Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 4 days, 15 hours, 20 minutes, 43 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 4 days, 15 hours, 20 minutes, 44 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Box - eShredder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A simple "puzzle" game, as my part of the 48 hours Compo for the first time :D
    Have fun =^w^=

    Controls being: Arrows to move and Z to sneak
    Brotip: Sneaking is a supreme move when you have to deal with lava ;)

    View eShredder's journal. | View all entries by eShredder

    Ratings

    Coolness68%
    #39Mood3.70
    #185Overall3.40
    #215Graphics3.38
    #275Audio2.86
    #312Humor2.47
    #370Fun2.93
    #619Innovation2.55
    #678Theme2.50

    Comments

    ToxicLogic says ...
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 10:29pm

    I'm stuck in the room right after the lava maze. Looks like there should be a button? Please help, I must finish and find out where I really am! I did find a kitty though, so all is not lost.

    ToxicLogic says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:19am

    Congrats, your game has now been modded. :P I downloaded your source and removed that pesky door. Glad I did. The last puzzle was epic and the ending was entertaining.

    eShredder says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:09am

    xD Silly me, not finishing the game properly. A friend of mine told me about that door and I've updated it, so it should be alright now.
    Thank you for enjoying it ^^

    Krisjet says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:18pm

    Nice game, I liked it, but making you restart from the very beginning is really annoying when you get further into the game, especially when there are puzzles you have to execute fast next to lava :O

    bms says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:23pm

    Nice graphics, music and gamplay. I also love the mood and gameboy-like feel. Good work!

    the8donut says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:06pm

    Love the mood and the music. I experience occasional stuttering, but it's not a big deal. Great job overall!

    cacciatc says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:14pm

    Mood is great. When I clicked the Web link to go to the static void site, it was not immediately apparent where to click next to play (Applet or Jar).

    cadin says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:02pm

    I like the graphics. Sticking with that very limited color palette is a nice touch. Collision detection with the lava is pretty brutal. It's hard to tell if you will hit it or not.

    RHY3756547 says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:36pm

    Awesome game, I love the challenge in the tests! Could use some checkpoints though.

    deepnight says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:08pm

    Nice game and very pleasant to play!

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:33pm

    CREEPY! YESSS! Love the graphics, and the look. The music is good. I hope more people play this, one of my favorites so far. Good jorb!

    bburbank says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:11pm

    glorious, fantastic mood. Love the palette.

    jeffreybiles says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:12pm

    Web version doesn't load for me. I use chromium in linux.

    eShredder says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:45pm

    @the8donut: Good to know. I did not experience this on my computer.

    @cacciatc: Thanks for letting me know. I've updated the link directly to the applet version.

    @cadin: Yea, the hitbox is a tad annoying when it comes to the lava. I tried to make it even smaller, but just one pixel smaller on each side and it looked awkward when getting close to the walls.

    @RHY3756547: Trust me, I wanted checkpoints to, but I were so short on time D:

    @jeffreybiles: I'd wish to help, but I don't know anything about Linux.

    mitkus says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:56pm

    The atmosphere is great! I believe you could make this into a great game with just a bit more work.

    johanp says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:57pm

    Nice moody entry. Everything was well put together. Starting from the beginning when dieing was a bit too punishing I think.

    orgarus says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:49pm

    Hi eShredder!

    First of all congratulations! I like so much the way that your game looks, five stars to the graphics undoubtedly. The music creates a good atmosphere but after.
    A good one that I put on the "play later list" (twenty days later, there are lots of games to test and vote as you will understand)!

    Good work!

    TenTonToon says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:20am

    Awesome mood and ambience on this one! The controls are tight, a nice perk when you're running around lava! :) Having to restart from the very beginning after getting to the puzzles is a little unforgiving, though, as it's already been pointed out.
    Congratulations!

    BlackDogg says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:41pm

    As some people here, a bit frustrating to go back at the very beginning when you lose but still a solid entry, with a great graphic style and mood !

    Evgis says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:27pm

    Pretty good! Played around with the source too, broke it when I tried to make a brown path all the way to the end! Didn't have time to figure out the entire code :P

    Zamando says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:55am

    A really great game!

    KevinWorkman says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 12:19am

    Nice work. The death animation made me laugh the first time I saw it!

    Datamosh says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 2:39pm

    Love the concept and the looks! It's really great!

    CappaGames says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 6:11am

    I loved this game, but it needs some checkpoints.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]