Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 23 hours, 40 minutes, 58 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Kao - NebulaOrbit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Kao, a lone traveling character, now stranded in a snowy world.

    View NebulaOrbit's journal. | View all entries by NebulaOrbit

    Ratings

    #210Graphics3.39
    #492Mood2.60
    #599Audio2.00
    #628Overall2.67
    #638Theme2.59
    #677Innovation2.41
    #789Fun2.06
    #874Coolness32%

    Comments

    NebulaOrbit says ...
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 10:02pm

    This game has little content, but it's well hidden. You might have to try some stuff before getting how to do things.

    NebulaOrbit says ...
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 10:03pm

    Also, if I'm ever going to make a sequell, or continue this, I'll let you know.

    metalmichael says ...
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 10:48pm

    Content isn't all that important. Refining what you have first, such as a better movement and attacking. By time you stand next to the enemy and try to kill them, they already "lock on" and start attacking. I lose half my health just trying to kill an enemy.

    NebulaOrbit says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:25pm

    Thanks for the feedback, I'll try to keep that in mind next time!

    Argadonian says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:04pm

    Pretty good graphics, nice sound effects, but pretty mediocre attacking and like you said not a lot of content.

    Evil Cult says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:05am

    Not really sure what you were aiming for here but it has a load of potential. I love the setting and I think it could be pretty awesome with a bit more work. As others have said I feel the combat is a bit lacking. It is possible to attack stuff without it hitting you if you play it right but it still feels clunky. I like that you can gather wood and was hoping to find some sort of use for it that I could not. Placing it down as a barrier would have been an awesome idea except I couldn't shoot out from behind it so it became fairly useless there. The graphics are quite charming and I love the snow, but the audio is a little annoying. Good work for the time limit though and I hope you expand upon this game!

    Ranoka says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:24pm

    Shame you didn't get to finish this, I like the graphics and setting. It's not really clear what I'm supposed to do. Also how do I get health back? Combat is very hard because I seem to die. The game should probably go to the title screen instead of exiting to desktop. How do you make the hut in the screenshot? Are you going to carry on working on this?

    jrasmussen24 says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 5:05am

    I am having the same issues as Ranoka-- I seem to die inexplicably. However, the setting and art is great. Really like the feel of the game.

    Yapikom says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 8:20am

    Didn't like the exit to desktop on death and the fact that I couldn't hit enemies without getting hit myself. Correct me if I've missed something. I have nothing against hard games, but dieing to more or less the first enemy because you can't avoid them isn't the right kind of hardness. It's a pity since I see great potential in it. Please make a full game of it. :)

    robcozzens says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 8:43am

    Instead of 'Link' you should label it 'Windows' or 'Exe'... couldn't play but downloaded and uncompressed.

    jmaasing says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 11:34am

    Sorry, can't rate since I'm on a Mac and please indicate it is windows only on the link.

    Dr.Pingu says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 11:49am

    The graphics hurts a little my eyes and as it is already noticed above : there is a lack of content.

    Concepts are well executed and your univers works fine : good job :)

    DaveDobson says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 12:51pm

    I liked this setting and idea, and the graphics were neat. The gameplay was frustrating; the combat seemed way, way too hard, as it was very difficult to kill enemies without taking lots of damage. Even when I had success, it seemed random, and unresponsiveness of the controls was frustrating. But I think it could be very cool; changing the range of the attack to just slightly more would have been a good step for me. Nice work!

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 8:42pm

    The art's pretty cool, but I really had no clue what to do. I chopped some wood down, fought an enemy, lost most of my health, and just started wandering around trying to find out what to do.

    Oye Beto says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 1:49am

    I froze the water but I couldn't kill the yeti :(

    I liked the graphics and the idea but I think it needs some improvements:

    - I'd change the attack frequency and maybe the range... or maybe there was a power up I didn't find :o
    - You could add some music later.
    - Specify a goal.
    - Snails should give snow more frequently and maybe drop hp potions.

    Nice start, keep working on it :D

    NebulaOrbit says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    It's nice to hear that people think the setting and graphics are ok. As for the combat and complexity; that was fully expirimental on my side. I'm happy to hear this has potential, and if I'm less busy with school, I will definetly try to publish a newer version, with ingame instructions and better combat. As for the content most of you didn't seem to be able to reach, I think it's safe for me now to spoil since there's only 12 hours left.

    The water can be frozen with snowballs dropped randomly by slimes.
    The yeti can be killed by looking where he's going to throw a rock and dodge it. He has 20 hp or something and snowballs do 2 damage instead fo the 1 melee damage.
    As for the people who seem to die: you can build the hut from the picture by placing 4 trunks of wood in a 2x2 square, go inside, and save your progress at the rose.

    The hut and the yeti however contain a few bugs and glitches.

    JellyFame says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 3:44pm

    Unfortunately cannot play, don't have access to windows box.
    HTML5 :)

    kddekadenz says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 5:14pm

    didn't work on Linux using Wine

    JellyFame says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 6:50pm

    don't have windows

    firstrowgames says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 11:47pm

    cool game reminded me of an old star wars game i played when i was younger

    NebulaOrbit says ...
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 4:55pm

    I got myself a blog!

    nebulaorbit.tumblr.com

    I'm dumping this post here because I'm going on a vacation and so far I haven't mentioned anyone this blog. I hope it gets some popularity while I'm gone.

    - Nebula

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]