Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 75 days, 14 hours, 55 minutes, 32 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Spitoon - Sestren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is my first Ludum Dare competition. For my first attempt, I'm just glad I finished something. The game is full of minor and moderate bugs, and the game is far too short (7 levels in all). That said, I had a blast participating and it was quite a learning experience.

    The game is based around spitting out one of three colored blobs of which the main character is composed. Your size is dependent on how many blobs you possess, and you'll need to be very small to fit through some of the narrow passageways. In levels with pressure plates, the Exit sign won't light up until all of them have been triggered by one of your spitballs landing on them.

    View Sestren's journal. | View all entries by Sestren

    Ratings

    Coolness98%
    #23Innovation4.15
    #204Overall3.37
    #226Fun3.19
    #356Humor2.37
    #403Graphics2.94
    #541Mood2.51
    #718Theme2.43
    #731Audio1.33

    Comments

    orgarus says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:33pm

    When I read Spitoon I said "This is for me!" :)
    Let me tell you despite the bugs, I think that you have an awesome idea (but I don't know exactly what the colors of the player means) and with some improvements you have an excellent game (now is a "very good" game :) ). I like so much the fact that you have to void your self to go on the way.
    First game + 48 hours = thumbs up!

    uberneen says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:22am

    The gameplay mechanics are new and interesting and it's visually appealing. You did a great job, all that's missing is 'ptooi' sounds and the like.

    kroltan says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:25am

    I really like the concept! You deserve all the stars!
    P5 I5 F4 T4 G3 A- H- M2

    Sodaware says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:16am

    Really cool concept! The only suggestion would be to display the key codes for spitting colours at all times. I forgot which button did which at times and had to spit things at the wall to figure it out. Apart from that I thought it was a really original concept that has a lot of potential.

    Peter Cooper says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:16am

    Clever idea and a slick implementation. Expect to see this on a Flash game site near us soon! :-)

    paslam says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:25am

    Very nice concept. I liked this game. A very good puzzle game it is!

    Cake&Code says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:45am

    Cute game! I like the idea of spitting to shrink. It adds a whole new level of creativity on how to solve these puzzles.

    Sestren says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:48am

    Thank you guys so much for all the feedback! I'm relatively new to this site, and I can already tell this is a wonderful community to be a part of. Ludum Dare all the way! :D

    bburbank says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    cool mechanic!

    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:21pm

    Really interesting concept =)

    Zamando says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:44pm

    Really good concept!

    jeroenimooo says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:12am

    Awesome concept!

    callidus says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:40pm

    nice puzzle game, but I forgot the colours attached to each key quite a lot, some visual guide would be good. Also a way to restart levels if you mess it up ( couldnt find this if it was there )

    Sestren says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:33pm

    I'm working on a post-compo version of this game that will address a lot of the issues people have been having. I had originally planned on a HUD that would help you keep track of the colors, as well as a level select and restart system, but I didn't have time to implement it in time for the competition. :/

    Sestren says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:37pm

    If it helps for now, the "Z", "X", and "C" keys are mapped to Red, Green, and Blue, respectively. A useful mnemonic is that RGB is the order that those three colors are often listed in when storing pixel color or "web color" data.

    pythong says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:51am

    the concept is great, music/sounds would have been nice

    HeuGamer says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:01am

    Wow very nice for your first game. VERY different game i liked the mechanics of it.

    FaBrito says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:35am

    Amazing concept and please don't feel bad for "only" 7 levels, because they're awesome! 5 stars from me overall and innovation!

    namuol says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:41am

    A nice mechanic to play with. You should explore this some more. :) Very satisfying to slurp op globs of color, but it would be more satisfying with slurp/glomp sfx. ;)

    desmarkie says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:47am

    Really nice game, love the mechanic. Controls felt a bit stiff is all I can add. Nice work.

    R3ason says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:31am

    Great! Liked the color-changing as you spit yourself out. Keep developing this! Thanks for sharing.

    Pixelulsar says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:43pm

    Intersecting concept, I especially liked that shooting a certain coloured blob changed you colour to have less of the colour you shot(if that makes sense)

    JaJ says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:31pm

    Very nice concept for a puzzle game! Very original.

    kirbytails7 says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 1:44am

    Very fun concept and great style! I'd love to see this go somewhere bigger (like the blob guy).

    May 2, 2012 @ 3:03pm

    Interesting gameplay. I love color puzzlers. The bug that the balls get stuck when you fire them too rapidly is annoying. Overall a good game. The best LD23 game I've played so far.

    Jezzamon says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 4:45am

    Interesting game. Some things the game needs are:
    Music/SoundEffects
    A reset button.

    Reminds me a bit of a game called Mercury Meltdown

    summaky says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 8:04am

    Very interesting idea. Not sure how it applies to "tiny world", but was fun nevertheless.

    robcozzens says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 4:23am

    I don't think I really 'got' it. Cool graphics though.

    Make A Game says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 10:06pm

    Cool mechanic but it really needed a restart button.

    dr_soda says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 6:06am

    Finally my knowledge of additive color mixing comes in handy.

    I have to say I like the idea behind this game. I only wish there had been a reset button when I got stuck. I was sure I'd discerned the rules by which the blobs accept or reject new additions but I totally failed in that regard.

    trylle says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 2:06pm

    Unexpectedly clever game. :) Only nitpick I have is no reset button, since I managed to get stuck in one of the later levels (excessive spitting before noticing they flew off to nowhere). Very nice!

    Sestren says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 10:38pm

    Thank you so much to everyone that has left feedback and rated my game. You have all made my first Ludum Dare an incredible experience. The last week in particular has been very busy, and I apologize if I run out of time and cannot get to rating everyone's game in return, but I will definitely try. :D

    Sestren says ...
    May 21, 2012 @ 3:53am

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/24565598/Ludum%20Dare/LD23-Spitoon-PostCompo/LD23_Spitoon.html

    Here's the link to the Post-Competition version of this game.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]