Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 11 hours, 48 minutes, 33 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    TINY LIZARD SWELL WORLD - racarate - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    wasd moves lizard

    View racarate's journal. | View all entries by racarate

    Ratings

    Coolness87%
    #269Audio2.88
    #710Graphics2.33
    #710Humor1.63
    #737Theme2.36
    #741Mood2.15
    #779Innovation2.11
    #888Overall1.76
    #897Fun1.32

    Comments

    RandomOutput says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:17am

    Not sure how to run a .love file.

    LukeRissacher says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:24am

    There was no lizard to move - so looks like the game doesn't work? I like the music and the effects around the borders, but that's about all I can say about it.

    racarate says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:11am

    @LukeRissacher the lizard is tiny

    Flyboy says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:39am

    I can't be bothered running a .love file. Please make the Windows version an .exe.

    zecmo says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:14pm

    this game is amazing.

    Seppi says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:34pm

    I am a pixel big, what am I supposed to do other than that?

    It looks rather nice, but I don't understand what I'm supposed to do here.

    @Flyboy love2d.org

    invaderJim says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:59pm

    That is a small lizard.

    aaronsnoswell says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:26pm

    Not quite sure what to make of this - perhaps post some more instructions on this page? I tried mashing the keyboard but nothing seemed to happen. The day night cycle is cool :)

    Raptor85 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:22pm

    I couldn't find a lizard anywhere onscreen, I'm pretty good at "where's waldo" but mashing the move keys i'm positive nothing was moving. At one point to a bunch of people ran in from the sides and into the buildings....no idea what was going on.

    VDOgamez says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:22pm

    The tiny lizard is moving around but it doesn't seem to do anything. Little things sometimes try to follow it but disappear. Are there any instructions?

    Ace says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:38pm

    The pixel sized lizard was really easy to lose track of, perhaps making it a bit bigger might help.
    Also, while the graphics were really nice I still have no idea what is supposed to be done.

    devwil says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:14pm

    ***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

    When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

    Please consider making a browser game next time.

    cjke.7777 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:57am

    I second what @devwill is saying. Although there are no rules to stop you doing non-browser games, it really makes it a lot more effort to review

    JustinMullin says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:00am

    Looks cool and different. I'm not sure if this is just supposed to be an "experience", or if there's something to do. I AM sure, however, that that is the tiniest lizard I ever done saw.

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:19am

    I'm also somewhat at a loss what to do in terms of the gameplay, but the visuals and audio are both pretty interesting and unique.

    namuol says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:41am

    I found the lizard. Curious what's going on, though. Regardless, it's surreal. :)

    Nice music.
    And I like the subtle effects on the grid/ground.

    gavin5564 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:58am

    Very very strange.. Good work on the music. The border was a cool effect.

    graytest says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:51pm

    Took me a while to find the tiny lizard (sure is tiny) but even then I couldn't figure out what to do..

    Nanofus says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:44pm

    I really like the graphics, and the sounds are nice, but I didn't notice the lizard at first. A great game, though.

    demonpants says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:15pm

    There's like a red thing, it moves for 3 seconds, and then I lose? Restarted 4 times thinking maybe I couldn't figure it out... But it's broken.

    Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:40pm

    You get 5 for the music! Wow...nice style.

    whitebird says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:31pm

    Even though the instructions weren't clear, I'll rate it mainly on graphics and music.

    The day-night cycle was really well done, really liked it.
    The music is repetetitive, but soothing.
    Graphics are simple and clean, as they should be!

    dansludumdare says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:10pm

    Missing OpenAL32.dll on Windows distributable.

    derosa says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:59pm

    Some instructions on what to do would be great...

    Jim Haslett says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:04am

    I "played" the game, in that I tried to do something to interact with it, but nothing happened. I tried several times with the same result. Not sure what I was supposed to be doing.

    wademcgillis says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:05am

    I honestly have no idea what's going on.

    Sorry.

    crazyheckman says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:06am

    Instructions would be grand. I was able to move a little peg for a while but then it ignored my instructions and ran into a thing. All of that aside, the game looks and sounds pretty cool.

    lorancou says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:06am

    An experience, indeed.

    jwolf says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:08am

    It runs, but I can't even see the lizard, even while trying to move it around (beware low colour contrast). Presumably the game is incomplete? It's a good start, nonetheless.

    Several says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:07am

    Amid scores of partial entries, it seemed perfectly reasonable to dismiss this as a broken demo after I mashed wasd a bit and observed no discernible reaction.

    After reading the comments, I decided to take another go. It was amusing for a bit trying to figure out what was going on, in a sort of cactusquid way, but the interactions that I discovered were too irritating to pursue, and soon the app hung long enough to warrant a force-quit.

    If anyone else enjoys these sorts of puzzles, it looks like the ruddy stub things move to different grid-structures at different times and disappear. You can (sometimes?) lure them out if you're standing in the right spot nearby, and the stubs will follow you as long as they're red on top. If you stand in the right spot in relation to the stubs, there will be a bit of pixel noise in a circular area around them, and they'll be content staying there forever. If you're out of that zone for too long, they'll lose the red and wander off, either back to their grid structure of choice, or to a random spot away from a grid structure for a while, before holing up in a structure again. Is there any reward to commanding as many of these stubs as possible? or leading them anywhere? I'm not curious enough to bother. But I appreciate that things emerge as symbols, and the symbols lead my imagination to interesting places. Kudos to racarate on that.

    (One more note: If you stand still for long enough, the gridlines around you will flash pink in a circular region. If nothing else, this can be helpful for locating the lizard, as the pixel is often completely invisible on my monitor.)

    icefallgames says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:34am

    I can't see any lizard... nothing is moving. Though the music is nice and the shimmering around the screen's edges is nice.

    scgrn says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:44am

    Looks and sounds nice, but I'm kinda jealous of all the people that were able to spot their pixel lizards. I'm not one of them.

    xBlinkedx says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:48am

    A few things... First, instructions would help. Second, I have no idea what's happening, but third... I do really like the graphics style and sound in this game.

    vrld says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:06pm

    It's certainly ... interesting. I noticed there is something happening when I bring two people together. Not sure what with the time at the bottom though. The music goes well with the graphics. As the others already said, it would be nice if the lizard was bigger. I often totally lost it on the screen.

    caranha says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:40pm

    The music is very nice, but I can't see the lizard. Pressing WASD doesn't seem to do anything.

    SFX says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:39pm

    You should have at least given some indication as to where the lizard was at the beginning of the game.

    Vilborg says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:47pm

    Yeah, I can't find the lizard.

    Jedi says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:16am

    Step 1: Install latest Love2D.
    Step 2: Extract .exe.
    Step 3: Find Lizard.lua and change lizard's color to be white
    Step 4: Realize this isn't what I want to be doing with my life :(

    Well, I really, really don't understand the point of making your character a pixel. Less of making it a pixel that blends into the background (I'm not exaggerating; the lizard has an alpha value!). Maybe you can see it easier than your players. Did you perhaps develop this on a netbook?

    Note to self: NEVER vote up "Tiny character" as a theme.

    After Several's excellent review, I was DETERMINED to make sense of the game. I usually can when everyone else has given up. However, even after making my lizard visible and peeking at the source, I just can't get it. It seems like the point is to meet the humans up but there just isn't enough feedback into any part of the process and you can never tell if your making progress or if the game has restarted or if something else happened altogether.

    It's frustrating because I can't help but sense that there's a really innovative game here, if it was understandable. I could keep poring over the source until I get it but at some point I gotta cut my losses and move on :(.

    The music is great and I liked the clouds and edge effects. Somehow, the mood reminded me of feudal Japan.

    Pitoum says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:50pm

    Hard to understand !
    But love the graphics and music !

    R3ason says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:53am

    Oh my various stars that is one *TINY* lizard! D: To be quit honest, I have no idea what's going on in this game! However, it looks quite clever and devious! Will no doubt come back to it later on if I have time. NOTE: the lizard was really hard to see! Especially if you're slightly colour deficient! Thanks for sharing your game!

    Patacorow says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 9:08am

    Okay here's what I figured out...
    You're a pixel. This is what the developer calls a lizard.
    Just stick to one of the corners and then move from there to find your lizard.
    When you move close to... red blocks, or people, they partially glow and chase you for some undetermined time, I'm not sure if it depends on something. When two people that are chasing you collide, it makes some chiming sounds.

    That's all I could really figure out. I really don't like how you just left the game here and let us figure everything, and I simply can't appreciate this game.

    MrPhil says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 5:38pm

    I assume you didn't have time to fix some sort of start up bug. Music wasn't bad.

    Cambrian_Man says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 5:56pm

    I thought I could see the lizard, but it turned out to be some dirt on my monitor.

    Jezzamon says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 4:53am

    Hey, I'd recommend renaming the download file to something other than Love... just so I can remember which game is which.

    The game looks kinda cool, but I can't figure out what to do. Also, the main character is WAY too small, and not nearly contrasting enough from the rest of the ground to be able to see at all, really, so unfortunately that made this game unplayable really.

    azurenimbus says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 9:18pm

    And I thought I was pushing the limit with MY game! You, sir, have some balls. In inverse proportion to the size of that damn lizard :D

    JellyFame says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 3:22pm

    Good music, cannot locate lizard :(

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]