Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 4 days, 17 hours, 53 minutes, 10 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 4 days, 17 hours, 53 minutes, 11 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Atomic Galaxy Factory - MrBarnslig - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Use strategy and resource management to build from quarks to atoms, atoms to cells, cells to...who knows how far you'll get? Combine units to defend against Dark Matter, and use your energy to purchase upgrades!

    INSTRUCTIONS are in the game.

    View MrBarnslig's journal. | View all entries by MrBarnslig

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #116Fun3.45
    #148Overall3.49
    #162Audio3.16
    #164Mood3.19
    #256Innovation3.30
    #294Theme3.29
    #456Graphics2.83
    #573Humor1.95

    Comments

    Oreganik says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:42am

    I got to the end of the universe! =) Kudos for making a game we can actually win. I established a bulkhead early, and quickly become interested in just how the upgrades would travel. Nice work!

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:54am

    Well done! I really enjoyed this.

    Congratulations on finishing LD23!

    johanp says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:00am

    Nice one! Got pretty far before dark matter out leveled me. Fun combination mechanics.

    MrBarnslig says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:21am

    Thanks! I went back and forth on how to tune the difficulty - when it gets more aggressive you can wait to get more Energy automatically and then invest in more Defense Upgrades.

    QAZWSX says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:39am

    I just played this for far too long; I've got other games to rate! Congratulations on making a nice game :)

    Rectifier says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:51am

    Good sound, and nice, sandboxy gameplay.

    If you have something selected to combine, then click it again (as I kept reflexively doing to deselect), it seems to vanish from existence forever. That was more than a little annoying.

    MrBarnslig says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:38pm

    Ack, that's one bug that must have fallen through the cracks. :-P

    Evil Cult says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:46pm

    [Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
    I've been pretty damn critical with my comments and ratings so keep that in mind when I say that this game was really fun and addictive. Simple concept but just made me want to keep on playing until I won (quite a while). Probably the only complaint I have is that there is no reset button so I can start the game afresh when I balls it up. Also I think there should be a more final sort of defeat. Other than that it was a great experience and very well balanced. Good work!

    Evil Cult says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:00am

    [Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
    Different guy here (to the above post). Also played it. Was a heap of fun. I got yelled at though for skipping straight from purely building level 1 energy generators to building a universe, seems that there needs to be something to balance against just flooding out cheap generators all over the map (and just taking the losses, because the massive income offsets that).

    uprightpath says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:49am

    Rather liked it! I mean, the music is rather catchy.

    However, I feel like it was missing a "Forty billion stars" reference.

    MrBarnslig says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:59am

    Thanks everyone! Wow, skipping from level 1 to a universe - nice! I hadn't thought of that. Would definitely be something to tune against if there was another version.

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:03pm

    Nice... but how do you skip the tutorial?

    MrBarnslig says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:50am

    No way to skip, sorry. I would have liked to make the tutorial more integrated into the game, but didnt have the time. Thanks for playing!

    caranha says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:01pm

    Very interesting action/puzzle game. It is interesting to try and slowly expand your little defended area of the galaxy while expanding your positives and negative forces.

    It would be really nice if the size of the cells expanded as their complexity did (so a city would be larger than an animal, an animal larger than a cell, etc). Not sure how well this could integrate with the game.

    Also, if you upgraded past the level of a item that you already had in the world, it would become impossible to get rid of it -- maybe add a "destruct" button?

    Thanks for the great game!

    Zillix says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:42am

    I had a lot of fun with this one. Nicely done!

    SusanTheCat says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:25am

    Awesome tutorial

    summaky says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:30pm

    I enjoyed this one and the tutorial was great. The music was also rather enjoyable.

    May 3, 2012 @ 6:13am

    A really fun and simple take on expansion and resource management. The mechanics seemed pretty well balanced.

    Kharza says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 6:28am

    This is like the perfect 48 hour game. Simple to get into, easy to fire up, easy to learn, fun. Just the right amount of ambition, not super crazy. High marks!

    pythong says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 10:57am

    i liked it. simple, easy to understand (though the intro was a bit long)

    madflame991 says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 7:50am

    Nice, one! played it for some time just to see whats next. The collision detection was a bit annoying - if anything got anywhere near my atoms/people/cities they would blow up :(
    The music was quite space themed.
    oh, and the tutorial was a nice addition... You don't see too many LD games with tutorials.

    schnerble says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 5:58pm

    Great work! There's a lot more depth there than I initially realised, and it's quite fun :) The only thing I could suggest is that it's reasonably easy once you figure it out, so it was pretty much a play through once kind of thing, but still - well rounded and polished.

    Cambrian_Man says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 6:10pm

    This is one of my favorite games so far. It's a bit like a combination between defense games and triple town. The balance feels a bit off because it's an LD game, but I found myself playing it for a lot longer than I had expected.

    vilya says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    On my first try I just got a blue screen, but reloading sorted it out. It's a very absorbing game, the pacing is just right. Maybe a little too easy, but very nice work all the same.

    robcozzens says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 1:12am

    I had no idea what was going on.

    May 7, 2012 @ 7:49pm

    This was fantastic. Really one of the best.

    Datw says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 4:14pm

    Fun game, but the interpretation was a bit overused (I used it too :/). Plus, the graphics/audio went really well together.

    Moth says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 11:08pm

    I thought this was fun and really interesting! The whole setup is quite interesting and I liked the feel of balancing defenses with generators. I managed to win on my first try! I turtled a bit, building up an empty box of defenses then filling it with generators.

    I thought this felt very nice and complete! If you ever added anything extra, I bet it would be pretty easy to design some fairly compelling online play :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]