Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 8 days, 6 hours, 31 minutes, 24 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 8 days, 6 hours, 31 minutes, 25 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Tiny Timmy and Big Bill - 4urentertainment - Jam Entry

    ***Game's preloader isn't working. It's 3 mb, give it a few to load***

    Art and animation by Xelu. www.xelubest.com

    Programming by Omar Shehata. www.4urentertainment.org

    Allow me to introduce you to Tiny Timmy and Big Bill! Control both as you get them to work together to get over obstacles!

    Collect all the mustaches in the level to advance!

    So we practically killed ourselves making this game. More on this in the imminent post-mortem. Stay tuned!

    What I am really proud of is how much potential this game has. While the concept of moving around two characters by switching between them has been done before, I don't think controlling two simultaneous characters has been explored too much.

    View 4urentertainment's journal. | View all entries by 4urentertainment

    Ratings

    Innovation(Jam)4.39
    Coolness100%
    #8Overall(Jam)4.02
    #14Fun(Jam)3.75
    #16Humor(Jam)3.76
    #25Graphics(Jam)4.20
    #29Theme(Jam)3.68
    #32Audio(Jam)3.74
    #51Mood(Jam)3.39

    Comments

    Suds says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:46am

    Wow. This was great.

    bwdevel says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:12pm

    Everything about this game rocks. Great work.

    AlwaysGeeky says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:13pm

    Personally I think you made the game with the best title... haha and probably the wackyiest game concept I have played yet!

    Ace says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:18pm

    Awesome game, the whole punching thing is the best game mechanic I've seen so far. Loved the monsters and their angry eyebrows too, especially the spiders and their teeth grinding.
    The graphics were well made too, although a simpler way to move while punching would help a bit

    mr_tag says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:23pm

    Haha, loved it! It took me a while to realize that you can't move with Timmy on your hand, but then I had a blast :)

    johanp says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:34am

    Very well put together. Good work!

    Pierrec says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:37am

    This is very funny, fun to play, innovative, hairy...Congrats!
    I don't like the graphic style much, but it is a good graphic style

    Hatscat says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:47am

    It's a very good, original and funny game, I love it! The only thing strange is the Bill's hand when he go forward, but it's not matter.

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:49am

    The early monsters seem a bit arbitrary

    But I loved the game, its awesome!

    LFleck says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:03pm

    Great graphics and ideia, good job.

    netmute says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:04pm

    Very cool idea, great sound, great graphics! What a nice game.

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:30pm

    awesome sauce!

    MinerCraftGuy says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:59pm

    Lovely game, the big difference between the tiny and large character really made the game fun to play.

    schnerble says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:03pm

    Excellent work. Easily the best I've played so far :) (out of ten-ish)

    arhpositive says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:17pm

    This is the first game I rated as 5 stars overall. 'nuff said. Good work.

    Casino Jack says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:45pm

    Really top game. Bloody difficult on a netbook with a trackpad, but overall really fun.

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:38pm

    That was too cool. lol

    Gabriel says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:07pm

    Certainly one of the best entries, congratulations! This really got me laughing a few times!

    Danvil says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:07pm

    Great game! Really enjoyed controloing them both! Found it a bit annoying that Timmy could not walk on Bill's arm.

    Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:51am

    That's such a good use of two characters working together with completely different skillsets! I love it!

    The music is nice and chirpy as well.

    Tifu says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:45am

    This is great! There's some odd stuff with layers where tiny timmy seems to disappear behind things in the background even if he's on big bill's hand in the foreground, but minor issues. Awesome stuff! The little flies itching for a fight animation is lulz

    kibertoad says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:10pm

    Great idea, perfect execution! One of the best LD games I've seen so far.

    robcozzens says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:06pm

    Wow that was cool. Somewhat difficult controls though.

    Lidfrid says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:01am

    Five stars for all. My favourite ld entry so far :)

    davidllanos22 says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:07am

    Nice game and idea! loved the graphics. Well done!

    eburn184 says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:20pm

    I haven't played many jam games yet, but this one was easily my favorite! Nice job. The mechanic is very unique, and was very fun to play.

    strega says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:11pm

    Really cool IK arm movement! I thought it was a neat concept, very whimsical. Great job!

    Raptor85 says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:24pm

    a little hard to control but the boss fight at the end is HILARIOUS

    Scott Baker says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:34pm

    Very good job. I loved this game. One my the best scores I have given. There was a perfect balance of difficulty and enjoyment, which made me keep trying the final level until I defeated evil mustache-bot. Great humor too!

    At first I found the controls very difficult. Unnatural to control two things on the screen at once. Had that feeling until the end. But the easy going tutorial level made a nice warm up to get me used to the feeling. The tutorial level was definitely right.

    I figured out too late how to walk Bill backwards. Makes sense to click behind you now, but there is not much room to click there. I missed a 'stache on the second level and sacrificed one of Timmy's hearts by guessing where it was. Maybe include that in the tutorial? Or I missed it?

    I too wanted to walk down Billy's arm. It looked like I was supposed to do so. But couldn't figure out how until I saw in the tutorial how to move Timmy.

    I could go on about adding this or adding that, but that doesn't help you. Any game could benefit or suffer from additions. Really this is a very solid and polished game and can't say enough how good of a job you guys did.

    Cyboot says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:41pm

    fun game, good graphics, great way to introduce the Game

    you did a great job!

    derosa says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:58pm

    Fun game, well balanced and innovative.

    dr_soda says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:30pm

    This is both an incredibly fun mechanic and yet also possibly flawed, but it's difficult to tell just how flawed because my computer seems to be experiencing severe performance problems while running your game.

    The premise of the game, a small and nimble person riding around on a giant protector, isn't completely new. What is new is the setting and design of the characters. They're quite charming, and they help to make up for some of the shortcomings of the game mechanics.

    The mechanics themselves are inspired. It's nice that the mouse and the keyboard are each separate control mechanisms that each control the different heroes. You could concievably play this as a 2 player game given this control layout! As a single player though, I found it somewhat difficult to coordinate two characters, each in one hand. This was not made easier by the awfully chuggy performance problems that plagued me every time I tried to move Bill's arm. It felt like his animations were jerking and twitching, skipping almost 90 degrees of motion at a time. It was hard to punch anything because his arm would suddenly be in one frame straight below him and in another straight in front with no inbetween frames shown. Apparently the collision detection doesn't account for this.

    On the other hand, performance aside, I love the kinematic arm mechanic. I wonder if the game would be more enjoyable on a different machine?

    dr_soda says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:52am

    Played again on a better machine and the performance problems vanished. MUCH nicer game!

    Daniel says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:55am

    haha awesome idea!

    dokidoki says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:39pm

    One of the best I've seen so far.

    Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:02pm

    Easily the best Jam game! Nice music, art style and gameplay! Nice job!

    Gunmonkey says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 1:08am

    Interesting game and original idea

    tcstyle says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:38am

    Great and very polished game. The gameplay mechanics are quite unique. It takes some practice to coordinate Big Bill and Tiny Timmy but after that it works very well.
    Walking backwards if you missed a moustache is quite annoying.

    gregdevice says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 3:26pm

    Great Concept! Controls are a little tricky to master. I kept trying to run down Big Bill's arm which seemed natural. Like the humor and dimension of the game though.

    vigrid says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:15pm

    This is a game for schizophrenics! The controls drove me crazy, but somehow I got a hold of them. I really like how this fits the theme, and the graphics, and sound. Great stuff!

    MadGnomeGamer says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 1:27am

    Ran very slow on my computer, but I could see how cool it was. Amazing graphics, very nice gameplay mechanic! Sometimes I couldn't get Big Bill to move when I needed him to, and Timmy had these weird depth glitches, but other than that pretty good!

    DaveDobson says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 3:44am

    Very cool - the art is wonderful, and the game is very slick. The concept is quite creative and fun, and the partnership between the guys is funny. My only two criticisms would be (1) that there isn't a big variety in stuff to do, and (2) combining all of those mouse functions makes it very easy to do the wrong thing - I dropped Timmy a number of times just because I held the mouse too long. It should maybe be easier to drop Timmy back on Bill's shoulder if you want. But those are nitpicks - a very cool game, and a very strong effort. I'm amazed you were able to get it all done in the time allotted with just two of you.

    Pavel Dlouhy says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 3:01pm

    Wow. Original and nice game. Good job!

    Fireblend says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 5:08pm

    Wow, brilliant! The controls were a bit difficult to get right, but after I managed to rewire my brain for it, I had lots of fun. Great!

    Alexandre says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 6:46pm

    Very fun, nice concept, and very well done!

    May 2, 2012 @ 6:26pm

    Excellent concept! The game was done very well and after I got used to the controls the game played very well, the idea of controlling both the tiny and big guy was awesome. Great job! Great bossfight at the end!

    amodo says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 10:09am

    One of my favourites! Very good mechanic! It made me chuckle how Bill just punches all the things in the house! Great work!

    Jeffalisk says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 1:22pm

    Top marks across the board. Your game, sirs, is awesome. Want more!

    Hazard says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 5:29pm

    Amazing game! Very innovative. :)

    dcolgan says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 8:16pm

    A 5 star performance all around! This game is excellent - highly polished, funny, challenging, excellent graphics - awesome job.

    Datamosh says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 9:48pm

    THIS is incredibly creative. Fun, clever... Truly, congratulations!

    Jedi says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 1:34am

    Very cool game! I thought the controls were a little clunky though.

    Kane says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 11:28am

    It's really a nice game, and I love musics and graphics! But a good thing was Bill that would have been able to turn back I think.

    Keirua says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 9:49pm

    I loved the game, but controlling the 2 characters at the same time never felt right. However the realization is very good and the game fun to play !
    A very interesting idea... any plans for the future ?

    May 5, 2012 @ 1:40am

    Wow, what an awesome concept :)

    May 5, 2012 @ 4:10pm

    Awesome game! Good graphics and sounds, the idea of using two chars in two different ways was a fun one. The hand sometimes moved oddly.

    Make A Game says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 11:03pm

    Oh cool! Nice idea and graphics, but playing it with a laptop trackpad isn't easy at all.

    Hume says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 5:18pm

    Great theme, concept, graphics. Love the moustache pickups.
    I feel like flat 2D hurts you a bit here, because it's not really obvious where on Bill you can stand. I lost in the tutorial level, and I don't suck at platformers. It's just not quite there.

    These are small complaints (remember, more comments means somebody liked your game more). This was really impressive and with a little refinement, it could be a game to play for hours.

    DoktorAce says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 8:20pm

    Wow, that was great!

    bombom says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 9:50am

    Awesome graphics!

    rvmook says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 8:16pm

    Looks great but gameplay was a bit repetative and levels were easy to beat when you're just carrying tiny Timmy. The last level however was challenging and a bit too hard for me (but then again I kind of cheated by carrying Timmy and not really learning to defend myself).

    summaky says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 1:21pm

    A great game. Very polished and innovative. The only bad points I've found in this entry are that the music is a bit annoying after a while and so is controlling Bill sometimes, especially when moving backwards to look for a missing mustache.

    bompo says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 6:32pm

    Awesome graphics and concept!

    Dr.Pingu says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 2:45pm

    "Not found" on http://www.4urentertainment.org/ld23/

    May 12, 2012 @ 6:43am

    @Dr.Pingu,

    it seems to be working for me. Could you try again now? If it's still not working, what browser are you using? (Also maybe try clearing your cache)

    May 12, 2012 @ 10:03pm

    One of my faves. Top marks on everything. Your hard work really shows through, you guys

    steamgirl says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 10:56pm

    Hey 4urentertainment, you asked for a proper feedback, so here it goes. ^_^

    First impression:
    Lovely, colourful, intriguing. A big guy and a small guy... funny and unique. Noticed how nice the music was right away.

    Experience:
    Easy initially... clicking the mouse to control Bill was easy enough. He felt a bit slow, but that happens when you're big. Ok, I can control Timmy with keyboard... oh, he ran off the screen. Why didn't Bill follow him? Oh wait, I have to click with the mouse. Looks like I lost 2 lives there... Oops!

    Ok, I think I got it now. Pick him up to reach higher places... oh I better walk back. Ouch, the arm looks mega awkward when I do that. Oh well. Got the 2nd moustache. Right, gotta punch those boxes. Oh... Timmy fell off my hand... Lost my life. Have to restart. Hrm... mildy annoyed.

    Ok, restarted. Gonna punch them now, I bet they're hiding a moustache. Oh... I guess not. Well, that was a waste of a life. Ok, punch enemies. Hey, it's a green guy, so I bring the hand down ready to punch... hand with Timmy hits the green thing before I made a fist, lost another heart. Grrr. Music keeps me feeling pretty happy though. And the two guys and the colours are just so nice. I'm progressing. Next level.

    Oooh... a kitchen! Still not quite gotten the hang of this keyboard and mouse control. Keep trying to move Bill with A and D. Holding Timmy in hand, I just ignore the enemies, as punching is too hard and I lose lives that way. Jumped over the spider successfully. Oh what's this? I didn't get all the moustaches... ok, gotta go back.

    Walking backwards is pretty awkward. Ah, moustache hidden in the drawer. Music is starting to slightly grind on my ears... but that's probably because it's quite late and I should be going to bed soon.

    Ok, next level. Basement? An, another spider. I gotta jump over these things. Oh... that didn't work. No matter, try again. Ok. Spider down. Fly stole my health in the meantime. I wonder why I need to jump for the spider. Will it damage Bill? Well, I won't take risks to find out. 2 out of 5 moustaches.

    Argh... tried to jump over the spider from hand... lost life? Why? Jumped from shoulder... lost another life and now I've got to start over. Well at least I reload on the same level.

    Ok, this time I will just ignore the spider and walk straight through. Looks like it didn't do any damage. Why did I need to jump over it then? 3 Moustaches. 5 Moustaches but I'm down to one life. Open door.

    What's this? DIE? (Aggressive flies!?) A boss level with an evil robot in a tophat?! Oh that laugh! How cool... funky music too! Ok... 3 lives, one down by spider 3 (because of flies). Why did you sit down on the shoulder Timmy? Why! Tried to box the spider away since I can't jump over him... seems that spider is only hurting but not moving away. Funny animation though. Better go back. Eeep! Not too far back! SPIDER!

    Argh... Timmy sat down on shoulder again and died! So hard. Gonna try again. Oh. I died cause I couldn't get Timmy off that shoulder. WHY YOU SIT ON SHOULDER TIMMY? WHY? Right, last go.

    Lost two lives right off the bat on the first spider. Ok... dead again on second spider. Last go for real now. OH YES! Timmy materialised in my hand this time! Yippee! Died on third or fourth spider.

    Impression:
    Interesting, polished, and very very different. I had a good go and I wish I could've finished it (I'm a bit of a completionist). Probably will come back to it some other time and try again, but damn Timmy and wanting to sit on that shoulder! It was the cause of death about 80% of the time. I think it was fun, but not super duper fun for me... however, considering I find platformers of any kind excessively boring, you managed to grab my attention very very well. That said, I mainly held Timmy in my hand to avoid all obstacles and didn't use the platforms except as a way to get Timmy back onto Bill's hand.

    The graphics and music were spot on and the little bits of humour dotted around as well! All in all a great achievement, especially in such a short space of time!

    Good job you guys! Thumbs up. I rated it 4/5 overall.

    I hope you find this feedback useful. ^_~

    ghRibacki says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 3:06pm

    Nice game! I didn't like two things though: couldn't figure out how to beat the boss and the number of hearts is too small! Maybe with 3 extra hearts I could figure out how to beat the boss... Aside from that, everything is awesome! =)

    tomhunt says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    those mustaches are epic

    steamgirl says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 9:47am

    Congrats on being first place in innovation! Thoroughly deserved. :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]