Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 1 hour, 42 minutes, 9 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    A Drop of Water - canary40 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Pretty much the worst game ever, however--
    It holds a tiny surprise if you collect 6 green orb thingies.
    and, I learned a lot making this game!

    I used C++, SDL, and Opengl for the programming
    Gimp and PyxelEdit for the art (lol! what art!?)
    And Bfxr for the sound effects.

    I look forward to seeing the creations of others!

    https://github.com/dreamycactus
    Here's the code in case those links don't work!

    View canary40's journal. | View all entries by canary40

    Ratings

    Coolness64%
    #87Humor3.28
    #336Theme3.21
    #492Audio2.32
    #584Mood2.45
    #596Fun2.52
    #668Graphics2.42
    #715Innovation2.30
    #778Overall2.39

    Comments

    canary40 says ...
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 11:38pm

    Wow! Best game ever! 5/5

    canary40 says ...
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 11:46pm

    Oh, I found a tip: If you eat the green orbs, you can swim faster. So good!

    Darkfrost says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:12pm

    Nice :) Some more visible background-art might've been nice, but it was quite good fun :) Controlls worked well, although I couldn't get fast enough to get away from the big.. thing.
    :D Good work!

    R3ason says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:52pm

    Oh my various stars, that scared the crap out of me! :D Thanks!

    jwolf says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:08pm

    Hey now, don't be too hard on yourself. It may not be the fanciest thing ever, but you made good use of surprise. Good job!

    Spiridios says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:12pm

    The first time the devourer appears, you're pretty much dead since you weren't expecting it....Not sure if that's good or bad. =p

    Eating orbs to go faster was a nice touch. I managed to keep ahead of the devourer until I reached the edge of the world. I kept swimming, but with no more orbs I was easily turned into a tasty treat. Is there a way to win?

    One complaint is the use of "space" to both swim and to start a new game. You're madly swimming along for your very life but sadly you get eaten, then the title screen flashes on screen for a single frame and boom, you're in a new game. Using some other key, like enter, to start the game, would prevent this from happening.

    canary40 says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:33pm

    Haha, yeah there is no way to win really... congrats on evading the... thingy that far though!
    Using space to start was not a good idea- valid point. I also found that when I'm mashing space like crazy it's easy to restart without meaning to. Thanks for the reviews!

    Valeour says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:47pm

    There's a really good concept there, you should expand on it, it's pretty fun. Just don't like how slow turning is.

    someone says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:48pm

    Didn't work in wine, and your source link is broken.

    zdanielz says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    Good use of the theme! but not much gameplay.. :(

    scoopsy says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:37pm

    Can't play, I'm an Mac user. Sorry!

    Jeremias says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:44pm

    Made me laughing xD

    As you collect the 6 green orbs so the big enemy appears... that sound and thing and you think "WTF!?" :D nice suprise. Game is solid, graphics were okay. So just add some gameplay like different enemies and powerups... and slow down the "thing". Keep going!

    Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:45pm

    mmm - did lack in terms of gameplay. Just adding a 'score' for how long you evaded the evil glob would have given it some progression.

    On the other hand, it made me shout "No No NOO!" at my screen as the glob got close, so I guess I had fun XD.

    canary40 says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:23pm

    Hey sooo sorry about source. Should be fixed now!

    I used SDL and stuff so the code is mostly portable, but I don't have a Mac machine to compile on (and no experience!)

    I was like Nooo NOO nOO while playing too! Ha ha ha!

    Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:33pm

    As said previously, this has the potential of becoming a fun game, if you could actually escape the creature at the end and if maybe making the orbs give you a speed boost it could become interesting.

    But that you feel like you've learned a lot is really the main thing. Good work!

    LukeRissacher says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:01am

    Not bad :) I like the look of the creatures. And the deserty theme. And the unsanitary sounds.

    RHY3756547 says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:47pm

    hahaha that surprise was absolutely amazing 5/5 humor

    schizofunky says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    That was quite cool actually! I'm not quite sure what was chasing me at the end but i managed to outswim it for a few minutes lol!

    wademcgillis says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 3:03pm

    THE THINGY. AGH. I can't escape!

    A lot of people seem to be doing games like this.

    It would be nice if the game lasted longer than "Hey you grew! Time to die!"

    demonpants says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 6:05pm

    Hey buddeh, how about some Mac OS X?

    May 1, 2012 @ 8:30pm

    I like the concept, love to see it expanded. High marks for humor because of the ending. :)

    cltatman says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 10:56pm

    The glob-nomming was simple, but drifty and zen-ish, so still pleasant. :) I kept playing through to the end, hoping I could somehow evade/defeat the meat-demon and progress. No such luck!

    tfendall says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 12:30am

    Ha! Scared me a bit the first time. The controls seemed really sensitive to me, so it made it hard to collect enough green orbs, but it was fun. I definitely tried 5 or 6 times since it was so easy to retry.

    jrasmussen24 says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 1:24am

    Good thing my speakers were up for that... ಠ_ಠ. What a short, sad life that creature lives. Eat a couple green blobs; die.

    robcozzens says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 1:32am

    I would play it, but I'm on an iMac.

    Jeffalisk says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 4:36pm

    I laughed at the "ending" :D

    davidwparker says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 4:47pm

    Sorry, I couldn't play this as I don't have Windows.

    Akunate says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 12:36am

    Reminded me of the game Spore when you are still a microscopic organism. Which was my favorite part of the game. This game was just as fun.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]