Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 15 days, 16 hours, 44 minutes, 20 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Attack on the Planet XXS-01 - TenTonToon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    EDIT:
    Finally, after (as you may have guessed) 8 nights and 9 days of work, I hereby introduce you to the new version of "Attack On Planet XXS-01"

    The basic mechanics are in place: you control the turret with the mouse, right button shoots, left button places a satellite. The movement is somewhat smoother than before.
    If you press the Space key, an orbit will be drawn on screen. If you then place a satellite (while pressing the Space key), it will follow said orbit, instead of being stationary.

    There's a new HUD (there's "A" HUD, in fact XD). It shows:
    - Score
    - Energy
    - Highscore
    - Active weapon (bottom left of the screen)
    - Active satellite (bottom right of the screen)

    To change the type of satellite to use, just press the 'Q', 'W', 'E' and 'R' keys. The satellites are:
    - Type 1: shoots like a Boss
    - Type 2: tractor beam. Kinda weak, though - it only slows down the enemies
    - Type 3: repulse beam. Move them out of the way!
    - Type 4: energy sucker. Steal their energy to increase the turret's regeneration rate
    Placing a satellite sucks half of the available energy (50 units). And they regenerate their energy too, now.
    You can place up to 4 satellites on screen simultaneously. The only requirement is to have enough energy for its "teleportation"

    Two new types of enemies, that you will encounter from the 8th wave onwards:
    - Mine: slow and erratic movement, but smallish (hard to hit) and with quite a bang!
    - Mecha: enters an orbit around the planet and chases the player's position. It has a front shield that repels energy shots. And that's as much as I can tell :D

    The 'Ripple' gun (number 3) is weaker than before, but it has the ability to slightly push enemies back (depending on a variable 'weight' associated with each enemy type)

    There are some new graphical bells and whistles, of course. Like a nifty tiny life bar that shows you how your enemies are feeling.
    Oh! And there are some sounds! No music yet, though...
    The game can be completed successfully. But it won't be easy. Trust me on that one XD

    Please try this version out if you feel like the original Ludum Dare version had some potential. You'll see you were completely wrong! XD But, should you vote, please vote solely based on the original version!

    ORIGINAL POST:
    Please enjoy my first Ludum Dare game to date! :D

    Source code included with the .exe

    Enjoy, and thanks for your time!

    View TenTonToon's journal. | View all entries by TenTonToon

    Ratings

    Coolness81%
    #301Graphics3.15
    #413Theme3.07
    #632Humor1.84
    #677Audio1.74
    #757Mood2.09
    #795Fun2.02
    #815Overall2.27
    #830Innovation1.98

    Comments

    SBareS says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:50am

    I found it kind of frustrating, that the cannon keeps turning the wrong way round.

    De10ter says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:55am

    Hmm, I agree with SBareS, the turrent control was frustrating. Rather than turning the the direction that would be fastest it usually wanted to turn right regardless of how far that was.

    TenTonToon says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:17pm

    Yeah, sorry about that... :P Didn't get the time to fix that issue. The fact is, whenever the direction you're pointing jumps from 360 to 0, or viceversa, the turret moves to the very same direction. Instead, I should have made the movement relative to their positions: if the crosshair is to the left, turn to the left; if it's to the right, turn to the right. But it was already quite close to the deadline and looks like my brain wasn't up to the task anymore XD

    I'll fix that in a new, post-compo release, as I intended to finish this game.

    the8donut says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:03pm

    The game's a bit frustrating, controls are a bit weird (a bit buggy, I suspect). The graphics however are well done. Especially the background.

    Toast says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:32pm

    Nice idea, if a little a safe. Strange controls.

    orgarus says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:42pm

    I specially like the graphics, the main screen, the background (How did you draw it?)and the turret ring are awesome. It's true that the control of the turret is a bit difficult but nothing that an hour or two of bug hunting can't fix.
    I think that is cool the way you use to put the satellites, it's a very good idea.
    Keep up the good work!
    Congratulations!

    TenTonToon says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:24pm

    @the8donut: it is actually quite frustrating, partially because of the turret's problem, but there's also a lot of tweaking that didn't got done. I think I'll have an updated version within the next couple of days. If RL allows me to, that is :P

    @Toast: it was the smallest project I came up with, although I'm planning to build some of the other ideas I had. Also, the control is meant to feel detached, indirect. Thus, whenever the pacing is right, the game should feel as strategic (hence the inclusion of the satellites) as twitch-based

    @orgarus: Thanks, man!! :D I did that background in Photoshop: a gradient, a couple textured brushes, and definitely too much time looking for the right feeling! :P I'm hoping I'll be able to crush those pesky bugs and post the link to the updated version ASAP. Thanks for the understanding!!

    LukeRissacher says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:24am

    Cool - ditto what others said on the graphics, nice work there. I took a lot of hits early on and then all the asteroids and UFOs stopped coming. Delayed-aim concept is actually kinda neat.

    (btw, TenTonToon, I left a comment for you on that Microbial game page)

    TenTonToon says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:32pm

    @LukeRissacher: thanks for your kind comments :) I'll go check out the Microbial game page.

    vigrid says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:16pm

    Pretty hard to control.

    devwil says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    ***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

    When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

    Please consider making a browser game next time.

    madflame991 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:26am

    The controls are fine if you avoid that specific angle.

    Vic says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:36am

    Man, this game is hard! I like the concept, and it is a fun little game. Just needs some control tweaks.

    TenTonToon says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:43pm

    @vigrid: yeah, sorry about that! :( The turret driver has already been fired. Literally. Out of the turret. New guy is doing quite better, really! I guess he's feeling enthusiastic about not being "fired" :D
    @madflame991: The other way is to simply avoid the game altogether! XD
    @Vic: I thought the same about your game. The "only" difference is that yours is a damn amazing piece of work, and mine is barely a game at all! :D

    Thanks for giving it a try, guys! And just so you know, I already fixed that damned control problem. Now is time to balance the gameplay and I guess it'll get closer to a real game.

    Please, stay tuned! :)

    Gabriel says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:22pm

    I like it! I mean, you clearly state in the readme file that it is unfinished, and in a funny way (got lots of humor points for that!). Other than that, there's all the feedback that is a direct consequence of the game not being finished in time, I obviously don't need to tell you that. But hey, finish it, why not? ;)
    Cheers

    DaveDobson says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    This was fun, although only half-baked. The turret rotation issue was a little frustrating, as was the slow speed that the turret moved relative to the rocks. I missed the different shot types and the satellites completely until I read the Readme - there's a lot of well-hidden complexity there, and I think you'd get better ratings if that were more obvious. Your Readme was really funny, too. A fun one - good work. Could be great with more testing and revision.

    TenTonToon says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:44pm

    @Gabriel: I completely agree. But be it as it may, I feel like developing this idea's potential, whatever it is, and I must say it's already come a long way from the LD build
    @DaveDobson: half-baked?? Well that's being quite generous, kind sir! :D I'm glad you found out about the rest of the gameplay that lurks beneath the surface; I think it will eventually turn out to be a fine little game. Also, I'm thinking about awarding you with a trophy for probably being the only one person that bothered to open the readme file! :D

    Once again, thank you very much for playing, everyone! :)

    AirRider3 says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:05pm

    No web/Mac version?

    Raptor85 says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:43pm

    ran ok under WINE on linux but no sound so i can only do a partial review :/
    Controls were kinda frustrating but there was actually a little more to the game mechanic in this one that most of the other "planet defense" type games this LD

    Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:48pm

    Very hard, your turret moves slowly and enemies just keeps coming from every direction, good idea but needs a bit polish.

    uprightpath says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:24pm

    Very difficult, especially with the turning speed of the gun and the fact that collisions with it breaks it. Heh.

    xBlinkedx says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:19am

    Not bad, the cannon movement delay was kind of annoying. It could have been a lot better with more responsive controls.

    TenTonToon says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:31am

    @AirRider3: sorry about that. I'll have a web version, playable at YoYoGames, for the next release. Expect it within the next days.
    @Raptor85: no sound?? How can that be?? [maybe it has something to do with my not adding any sound to it XD] Thanks for trying it on Linux, and I agree with you: there definitely is something more to its game mechanic - a whole bunch of problems! :D Problems that have already been fixed, luckily. Stay tuned!
    @AdventureIsland: nobody said joining the military would be an easy life, son! :D The turret's speed has been improved on the new version, but the real problems are both the speed of the enemies, and the overall pace of the game. Pretty much fixed, too.
    @uprightpath: you should take better care of your turret, mate! You take care of it, and it will take care of you :)
    @xBlinkedx: you'll soon be able to test that theory. Affirmatively, I hope :)

    Thanks everyone for trying this game and leaving a comment! They've been really helpful so far!

    j_peeba says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:45am

    The game is in a kind of a rough shape now but shows promise. With just a few small tweaks it could turn out to be a lot of fun!

    TenTonToon says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:27am

    @j_peeba: Thanks! If by "just a few small tweaks" you mean "remake 90% of that crap", then we agree! XD

    Thanks for playing it and posting a comment! :D

    summaky says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:31pm

    The biggest problem in this game are the controls, as other have said. Also, I hate the delay when I am hit. I know it is intentional, but could be a little shorter, I think.

    The graphics where well done and was fun.

    artefon says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:02am

    Couldn't play on wine (linux).

    eli says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:18pm

    love those graphics!

    TenTonToon says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:59am

    @summaky: true enough. As for the turret's freezing, it's an important part of the game's balance, as much off as it is right now. Getting hit by bullets or ships is not a part of the losing condition, so there must be a penalty associated in order to turn it into a valid mechanic: should I take / can I take the bullet? Otherwise, you could just stop every attack with a headbutt. The real problem lies in the pacing of the game. Now it's much more playable. Which wasn't too hard to achieve, comparatively :D
    @artefon: I'm sorry to hear that. I haven't been able to test it myself, but Raptor85 posted that he could actually play it using wine. Thanks for trying, though!
    @eli: so my plan did work - they managed to distract you from the putrid gameplay! :D

    Thanks for playing it, guys! Or, at least, for trying! :)

    RHY3756547 says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:59pm

    Rotating towards the mouse is weird, it turns the full 360 if the direction switches at the 0 point. You should modulate the difference in direction to overcome that.

    TenTonToon says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:48pm

    @RHY3756547: that problem's already solved. Luckily. Thanks for the nice pointer, anyway! :D

    On wednesday I'll have been working on the new version of the game for one week. Hopefully, I'll be able to release something on that very same day.

    Stay tuned - those of you who haven't run for dear life already, that is! :)

    deejorg says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 2:09pm

    The controls were kind of flunky and at some point i could only shoot after my first shot left the screen which was kind of frustrating :(

    TenTonToon says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 5:53pm

    @deejorg: the controls are a lot funky, indeed! XD The problem you had with the shooting is one caused by your generosity: you shot too much and the turret ran out of energy. Check the energy bar on the funky HUD at the top right corner of the screen! ;)

    Thank for playing this admitedly f(l)unky entry!

    May 6, 2012 @ 6:28pm

    I can't play your game because I don't have Windows. Perhaps another member of my team will find and rate your game.

    jmaasing says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 7:42pm

    Sorry, couldn't judge since I don't have windows.

    asfdfdfd says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 9:02pm

    Fun but i need more energy :)

    ericdpitts says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 9:53pm

    Great job! I had fun with this one. One problem I had was that I would get a "get ready" message that would freeze me for a few seconds (as if it were the end of a level or something), but the enemies would keep coming. I don't know if this is because I got hit too many times, or if it is just the end of a level? I would have liked to hear some sound and music, but it was pretty fun regardless!

    TenTonToon says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 5:21am

    @Evil Sandwich Studios: you don't have Windows? No doubt you're an Evil Sandwich! ;)
    @jmaasing: another Window-less person? Guys, you need to let some sunlight into your lifes! :D
    @asfdfdfd: thanks! If you email me your address, I'll send you a box of Redbull!
    @ericdpitts: thank you! The "Get Ready" message was supposed to mark the end of an enemy wave, but it turned out as just another rock thrown at the already suffering player :P I got rid of that mechanic in the post-compo version, and buried its body in a nameless (space) grave. If you try it out, you'll see how smoooooth the experience is now! ;)

    Thanks for playing the game, or trying to from your windowless homes, fellas! :D I really appreciate it!

    robcozzens says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 4:46am

    I would try it if you had a Web or OSX version.

    May 11, 2012 @ 11:29am

    Thanks for the comments in our game.
    Your game is kinda hard to play, the controls are not very responsive, but the satellite idea was pretty cool!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]