Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 73 days, 14 hours, 41 minutes, 9 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Boxed in. - PIXEL^3 - Jam Entry

    This game is a fairly simple puzzle game with a unique way of playing.
    The players are small people in a box being held by a larger person. You must use both WASD and arrow keys to free the players from the box.
    Use arrow keys to move player(s)
    Hold W and S to lower or raise gravity, respectively.
    Hold A or D to tile the box.

    12 days left and we have received quite a few positive reviews, and since it was fun making this game, we may as well keep adding to it in the future. Thanks for the ratings guys :3

    Also, for optimal performance, do NOT use IE, instead use Firefox, Chrome, Safari, etc.
    (for the unenlightened IE = Internet Explorer)

    View PIXEL^3's journal. | View all entries by PIXEL^3

    Ratings

    Coolness72%
    #5Overall(Jam)4.10
    #7Innovation(Jam)4.10
    #10Theme(Jam)3.95
    #13Fun(Jam)3.78
    #52Mood(Jam)3.37
    #54Audio(Jam)3.46
    #82Humor(Jam)2.73
    #100Graphics(Jam)3.50

    Comments

    0xdeadbeef says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:52am

    Very fun! I really liked the cool gravity mechanics, as well as the multiple people levels!

    Only had time for a few levels, though, will definitely play more!

    Tinco says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:03pm

    Best game I played so far! Great challenging puzzles, great explanations! Great art, great sound.

    LeReveur says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:11pm

    Clever, fun, easy to understand and original concept.
    Well done, and thank you for this game. :)

    Killswitch says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:27pm

    Great game! The ability to rotate the screen and the gravity is something unique. It was fun and challenging, you have to be strategic to complete all of them. It suits the theme well because the players are small people inside a box.

    R3ason says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:38am

    Oooh, this was fun! Great levels, great puzzles, overall a really polished entry; congrats! Thanks!

    tacograveyard says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:38am

    Really cool. Bookmarked so I can come back and play more later. Great entry!

    MarekkPie says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:45am

    Fantastic. Only complaint is the missile turrets sometimes aren't looking at you when firing.

    Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:04pm

    Lovely little game! Took a bit of practice to get used to the controls, but I liked the mechanic.

    davidllanos22 says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:20am

    Loved this one! Well done! Very funny :)

    CappaGames says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:14am

    Missile turrets need to be tweaked a bit, so they will shoot open the blocks. Sometimes they won't shoot even if your close as you can be. Other than that, its a pretty fun game.

    gregdevice says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:09am

    I like the way the game board tilts! Levels are fun, some are way easy and some are crazy hard. Well, I guess it keeps you coming back. Nice Job!

    RHY3756547 says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:53pm

    This one's really clever. Awesome work!

    Cake&Code says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:20pm

    Wow! That was an awesome game! Fun level mechanics, solid controls, and good level design. I felt like I learned the different mechanics at a good pace and then applied them and combined them in really fun ways. Great job, seriously.

    Evil Cult says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:00am

    [Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
    Really wanted to get through to the end of this game as I found it very enjoyable. The mechanics took a bit of getting used to but are very unique and creative and a lot of fun. A couple of graphic bugs in places but one of my favourite games so far! I saw the kittens :D

    summaky says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:21am

    Very creative interpretation of the theme! The music is also great and I noticed that each time I had to restart the player was different, which is cool. I had more trouble with the levels where I had to control multiple people, but I think this is a clever idea.

    Oye Beto says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:50am

    My computer won't let me press 3 keys at a time, making the 2nd level impossible to pass. I'm trying to run, jump and tilt the screen at the same time.
    I'll come back another day and try it with another computer.

    castor says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    Sadly couldn't play properly due to keyboard restrictions but the game looks really good.

    Gornova says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:13pm

    amazing a great game! you need to work on level design, in particular on first levels (to catch newbie) and could be a great game

    Nolan C says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:14pm

    This is awesome. Best game in the Jam I think.

    derosa says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:30pm

    Very challenging and very well done. Loved it! Thanks!

    DainVadda says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    Wow, so many gameplay elements and jet such a polished and fun game. Great!

    Make A Game says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 1:09am

    I liked the out of the box mechanics ;-). The background tune and art provide for a neat look and feel. Congratulations!

    PIXEL^3 says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 3:51am

    @Make A Game
    nice pun you have there.

    marudziik says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 8:40pm

    Very good, fun gameplay. Very challenging, though - but I liked it, especially the tilting mechanic, as well as the music. Awesome.

    Robert Swan says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 10:19am

    Excellent game. Not just because of it's polish but because the game has given rise to puzzles that show the designer's brain trying to tease the gameplayer's brain fairly :) I like that sort of stuff!

    asfdfdfd says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 2:36pm

    Looks good and idea is interesting =3

    May 8, 2012 @ 3:34pm

    Well done game. I's fun and cool mechanics. On a smartphone it should be easier to play.

    johanp says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 9:56am

    Very fun little game! I like how my brain always chooses the wrong buttons when it really counts. :)

    barigorokarl says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 10:07am

    Wow, hard one, I got stuck in the second level and ragequit ;-) But to be fair, theres a lot of potential here! Nice one!

    Keirua says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 12:04pm

    Really great !
    The game's mechanics are really great, and the polish is great.
    There is something weird with the rockets though; they seem to turn for no reason (maybe that's normal) but they can shoot at the player even though they are not aiming at it.

    Really good !!!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]