Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 30 days, 0 hours, 30 minutes, 0 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Battle For Tiny Space - Routing Edition - thynnmas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    ::Goal::
    You select things, and attempt to guide them to their corresponding things. The small, moving things are selectable, and should be guided to their corresponding large stationary thing. Colors code where they go, as well as their shape (the ones with holes go to the ones with holes, etc.). The faster you get them there, the more points, but any thing that leaves the world, or hits a non-corresponding large thing is lost.

    There are two game modes:
    -Time attack mode, where you must collect as many points as possible in 2 minutes, disregarding lost things entirely
    -Score attack mode, where you die when you've lost 200 things.

    [NEW]
    It seems the gameplay here is quite confusing, as even my brother upon vocal explanation and demonstration took two rounds to get it, so instead, I'll now go into excruciating detail. You're adviced to keep an eye on the screenshot as you read along.
    In the middle of the screenshot there are two large circles (purble and red) that are filled. We call these two for "Nodes". The four large circles with dark spots
    (toruses) in the corners we call "Warps". All of these spawn, at fixed intervals, the smaller versions of each other we call "Particles". Nodes spawn paricles that correspond to warps, meaning they look the same, in the same color as the warp they correspond to. Warps spawn particles corresponding to either nodes or other waprs. Thus, something coming out of the center circles corresponds to one of the corners, but something coming out of the conrner may correspond to other corners as well as center circles.
    You are in charge of uniting corresponding particles and nodes _and_ corresponding particles and warps. Any particle that appears it is your mission to get to the corresponsing Node or Warp. Keeping on top of that task is the game...

    You do this task by "boxing" a set og particles (with LMB) and then routing them somewhere (with RMB). This alone will only get you so far though, as there are tricks to be employed. Once you have given a particle the order to go to it's corresponding node / warp it will speed up.

    The rest of this section will describe one such trick:
    The speed-up, coupled with the (Shift + RMB) "append command" functionality ( by holding down shift, and giving a series of points to visit, the particles will visit them in order all the way to the last one) allows you to group units together, string them around the world and towards one node/warp, at which point some of them will speed up, and the rest can be taken off crash course in time.
    [END NEW]

    ::Controls::
    -Left mouse button : Selects things by DRAGGING THE SELECTION BOX OVER THEM, clicking will not work!
    -Right mouse buttons : Gives move-commands
    -Shift : Modifies the above as such:
    LMB now extends the old selection with the new one
    RMB adds that move-command after the last previous one given to that unit (used to create zig-zag routes)
    -Crtl + [0-9], Ctrl + [Num 0-9] / Ctrl + F1-F10 : Creates control group with selected things
    -0-9, Num 0-9, F1-F10 : Selects the corresponding control group
    -Space or P : Pauses/Unpauses the game
    -Escape : Closes the game from the menu, returns to manu from ingame
    The following two are bugged, and should NOT be used (or be nescessary):
    -Mouse Wheel : Zoom
    -Mouse Wheel pressed + drag : Moves view

    Also important:
    Once a thing has been routed to it's correct destination, it will become slightly darker and speed up. This is so things don't get cluttered; you can still give it new orders.

    ::Story::
    Alas, the (back)story fits neatly to an RTS game, not so much to this. But how is it related to "Tiny world" then, you say? Well, the universe is vast, size is perspective, and we only see a few objects somewhere in space, with nothing to relate their size to. For now, let's just assume they are tiny ;)

    ::Comment::
    See next post...

    ::PS::
    There was a massive bug in the first version, but this has now been fixed.

    ::Linux Notes::
    See readme included in tarball. Only 64-bit for now.

    View thynnmas's journal. | View all entries by thynnmas

    Ratings

    Coolness75%
    #346Innovation3.12
    #581Audio2.09
    #607Humor1.89
    #636Mood2.35
    #645Fun2.42
    #692Theme2.48
    #727Overall2.48
    #760Graphics2.21

    Comments

    uprightpath says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:56pm

    I couldn't get the Time Attack version to work, when I attempted to select anything and guide it, nothing happened.

    I tried the Survival mode but for the most part I wasn't really sure what I was supposed to be doing. Perhaps using something other than (just) colours would have made it more playable, especially with the two green targets. I was having quite a bit of trouble deciphering which one was the intended goal of a hokey-puck.

    thynnmas says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:41pm

    A tutorial would have been useful, yes, but then again there just wasn't time. I'll try to clarify the goal for anyone coming to try:
    The large circles spawn small ones. Your job is to select the small circles and right click where you want them to go (hold shift to que up commands and build a roiute around things). You want them to go the the large circle that corresponds to them in color and shape.
    The middle spawning points will only spawn circles for the outer ones, whereas the outer ones will spawn for each other as well as the middle ones.

    The faster you guilde them to their target, the more points that circle will gain you upon arrival. Dropped circles gain you nothing.

    *I'll get some more people to test; in my build both route-modes work. Thanks for playing...

    thynnmas says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:00pm

    Turns out it you experienced the result of one bug where gravity was framerate dependant, and another mixup of milli/micro-seconds. It ran great here, since I'd tweaked it to run great, but as soon as I tested it on a second computer things went bad. This is a definite gamebreaking bug, and a fix is now uploaded. My tweaked values were obviously a bit off now (by a coulpe orders of magnitude), so I've tried to get the gravity back to as close I could to what it was on my test machine in the last build.

    devwil says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:11pm

    ***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

    When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

    Please consider making a browser game next time.

    SusanTheCat says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:23pm

    I was unable to get the game running on my netbook in Windows7.

    Muhiz says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:40pm

    I think I encountered same bug. Couldn't select or route anything. Only once in survival I saw one dot speeding in to the middle after clicks.

    thynnmas says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:07am

    The netbook-problem is most likely caused by me not remebering they exist and assuming HD-resolution support. Now fixed with a low-res version included.

    The selection- and routing bug confuses me, as I haven't been able to reproduce it. It could be that my explanation above was (still) too vague, and that you are attempting to click the units, while it is required to drag over them (to "box" them). That was actually intentional, as getting use to boxing right away should be very beneficial to the players skill at the game ;)

    Milo says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:38am

    It didn't seem too complicated once I got the hang of it, but, I think your selection code has a bug - it only seems to select if I drag down and left when making the selection. Interesting concept, but it seems a too difficult to effectively manage so many dots with adequate precision.

    Jerm says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:52am

    The controls didn't seem too complicated to me. The time attack mode seemed better as the score attack mode got boring rather quickly. Also it seemed overwhelming having so many objects and as such was not very fun. Maybe it would be better if it started out easier with less objects and got harder over time.

    netmute says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:54am

    I can't rate this because I'm using a Mac. Sorry :(

    piman says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:10pm

    I can't rate this because I don't have a Windows system.

    Raptor85 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:25pm

    Tried to launch under WINE on linux but crashes at start, seeing as you used sfml/openal maybe cross compile for mac/linux? It should work without really any changes.

    caranha says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:54pm

    Simple, but interesting game. The two tones of greens are kinda hard to distinguish, and I can imagine that if I were color blind, it would be impossible to play this game. Maybe you should use more than just colors to differentiate the goals?

    MarekkPie says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:49am

    Even following the Linux readme I cannot get it to run.

    siasia says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:02am

    I were able to run it by installing glew and sfml on my 64 Arch, but were unable to get the gameplay.

    R3ason says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:36am

    Interesting; took me a bit to figure out! I found a couple of the colours hard to distinguish, as I'm slightly colour deficient. Overall, though, not a bad game; found myself really getting into it. Thanks!

    namuol says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:57am

    I'm happy to say that getting the game to run was more frustrating than figuring out how to play it. :P

    I've actually built games with SFML before, but I still had trouble (mostly my own fault-- package manager was broken).

    Anyway -- the concept is simple enough that even a single tutorial screen would be enough to explain it -- I highly recommend doing this next time!

    Gameplay was a bit tedious at times, but I sort of like frantic games like this. Maybe if there weren't really penalties for things going to the wrong shape on their own, just a lack of extra points. Another thing I'd like to see is shift-left-click-drag to _add_ units to your current selection.

    The color choices were not the best. I had a hard time distinguishing green from green-blue(?) -- Maybe next time use different _symbols_, like they did with Tetris Attack or the like. Also, it wasn't always clear which units I currently had selected; was this a bug or just a poor choice of color?

    Other than that, my only tip is to write games for the web, as you're going to get a much wider audience and better feedback that way. (Although I will admit to loving SFML, so I can't blame you for choosing that as your framework. Heh) Keep it up!

    PsySal says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:20am

    I like this as a core concept; the idea of guiding different missiles (mini planets?) to targets in a multi-tasking sort of way seems pretty solid foundation to build a game on. The fact that the mini planets need to not hit incorrect targets actually I think gives potential for a lot of depth.

    I gave somewhat lowish scores but only because the core idea was not quite developed enough for me. For instance I would have really liked to have a score or goal, some level progression, etc.

    I think you should make this into a full game. If you had a level progression with fewer growing to more targets, generators, and targets of different size in different locations you could use just that to build a compelling game.

    Cool concept!

    Spiridios says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:41am

    This seems like it would be a very fun game, but a couple of things caused me to stop playing. Trying to select near the edge of the window causes the selection to get stuck if your mouse strays over the edge. Probably a good idea to capture the mouse or something similar. Also, using such similar shades for your shapes makes it darn near impossible to tell where the little shapes are supposed to go. I think just a couple of tweaks would make this game great.

    Serilyn says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:50am

    I found it pretty fun, other than the two green shades that were kinda hard to tell apart. A little bug though: I played for only around 10 minutes but the game over screen says I played for 1h3m47s

    thynnmas says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:54am

    @namoul: shift-left-click-drag to add is actually there; this was intended to be an RTS at one point, after all.

    The reason for the bad colour and (lack of) shape differences is simply that eveything is palceholder "art", and 5 minutes before deadline everything was still green and gray. I simply ran out of the time that was left after running out of time.
    While frustrating, it's not really "game breaking" though, so I can't fix it now.

    Kayamon says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:23am

    Would have helped if you hadn't used the same shades of blue and green for everything :-)

    I think it'd be a lot more fun if stuff came at you in attack waves, rather just constantly.

    NefariousZhen says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:52am

    Mac only here. Next time include a makefile or some sort of readme how to build it, I tried but don't have SFML.

    DaveDobson says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:55am

    Cool idea; unique gameplay. I enjoyed it. It was hard to know how well I was doing during the game - the sound effects were the only clue, plus the cryptic message on the bottom. It would have been nicer to have some kind of progress bar or goal. Also, the random emission of the things was a little frustrating; it was very hard to direct more than one of the balls at a time, and the click-drag is naturally suited to picking multiple things, so maybe some more order in the ball groups would be more fun. But a fun idea, implemented well enough to be fun to play with!

    Cyboot says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:33am

    nice game
    the graphics reminds me of a small Game or Simulation i created some time ago.

    good job!

    Hazematman says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 4:49pm

    Took a two tries to figure it out, but once I did It was lots of fun! The one thing this game needs is some very catchy background music! :D

    soy_yuma says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 4:40pm

    I like it!

    As PsySal says, I think it has great potential. I found the gameplay frenetic (which is good for me!). Also found complicated distinguishing from selected/unselected symbols. And if you select an area that spans out of the window it cancels the selection and you start to pull out your hair! (I took it too seriously *rage*)

    I think you have a good little game for Koreans and their Starcraft training plans :-) Well done!

    robcozzens says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 8:38am

    I would try it, but I'm on an iMac.

    asfdfdfd says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 9:09pm

    Controls pretty hard.

    egerlach says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 8:25pm

    Neat game idea. Half the time when I tried to play all the little things would appear at the centre of the big things, and would collide with their edges, making it impossible to play.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]