Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 75 days, 4 hours, 48 minutes, 39 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Invaders From Space - smvilar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You were living in your peaceful and lonely tiny world when suddenly a ship falls down!
    An Alien force is trying to conquer your planet! Set up the defense system before it's too late!


    Follow me on twitter! @smvilar

    View smvilar's journal. | View all entries by smvilar

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #94Theme3.73
    #132Graphics3.70
    #197Audio3.06
    #214Fun3.21
    #221Overall3.34
    #252Mood3.00
    #384Innovation3.04
    #516Humor2.08

    Comments

    Matt Rix says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:05am

    I like it.

    smvilar says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:17pm

    yay thanks

    stromchin says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:02pm

    I wish I could hold the button for the bullets, but the difficulty was just right, I made it whith just a tiny bit of hp lef

    the8donut says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    Very well done. Smooth and polished game, and fun to play!

    Jorjon says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    We have the winner of LD23.

    Darkcoder says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:09pm

    The art style is very nice, and it's pretty well polished, but the enemy dudes are just too annoying. Once they reach you, you have no close range fighting ability which makes it rather frustrating trying to kill them as one mistake can get you killed very very quickly. Also maybe it's just me, but I don't think the fixed rotation camera suits this kind of game. However, I will say that the bullets arcing around the surface is awesome!

    smvilar says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:15pm

    @Darkcoder, yes, the enemy AI is f***ing annoying, that's right. And maybe if the world rotated instead of the player the game would be nicer to play, but whatever, I'll left it this way.

    smvilar says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:15pm

    *I'll leave it

    th3ub3r3x says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:32pm

    Nice Work!

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:32pm

    Hard! but awesome sauce all around! Yay!

    Danvil says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:48pm

    Nice! The controls needs getting used to.

    eShredder says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:39pm

    The game is fun and it got a nice look to it.
    It is a bit hard ingame as the enemies can catch you pretty easily.

    cornedor says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:40pm

    Very nice, it is sometimes a bit confusing if a alien jumps right behind you and you cant shoot him because if you turn around he is behind you again.

    karnakgames says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:55pm

    Thumbs up to the art style.

    ncannasse says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:05pm

    Liked it, but would have like more levels with different enemies :)

    uuav says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:35pm

    One of the best games I tested so far!

    Transmit says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:37pm

    Hard but fun! I probably would have prefered the planet to rotate than the player, but only because I couldnt work out which way was up!

    ahm99 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:45pm

    Nice game, good job : )

    TSJ666 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:19pm

    It was too short, finished in less than 2 mins. But smooth and very well done, expecially the graphics.

    Evgis says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:21pm

    Nice work, a little hard, but pretty well balanced! I like the graphics, a little annoying that you rotate, not the planet, but it adds to the difficulty!

    Nehmulos says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:13pm

    I really had some short-time fun! The graphics and audio are really nice and I mostly liked how these spaceships crashed on the planet.

    It was a little bit annoying that you are practically dead once an enemy reaches you, because you can't run away fast enough without running into others, but in the end it added to the playtime and I enjoyed the game even more once I finished charging the last tower.

    10WonXero10 says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:38am

    Very nice, I only wished for a melee attack to get the guys that get in too close and are hard to shake off :)

    But, just as all good games do, this game presents a nice fun challenge which takes a few tries to get the hang of.

    Well done!

    De10ter says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:51pm

    I liked it.
    Though it was a bit too difficult for my tastes :S

    Alexandre says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:05pm

    Nice game!
    The fact that the camera doesn't rotate is a bit disturbing at first, but interesting!
    Difficult at first, but gets very easy once you've finished to read the explanations and played a little.

    schizofunky says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:23pm

    Nice work! The music sounds eerily familiar, its very good. I had trouble with the enemies when they get too close and constnatly jump tho, maybe a way to fight close range would be cool?

    Jeffalisk says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:25pm

    Superb look and feel, very addictive gameplay - top job!

    My only complaint is it's a bit hard - haven't been able to beat it yet.

    But even having rated it I will probably come back and have another go!

    Datamosh says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:34pm

    I could not stop playing until you complete the objective! Great game is really fun! The only annoying are the enemies, stick to the player more than in KungFu Master.

    smvilar says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 5:02am

    Thanks for all the nice comments and critiques! You're awesome!

    robcozzens says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 9:09am

    Seems really cool, but very frustrating that the bad guys would line up exactly with you so you couldn't shoot them while staying still to charge the towers.

    ratboy2713 says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 5:08am

    I like that the bullets arc around the planet, simplifies soo much. The invaders move too fast, once they get on top of you you really can't get far enough away to shoot them.

    May 8, 2012 @ 1:01am

    Nice and fun but way too hard! I think it needs health upgrades or weaker enemies. Oh and the music sounds good but I think it should match the fast pace of the game!

    MrPhil says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 3:05am

    I would like to keep playing but two issues made me give it up:
    1. The controls feel backwards in my mind when you are on the underside of the planets. Really messed with my head.
    2. The aliens jump-float made shooting them to difficult and I died too much.

    castor says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 5:07pm

    Really cool to play. Great use of the quake. The game looks great.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]