Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 7 hours, 49 minutes, 5 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    Welcome to TheCity - ncannasse - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You just became a new TheCity resident. But why nobody else is there ? Discover TheCity hidden truth.

    View ncannasse's journal. | View all entries by ncannasse

    Ratings

    Coolness62%
    #21Mood3.77
    #48Theme3.70
    #55Community3.41
    #61Graphics3.74
    #96Audio3.09
    #160Overall3.09
    #224Innovation2.78
    #429Fun2.17
    #582Humor1.27

    Comments

    ncannasse says ...
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 11:27pm

    My actual journal (default link seems broken)
    http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/ncannasse/

    ncannasse says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 12:47am

    A few keys :
    - Esc toggles the music
    - in case you get lost and want to reset the game, use "K"
    - TAB for debug infos / fps

    mk_rules1 says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 4:23am

    very nice didnt fin but i like

    A-Type says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 5:13am

    I don't know how long I spent playing this. I will be blunt: it was fairly boring after a few minutes. But the snippets were enough to keep me going. I beat the game. Good job. Very impressive considering the timeframe. A few things that would have made the experience more enjoyable: mouse-controlled camera (looking off edges is cool, but not as cool as being able to get a better grasp of my surroundings), textures. Of course, textures would have taken too much time I'm sure.

    jagttt says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:02am

    Really like this. The graphics are simple but really cool. The city is so vast and interesting. At first I feel a lit bit odd there's no mouse controlling camera. But then I found that you really did a great job to control the camera to look at the right direction.
    Really cool, I'll try to finish this.

    jagttt says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:17am

    I just read your post and found that you wrote the engine by yourself. This is really cool. I'm always thinking about learning 3D and computer graphics but find it hard to start. Any suggestions for books and tutorials?

    lesterpig says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 5:51pm

    Some collisions/graphics bugs, and a little bit boring but I like the Idea ... and good job for the engine ! :O

    CplMustard says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 9:18pm

    This game truly is something, I wish I had more time to play and finish it, but alas, I only got as far as the second terminal, but I am definitley interested to play more. The controls are a bit wonky, but the atmosphere really shines through, and the visual style is delightfully surreal and bleak. Also, props on developing your own 3d engine, colour me impressed.

    Bad Sector says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:05pm

    Very good and mood-y game :-). The collision is a bit flaky, but overall it feels good. It was a bit boring after a while, but i wanted to find more story parts :-P.

    The 3D was very slow on my iMac though. I had to resize the window to something like 400x300 to make it playable :-/

    matt9837 says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:23pm

    Sadly, my computer hated this game. Couldn't play due to lag.

    LeReveur says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 12:36am

    Very immersive game, but I'm afraid of not having enough courage nor time to restart from the beginnings and find "may"... Yes, because I found the definitive "exit" before. -_-;

    QXD-me says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 3:46pm

    Pretty good idea, good presentation and fits the theme well.

    The only real problem is that it didn't keep me interested enough to stick with it after being told to find more terminals/stars.

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 4:45pm

    Looks fascinating, but it runs at about 5fps on my laptop even when shrunk to postage stamp size, and warns me it needs 3D acceleration even though I have it enabled already :(
    Would love to play it though...

    ncannasse says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 5:23pm

    For those with slow FPS : check if you get the red warning and follow the instructions. If it displays then it means that Flash is not using the GPU at all ! (and software emulation IS slow)

    arcanmster says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 10:59am

    Here, it works fine* with Windows but with Linux I have the red warning and the "parameters" item is disabled in the menu.
    [...]
    Damn, Adobe says: "Only Software fallback is supported on Linux machines" :-(

    (*) Note - The first time I played the game two days ago, the camera was rotating too fast (360°/second) and it was *very* hard to aim to the right direction. (Cannot reproduce)

    tcstyle says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 8:28am

    Very atmospheric. The game totally transports the mood of being alone with its look and music.

    Jan 8, 2012 @ 6:11pm

    Really pretty and big, expanisve, kinda lonely.

    Cleggy says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 1:39pm

    A good game - fits with the theme very well. The only weird thing I noticed is that I could hear footsteps even when I wasn't moving, unless that was part of the music track.

    eli says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    I'm pretty amazed at this. Quite a lovely engine and feel you have here. Wish the controls were more friendly. I would love to explore your world more.

    Dan C says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 9:28pm

    Great mood. Not much fun to play though because it involves so much slow aimless wandering. Also the collision detection leaves much to be desired.

    It reminds me a bit of Terminal City on the C64, for some reason.

    Five community stars for haxe and MTASC :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]