Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 13 hours, 29 minutes, 7 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Big Atoms - Alink - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Move your molecule to collect all the golden atoms. Use ARROWS keys (WASD is broken). You have a lot of inertia, use it to push the others in the way. If you did something wrong, press 'SPACE' to retry.

    There is only a few levels, plus a secret (impossible) one.

    A complicated level editor is included, 'Enter' to open it and test changes.
    Edit atoms: click, mousewheel, keypad 1-4, delete, insert(copy), h(lower)
    Edit Molecules: pgup/pgdown, g(select). Black/negative number means fixed. 0 is player.

    View Alink's journal. | View all entries by Alink

    Ratings

    #121Theme3.65
    #332Innovation3.15
    #387Graphics2.96
    #416Fun2.85
    #446Overall2.93
    #609Mood2.40
    #651Coolness48%
    #677Audio1.74
    #701Humor1.67

    Comments

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:22am

    Nice concept, love how it looks. The controls are a bit tricky and it could just be me, but they felt a bit unresponsive. I'd ideally like them to feel a bit more fluid and (because I love my shinies) I'd like some effects when I collect atoms and when I collide with them. It's impressive that you came up with this AND and editor in the short time. Cheers!

    Dr. Mo says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:39am

    That was pretty good! It'd be nice if my molecule could rotate itself with the Q and E keys or something. Also, the fourth level is clearly broken :)

    Lidfrid says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:18am

    i can't go over the first obstacle :(

    derosa says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:20am

    I thought about this same concept initially! Finally went to another one :) The controls are a bit unresponsible, like lagged, but overall a nice entry. Congrats!

    Mago says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:20am

    I dont know why but while playing WSAD W key doesn't work, Arrows work OK.
    Cool game, impressive that you managed to create map editor.

    Alink says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:11pm

    Thanks.
    About the controls, you have a lot of inertia (which can also be useful to hit stuff harder), but it seems to be perceived as unresponsiveness. And, of course, going up is even slower.

    @Dr. Mo:
    I tried that, but it required a lot of the coordination to really use it.

    @Lidfrid:
    Try arrows keys, Mago says that the 'w' key is broken for him.

    @Mago:
    Yeah, I probably used the wrong keyboard layout (AZERTY). Thanks for reporting that.

    edg3 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:25pm

    I liked the idea a lot, and the implementation was sound. I didnt take a look at the editor, but Im sure it must be rather fascinating. All in all, a good job.

    zkenshin says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:54pm

    Nice concept/idea, but found the execution lacking just a little bit. Nice graphics and stuff though.

    MarekkPie says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:21pm

    Controls a little too heavy to be great.

    Hazard says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:41pm

    Very nice idea. :)

    Alink says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:56pm

    I just documented a method to tweak your power using the editor (see above) :)

    Nocturne says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:12pm

    An okay game... The graphics are good enough and the gameplay is sufficient to make you want to finish each of the levels too. Extra kudos for the level editor!

    ratboy2713 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:19pm

    Ideally I would like to see a control to rotate, I spent most of my time hitting the wall to rotate to the correct position. A nice idea, speed up gameplay a bit and I could see this as a motion controlled iphone game.

    nornagon says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:08am

    Neat idea, really felt like I was a molecule floating through space :) Some of the levels are broken though (I couldn't finish the second level because one of the yellow things was blocked behind a blue thing). Would have been nice to see some inter-particle forces as well as gravity.

    Alink says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:32am

    @norganan or others stuck in the second level. Don't forget to hit 'space' to retry a level. Maybe you will notice what you did wrong.

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:08pm

    Looks cool... but hard to play. Challenge is one thing, but this is just frustrating. Good basis to create something fun from, though.

    firstrowgames says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:45am

    fun game :)

    bms says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:09pm

    Good job! really original concept and fun little physics game :D
    The only prolem I had was; the molecule we control is a bit slow.. and also the background is black, I recommend using a different color like dark grey or dark blue instead of black. I know it sounds stupid but it really makes a difference in my opinion :D

    Daisuke909 says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:11pm

    This does a great job getting it across that you're looking at something heavily magnified. The physics are nice too. That being said, the controls are a little clunky.

    otaviogood says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:28pm

    Fun. Got frustrated though when I realized I had to start over at the beginning to get the last ball which was stuck. Good concept though.

    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:29pm

    Nice physics! The second level's damn near impossible, but I had a lot of fun wedging things out on the first! Some background music would have helped with the mood, too.

    Mach60KAS says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:31pm

    Quite a good LD entry, I had a bit of fun playing this. I felt trying to move some of the molecules was harder than it needed to be at times, but otherwise the controls were very nice.

    Will Edwards says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 8:05am

    Excellent! The inertia feels completely natural; not unresponsive at all, if you understand the whole point.

    Level 2 was hardest.

    Endurion says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 8:19am

    Neat!
    The second stage is nasty, if you do not try to catch some of the falling golden atoms the stage gets impossible.
    Add controls to rotate the atom by itself, otherwise some passages are too tight.
    The one sound scared me!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]