Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 0 hours, 19 minutes, 38 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 0 hours, 19 minutes, 39 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Tondie and Zupe - Cosmologicon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Requries an HTML5 capable browser. Chrome is strongly recommended. Firefox has some problems.

    This is sort of a cross between a platformer and a tower defense. It should take maybe 25 minutes to beat it. If you're stuck, here's some tips:
    * You start the game able to double jump (jump in the air), and you can upgrade it later.
    * At the beginning, collect money to advance the game. When you reach $250, you get the ability to grow. After that, keep growing to advance the game.
    * Grow will only work if you have 90/100 health or higher.
    * You have to be standing at the base of a structure to upgrade it.
    * The final boss has a pretty small hit box, right in the middle of its dome. Attack from above and try to hit it right in the center. Launchers upgraded about 6 times are excellent for getting up there.

    View Cosmologicon's journal. | View all entries by Cosmologicon

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #14Fun3.96
    #24Theme4.10
    #30Overall3.94
    #61Mood3.54
    #100Innovation3.71
    #169Humor2.85
    #186Graphics3.47
    #670Audio1.78

    Comments

    AlwaysGeeky says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    Nice story.

    jeffreybiles says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:02pm

    Wow! The best LD23 I've played so far! Loved the graphics and the story, and the gameplay was simple yet fun. My only complaint is that it seemed a little too easy.

    jeroenimooo says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:17pm

    Yay! A good upgrade game, I love when you can upgrade EVERYTHING. real cool, though after a while i got dizzy from running circles ;p An awesome game!

    Shigor says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:26pm

    Excellent piece (and I normally HATE jumping games). Good idea , nice fitting art and story.

    It hanged after a while in chrome, I don't know why... Just stopped responding at all, like it would stop receiving timing.

    fatSquirrel says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:30pm

    Great controls and design. I liked how the camera zooms out the higher you go.

    Syntaxide says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:24pm

    The story kept the game interesting. I really like the zoom as you get farther away from the planet, seemed perfect.

    oldtopman says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:25pm

    Every time I place a table, the controls die. No chrome for me here on linux though :/

    Cosmologicon says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:44pm

    @oldtopman: I think there's a problem with the focus changing in Firefox when you click a button. Either press 5 to place the tower instead of clicking, or click back on the gameplay area to restore the focus.

    Verrazano says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:54pm

    That game was flippy dippy amazing. And the story line was emo tastic :(

    Gremlin says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:17am

    I wasn't expect heartwarming with a poignant ending, but that's what you delivered. Well done!

    invaderJim says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:04am

    This is very well done! Excellent work on the little details like animations, and camera control. Ya! JUMPY!

    feyleaf says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:07am

    I liked the characters you presented, and their relationship.

    Rose says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:17am

    Very fun. It's good that the planet turns when you move, since some of the "run around the planet" games I've seen here make the character turn instead, which is disorienting.

    Rabbits... says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:02am

    Bubbler for the WIN! Best game ever...I played for an hour...I defiantly thing that you should win...Best game ever!!!!Five stars down the board! Even in firefox...

    emveyh says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:35pm

    cool entry! the game feels really polished and the mechanics are fun to play with. It becomes a bit tedious after a while, though

    eburn184 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:17am

    Cute little game. Got a bit dizzy at times, but had fun. Only issue I had was the numerous 'walls of text'. Most players will probably skip right over these. Nice job though!

    uberneen says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:28am

    This was cool, I enjoyed it. It seems like Tondie can only take one hit though, then the whole thing just seizes.

    Cosmologicon says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:07am

    @uberneen: that's not good! It locks up for me on Firefox, but I haven't had any problems on Chrome. If you can try on Chrome, I recommend that.

    mneubrand says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:14am

    Awwesome game with a great control scheme. Got me hooked from the beinning and I played through the complete game. Great job!

    Rectifier says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:44am

    Nicely done!

    The bubble physics were really wonky. It took me several cycles to realize if you don't hit jump after contacting them, you go way further up. Then I noticed they reset your jump-counter and surrounded the planet in them. :D

    Good game, though!

    humblesound says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:01am

    Chaining together jumps from enemy to enemy is addicting!

    PabloAM says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:41pm

    Nice game! I like the mechanics!

    Dylan McCall says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:45pm

    Wow, this game is brilliant! I'm really impressed you made something so long (especially that kept me hooked for so long) in two days. The progression is just about perfect, and I loved the story :)

    The camera zooming is especially neat. It gave me a good sense of Tondie growing bigger.

    It did feel a little easy to me. I think Tondie never dropped below 85 health (and I had placed / upgraded a lot of healers since they're pretty inexpensive), so the attackers never really gave me a sense of urgency.

    mildmojo says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:11am

    Wow, super polished entry here. I had the same locking problem in Firefox. The main screen stopped redrawing, but the build/upgrade buttons still lit up as if I was moving around the surface of the planet. I was able to switch to Chrome to avoid that issue.

    I'd never heard of the UFX library (I used CraftyJS), but it looks like you've put it to good use. The animations were nice & smooth, and the graphical style was consistent & cute. Great job on all the tower types and effects.

    I do wish you'd been able to add a few sounds (sfxr!) for things like jumps and enemy deaths. And I really wanted the character's first jump to be higher--early in the game, you have to let enemies get uncomfortably close before you can hit them.

    Nice story. The exposition seemed to trigger when I was in mid-air, though, which was a little jarring. That's where a sound cue would help, I think, to warn that gameplay's about to be interrupted.

    mildmojo says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:12am

    Very slick! I love playing the other HTML5 entries.

    johnfn says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:00am

    This is a fun game :-) My only suggestion would be to work on those graphics! The gameplay and everything else was simple, fun, and polished. Good work.

    namuol says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:54am

    Very fun indeed! I love the jump/bounce/kick mechanics. Very satisfying to keep afloat. Is there a sort of combo system going on in the background? If so, you should emphasize it with a nice big arcadey combo-counter. :p

    And yeah, you should add sound! The game is already pretty damn fun, but with even the simplest "bounce" and "pop" sounds of the enemies, you'd be surprised how much more cathartic the whole experience becomes!

    Oh and I actually like the procedural animation. Maybe some different color choices, but the graphics were mostly charming in my view.

    Keep it up!

    gnx says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:21am

    I don't usually care much for planet defense games. But you've blended it with platforming action in a way that is very inspiring and fun.

    The game is a bit easy and it doesn't really progress much, but the basic action is so fun it makes up for that.

    Evil Cult says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:47am

    [Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
    Pretty fun and addictive but a little rough in places. The frame rate dropped considerably at later levels which really decreased my enjoyment. The only other complaint I have is that it was very annoying stopping you doing anything everytime you made a building. Very cool concept and very enjoyable though. Was especially fun to chain combos together.

    Cosmologicon says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:41pm

    @Evil Cult: just curious, what browser were you on when you saw the performance drop? I got much better performance out of Chrome than Firefox.

    toadd-y says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 4:48pm

    Wow! really nice work in only 48 hours! polished and fun to play! super cool!

    Mesene says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 4:58pm

    I enjoyed it too much, reading the description I thought it was going to be more difficult.
    nice job :)

    ragnister says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 6:05pm

    This game is amazing! It's really fun, but it could be harder.

    Yapikom says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 8:07am

    Cute story and graphics, nice progression but waaay to easy. Would like some sound, the jump felt a little to weak.

    domrein says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 4:19pm

    Love it. One of the best ones I've played. Keep up the good work!

    kirbytails7 says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 1:03am

    Fantastic! I love the concept.

    May 8, 2012 @ 4:42am

    Love how you can make nice jump/kill chains :)

    Datw says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 2:52am

    You got all my fives dude. Give me 'em back, I need to rate other games!

    machinas says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 7:00am

    really fun. creative. i got the superjump before i'd beaten the final ship, not sure if you intended that. seems like healing machines are too strong. with a single healing machine there weren't really any threats to the planet as long as I was passively playing. I like that the money payouts increase as you progress, but it seems like you get a higher payout for killing enemies closer to the surface. should it be the opposite of that to reward people for climbing? also, the height of the jumping is tuned to make it pretty tough to use platforms. once i got to the point where i'd unlocked the spring boards and bubblers, the platforms didnt seem to have much value. the bubblers don't seem to put out enough bubbles at level 1. for a while I was confused if they even did anything at all, but eventually saw a bubble. the bubbles may fade out a bit early too. anyway, hope this is useful feedback. game was fun. oh, and the number controls take a bit of getting used to for purchasing, but it's much preferable to using the mouse. also, thanks for making both wasd and arrow keys work. i have a weird keyboard, so a lot of these games are hard to play without alternate mappings. nice job.

    DaveDobson says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 1:20pm

    Just an excellent game - tons of complexity, engaging gameplay, smooth operation and logical controls, plus all the upgrading! Man. Nice work.

    Per says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 9:11am

    This is my winner!
    Absolutely fantastic. Almost made me cry in the end :)
    Gameplay is great, some tweaking is necessary though such as the jump that is way to good at maximum upgrade.

    MrPhil says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 10:49pm

    One of my favorites.

    Sodaware says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 11:18pm

    I really wish this had sound or music, but other than that it's excellent. Great fun, a nice mechanic + upgrade systems, and even a nice (if a little sad) story.

    dcolgan says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 4:21am

    A true 5-star performance. One of the most fun games I've played yet. Awesome job.

    summaky says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 6:59am

    Great little game; it has everything: action, a bit of strategy, and upgrades!

    After a while the game stopped the display and I could see that it received input because the buttons to place towers would switch from on to off depending on what keys I pressed, but the canvas was frozen. I use Firefox, so it might be the cause...

    Will Edwards says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 9:23am

    Loved it! Really loved it!

    netguy204 says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 1:53pm

    Cute, addictive, entertaining. Loved it! The powerups and difficulty ramp really make the game stay fun over time too. Excellent work.

    Dr.Pingu says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    Nice work :)

    Daisuke909 says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 7:54pm

    Wow... that was amazing. Great job!

    KevinWorkman says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 11:06pm

    This is perfect. I want to give a more useful comment, but I don't think you should change a thing. Perfect score, except n/a audio.

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    Holy crap. With audio, this would be so perfect. It's already the most fun I've had with a Ludum Dare game in forever. Some rad music and sfx would put it over the top. Great, great, great, great, GREEEAAAT job!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]