Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 19 days, 3 hours, 59 minutes, 12 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Tiny Gryphalope - bytegrove - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    [Edit] Added an updated version with tweaks based on the
    feedback I got and I also added some other stuff that never made it into the game before the deadline.
    Try it if you've played and rated the original! :)

    ____________________________________________________________________

    ~The Tiny Gryphalope~

    a 3D Shoot-em-up

    ____________________________________________________________________

    Controls:

    -Steer with w,a,s,d
    -Roll with q,e
    -Switch weapons with 1,2 or left,right
    -Shoot and aim with the mouse
    -Should work with xbox gamepad as well

    ____________________________________________________________________

    Description:

    You're controlling the tiny Gryphalope(a gryphon-jackalope :D )
    through a dark tunnel filled with giant laser-spitting bug swarms.
    You have three different weapons(switch with 1,2 or left,right), so
    should you run out of ammo in one of them you can switch to the
    next(they are not identical though).
    If you crash into the walls you lose health.

    I've configured gamepad support based on the logitech f710, which is
    more or less an xbox 360 controller clone(xinput), so xbox 360
    controllers should work.

    ____________________________________________________________________

    In case of lag:

    I'm having some lag issues with the web player, if you're
    experiencing lag as well, the build might work better.

    ____________________________________________________________________

    Tools used:

    Unity 3d, PSE10, bfxr, audacity, inudge,
    Blender, Visual Studio

    ____________________________________________________________________

    This was my first ludum dare, although I managed to do a lot more
    than I thought, I still would've liked to add a bit more polish to
    the game. Some parts are still pretty rough, imo.
    I might add an updated version during the week.

    View bytegrove's journal. | View all entries by bytegrove

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #5Graphics4.50
    #103Audio3.35
    #152Mood3.22
    #308Overall3.18
    #471Humor2.14
    #524Fun2.65
    #666Innovation2.43
    #833Theme2.03

    Comments

    robcozzens says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:42am

    The graphics are amazing! I wish I could give you more than 5 stars. The controls seemed to lag a little bit though.

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:16pm

    Very nice game! I saw your timelapse and dude... I'm impressed! The controls are very nice. But... I think that the game could be fast a little bit.

    FaBrito says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:38pm

    Wow! Nice graphics! Quite innovative gameplay as well. Congrats!
    I had a little trouble finding the enemies on the distance because that parrot, ok gryplalope, stands on my view and I almost couldn't see the aim spot. I missed a throttle/brake mecanism to control de velocity, but I guess it's part of the gameplay you imagined.
    Great work!

    karnakgames says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:53pm

    Amazing graphics and I liked the power switching idea, except that controls are a bit slow.

    Entity2d says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:13pm

    Gorgeous graphics! I'm astounded by the speed in which you created this! The only issue I have is that the enemies are a little hard to see.

    steamgirl says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:15pm

    Beautiful-looking game, really loved the graphics! Together with the audio and "floaty" feel it created a good atmosphere.

    I'm afraid I'm terrible at shooters though. I didn't get very far, it was a bit too difficult. My top score was 13 kills... lucky number! :D

    Props for your first Ludum Dare! (Same here!) Hope you do a post mortem, I'd be interested in reading it! ^_^

    bytegrove says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:05pm

    Wow, thanks for all the feedback! I'll polish it up a bit and release an update! :D

    invaderJim says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:44am

    The name alone gets five stars from me in nearly every category.

    free_napalm says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:22pm

    Incredible graphics. It reminded me of both Star Fox 64 (Gameplay, due to the slow speed and environment a lot like the underwater levels there) and Spyro (main character).
    My only complain is the speed of the Gryphalope. If he/she/it was faster, there wouldn't be so much time doing nothing in the first few minutes. This would add replay value for me.
    Anyway, great work.

    ratboy2713 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:47pm

    Very pretty but not much of a game.

    zkenshin says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:54pm

    Nice graphics, but felt a bit too simplistic of a game though.

    Shigor says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:05am

    Great art + music, excellent final mood. Game is... bit lacking. Too slow movement, not much to do.

    strega says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:22am

    Loved the bullet graphic. The glow is really neat. The game is too tough though, the enemies fire way too fast.

    callidus says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:47am

    Very very nice graphics and the music matched for a nice calm atmosphere floating down the tunnel. Could have done with some more game elements or variety to keep things interesting.

    daandruff says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:40pm

    Amazing graphics! Felt a bit sluggish in the movement, but man... Nicely done in 48 hours!

    jonnopon3000 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:45pm

    A bit laggy on the webplayer as you said, but the build is fine. The graphics are great, the music is above average and the gameplay holds up. Nice work, especially for a first LD.

    olkeencole says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:33pm

    Great graphics! It can be a bit hard to know if you are hitting an enemy or not, and whether you are taking damage or not. If you sped the game up and aloud for evasive maneuvers, this would be awesome!

    DaveDobson says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:55am

    Really neat 3D graphics - very impressive. Controls are hard to use; movement is very slow and slow to respond. Aiming is a little tricky, too; it might help to have a scaling crosshair depending on how far away you're aiming. It was also a bit tricky to distinguish the enemies from the background sometimes, and there was no real way to dodge their shots, which was frustrating - the damage I took seemed to be high or low mostly at random. It is always more fun in these things if your bullets kill instantly - add more enemies rather than requiring more hits to kill, especially if you can't really tell if you're scoring a hit. But a very impressive technical accomplishment, with 3D aiming, models, and graphics and cool sound and visuals.

    Vilborg says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:00am

    Very nice game. My computer wasn't good enough to run it without lag so I don't think I can rate it properly.

    Codexus says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:03pm

    nice and relaxing. Beautiful graphics and music!

    rynti says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:03pm

    Awesome! Seriously, just awesome! Graphics are the best I've ever seen on LD games :D

    john_conder9 says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:06pm

    Excellent game, I didn't personally find it fun though - just not my kind of shooter :P - but it looks and sounds amazing!

    basspenguin says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:35pm

    Amazing graphics! The DOF looks great!

    The controls could have been a little more responsive but SSsssSSSSssSSSsUUUUUUUPPPPPEEeeeEEERRRRrrrRR impressive!!!

    Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:36pm

    I don't really see how it fitted in with the theme, very pretty but a bit dissapointing otherwise.

    Ranoka says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:33pm

    Really lovely graphics! Amazing how much you got done in the time, I'm not sure how well it fits the theme though. I found it hard to see the enemies as they approached. Lovely model on the title screen!

    angelk says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:45am

    I'm really impressed at how much you were able to get done; I wish there were a rating for technical skill or game scope. One of the few decent 3D games I've seen in the compo. The pacing of the gameplay could use some work, but as with everything else I'm sure it would have been fixed with more time :)

    Birchmountain says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:24am

    Nice gameplay and amazing graphics, and great audio as well! A little hard to aim and the enemies where very hard to spot. But very impressive for a 48 hour work!

    edbadiux says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 7:13pm

    I think this game is a little bit unbalanced (Slow movement + very fast enemy bullets) but overall the game looks very nice. Congratulations on your game =).

    bytegrove says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 1:32am

    Thanks again for all your feedback! :D I've made an updated version for you to try(if you've already rated the original). I've sped up the movement, made the level a little brighter, added weapon models, and I also made a simple mini-boss, to name a few.

    dr_soda says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 5:57am

    The graphics are beautiful in this game. Really a sight to behold. Unfortunately the performance was such that the game was virtually unplayable for me. Mouse and keyboard input started to lag by several seconds as I continued to play. At last, I struck a wall and was knocked with such force away from it that I broke through the opposite wall and was ejected from the play area.

    The windows exe was a little more responsive, but still a bit sluggish on the response time.

    May 7, 2012 @ 6:03pm

    Lovely work!

    I love the character, it's quite cute. Sound and the rest work quite well together. This has a lot of potential, and could be great with

    KevinWorkman says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 1:47am

    This is a great start, and with some polish this could be really fun. Control over your speed and some powerups would turn this into a 3d version of a galaga-like game, which would be awesome. The graphics are really well done, but they get rather lost in the translation when actually playing the game. Great work, especially for 48 hours and your first LD.

    Pitoum says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 8:46am

    Very impressive graphics, but a bit slow for my taste :)

    angrygeometry says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 7:43pm

    i love the cave graphics, swirls of colour.. lovely.. the game is pretty cool but the sound effects are kind of loud.. my only problem with it. good job!

    JellyFame says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 1:08am

    Wonderful graphics. Incredible amount of 3d work in just 2 days

    JonathanG says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 7:27am

    This looks really nice, but it's quite a slow game and I had a lot of trouble aiming, even with the mouse crosshair.

    I'd like to be able to 3D model that well though :)

    AD-Edge says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 2:37pm

    Very nice graphics, audio is alright as well. Flying was fun, but shooting at enemies was hard, the shots didnt seem to line up as youd hope, and enemies were hard to spot since they were dark like the background.
    But having said that, I played it several times just because it as fun flying around shooting etc!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]