Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 7 hours, 23 minutes, 28 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    Cave Runner - Whitenickel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Alone in the caves? Collect goal tokens to advance out of the cave. Can you collect all 20?

    View Whitenickel's journal. | View all entries by Whitenickel

    Ratings

    #281Audio2.42
    #415Coolness32%
    #466Fun2.08
    #551Mood1.75
    #572Overall2.14
    #648Humor1.11
    #669Graphics1.50
    #670Theme1.57
    #672Innovation1.38
    #699Community1.44

    Comments

    JayCFraser says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:05am

    Like many entries, this is far from complete. In terms of what is there, having to start the game from the first level every time I die makes the game unenjoyable. If I hadn't been persevering in order to try and see as much as what you had done as possible, I would not have known on level 14 I would control three blocks as opposed to one - which could be made interesting with good level design.

    Exentity says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 10:58am

    it is a bit anoying how if you lose you have to exit the game to restart, still quite fun and nice basic graphics :) good job

    Whitenickel says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 11:59pm

    It didn't hit me to add a restart function until after I submitted and time was up. Still kinda kicking myself for not adding it naturally :/ :)

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 5:19pm

    I liked the music, fits well :) see you!

    caranha says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 11:03pm

    Yeah, without reset controls this game gets very frustrating. Also, you should make the jump dependent on for how long you press the jump key, this allows for more possibilities regarding level design.

    Also, you should tell the players from the get go that you need to jump ON the ball to get it. Running to it has no effect.

    Hope you can use your experience to make a better game next LD! :-)

    Dec 27, 2011 @ 5:01am

    Other comments had some fair points, an ability to restart would have made it easier to try again, and it'd be good to know to jump on the ball, not run into it. That being said, I find the one-life-only choice to have been appropriate for this game. Personally I found myself playing through the entire thing many times to get "one more try" on one tricky jump, and the only having one life made it more significant and satisfying to finally succeed. It may not have been an ideal choice for this competition (I never did get to any of the "control multiple cube" levels) but it certainly makes this game a lot more substantial. This is one of the two only LD22 games that I can see myself replaying after rating it. Bravo!

    Robmaister says ...
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 5:05am

    Having to restart the game after each death gets very frustrating after a while. An explanation of jumping on the tokens instead of just colliding with them would be nice. This entry definitely needed more work, but from what I played before ragequitting, it's a decent entry.

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 5:15am

    A lot of the levels are very similar (jump across platforms over a big pit of spikes). There were different challenges here and there (fall to a specific point, wedge into a gap, etc.) but then the rest of the level would be jumping across platforms over a spike pit. You could drop a lot of the levels and challenges that feel similar, and be left with a tighter, more varied game.

    I was also disappointed that the multi-character thing didn't go anywhere!

    Th3dz says ...
    Jan 5, 2012 @ 11:26pm

    Hard. And the graphics were pretty boring... Restarting the entire game on death was a bit harsh...

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]