works really well, and the gameplay is pretty solid. However, without checkpoints, the game does get frustrating quite soon. The monster level was too much for me, even with 'Z' cheat. I actually would prefer some kind of rope-like mechanic, jump button, or anything that would give me more control.

    Oye Beto says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 12:08am

    Amazing art and fun to play. Audio fits perfectly.

    My only suggestions are:
    - Don't reset the music.
    - Slow down the dark blob or make easier levels.

    Good job!

    Wyzfen says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 10:07am

    Beautiful game. loved the art, the music and the mechanics.
    The third level was too hard for me :)

    tcstyle says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 6:46pm

    What an awesome game. The graphics are great and the whole game feels very consistent. Awesome work. One of the best games I played so far.
    Personally I found the flying monster too difficult.

    BenW says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 1:27am

    Best music I've heard so far. I don't like that I have to go slowly to the spot that I want to start running from. I wish there were some sort of key I could hold that would keep me stuck to the planet so I can line up my launch.

    AD-Edge says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 7:55am

    Innovative use of the whole 'little planet gravity' idea, I found timing the jumps a bit frustrating at times though.
    Graphics were very nice!

    heuermh says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 5:41am

    Beautiful game. I still can't quite get the hang of it after playing for a while though.

    ehtd says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 1:21am

    Wow, great art!

    thristhart says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 12:01pm

    Very pretty, but lack of checkpoints made it quickly tedious.

    JonathanG says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 5:01pm

    Very good! The graphics are lovely :) I found the game quite hard though, it's difficult to judge how much of a run-up is needed and often I would just fly off the screen.

    johanp says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 7:43am

    Absolutely gorgeous! Nice gameplay idea but it is really hard to know where to start running in order to lift off from the correct position.

    JellyFame says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 12:15pm

    Well done. So much fun, feels finished and polished which is rare in LD games.
    But, Dude where are checkpoints? :D Too hard!

    teomath says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 9:42am

    Woohoo! Thanks for the votes everyone :D

    csanyk says ...
    May 15, 2012 @ 4:43am

    This is completely amazing.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]