Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 17 hours, 8 minutes, 6 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    A World Alone - strong99 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    WorldAlone, wake up in your room noticing that something isn't right. Although something is miss you decide to go to the bathroom, but is it your room? Are you still home? What happend?

    Find out! Or not...

    The game is crossplatform, but only a windows binary is provided, the source is linux/mac osx compatible. Please see the readme.txt inside the source zip.


    SOURCE
    I installed Ubuntu, compiled, no problems at all, but running seemed a problem. Well I'm a windows user... maybe I get it to work but please some suggestions if you tried it on linux.
    For a source archive including all necessary libs and a makefile and codeblocks project see below:
    http://direct.4vandorp.eu/redirect.php?urlId=5

    View strong99's journal. | View all entries by strong99

    Ratings

    #68Graphics3.69
    #69Humor3.00
    #82Audio3.17
    #84Overall3.33
    #129Community3.00
    #138Mood3.00
    #225Theme3.00
    #240Fun2.62
    #247Innovation2.69
    #398Coolness33%

    Comments

    Yezu says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:34pm

    The game looks interesting. It would be cool if You could provide Linux binaries :)

    But if You're unable, then what do I need to compile? Irrlicht, anything else?

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 11:06am

    You need Irrlicht (1.7.2) and Irrklang(1.3.0). It is also stated in the Readme. I probably upload a linux version later today, currently installing ubuntu 32bit for it (I hope I didn't forget how to compile c/c++ on linux)

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 12:19pm

    I really like the graphics and the "please, let me go ^^"
    But the game is too hard! I get bored before I could win. That's not a bad idea though.

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 12:44pm

    Thank you Pierrec.
    Try to be open, there are more ways you can beat them ;)

    Dec 20, 2011 @ 9:05pm

    Not bad, though hearing them repeat the phrases so often got a bit annoying, and the game crashed when I beat it... or at least I think I beat it; I got the 3 minute timer to finish.

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 8:40am

    Ludexor Studios the game crashed? Are you using Windows Vista/Xp? Do you have Dxd9 installed? Driver Nvidia / Ati? Do you have a crash report for me?


    @Yezu: I installed Ubuntu, compiled, no problems at all, but running seemed a problem. I get a "Segmentation fault" Well as a windows user I don't see the problem, except some windows like case unsensitive paths ... maybe I get it to work later, but please some suggestions if you tried it on linux.

    For a source archive including all necessary libs, a makefile and codeblocks project see below:
    http://direct.4vandorp.eu/redirect.php?urlId=5

    Robmaister says ...
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 5:34am

    The game gets a bit frustrating after you have to restart the timer multiple times. Otherwise an excellent entry, I loved the graphics (compared to most of the entries being 2d), the music was nice, and I loved the audio clips (although they did lose their funny after the 50th time).

    There was a crash when you press a key to restart after winning, but it's not too big a deal since I already won.

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 5:43am

    I liked the reveal from bedroom to planet, and the environment was nice. I thought the drone voices did lighten the mood, but I feel like that competed with the feeling of being alone.

    Three minutes is kind of a long wait for the beacon. When I did it straight away, it felt impossible to keep the drones away for so long. When I banged up the drones before hitting the button, it felt like I was just standing around the whole time.

    Either way, a cute game, and I liked it!

    Dec 27, 2011 @ 5:46am

    I was really and truly enjoying this game, it was shaping out to be a really excellent first-person adventure. However, the drone part (perfectly fun, mind, especially their talking) went far too long and was far too difficult. I suspect if throwing one drone into others caused them all to break, it would have been more manage-able, and you did imply there were other ways to defeat them, but I was unable to find any. So perhaps my lack of originality is to blame, but having to restart the countdown every time, and the sheer difficulty prevented me from finishing. My apologies if there was more afterward, and I'd have loved to play it, but as far as I got it was very well done!

    summaky says ...
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 8:26pm

    It would be cool if you provided GNU/Linux binaries.

    Ghostik says ...
    Jan 3, 2012 @ 4:28pm

    It`s hard like a hell :D. I like that portal-style robot voices :D
    Do you know that our games have little similliar starts ? (just that thing with no electricity :D )

    Good work ;)

    Jan 6, 2012 @ 1:16am

    I got a few errors messages when I ran it, and when I got the success message. Still I liked the look and feel of the game. The drone voices were very funny. This game is both moody and humors. You are inspiration.

    magnolia_fan says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 7:09pm

    I generally liked the game and the concept. I agree with the robots being too difficult, and I couldn't find another way to defeat them either, and having to restart the generator every time they shut it down can get somewhat frustrating in the end.

    binary_girl says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 8:43pm

    i loved the gfx.. didnt really undertstand what was going on tho ;p goodwork :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]