Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 18 hours, 3 minutes, 4 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 18 hours, 3 minutes, 5 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    Alone with... things! - Hazard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    The game is a puzzle-jump&run about a boy who wakes up all alone. After initial fear he discovers that he has the ability to bring inanimate things like furniture to life. Supported by his wooden companions he ventures into the dangerous world to find out whats going on.

    Hint: There is a specific end point you have to get to. You will have to use the abilities of your companions to get there.


    Keybord controls:

    Arrow keys for movement
    D to animate furniture


    Gamepad Cotrols:

    DPad for left and right
    A for Jump
    B to animate furniture


    You can run the included CheckPrerequisites.exe to check whether all required Prerequisites are installed already. Run it if the game won't start or causes an error.

    Prerequisites:

    - Microsoft .Net Framework 4 ( http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=17851 )
    - Microsoft XNA 4 Runtime ( http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=20914 )


    Development Tools:

    - Visual Studio 2010 with XNA 4

    View Hazard's journal. | View all entries by Hazard

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #8Community4.03
    #33Fun3.46
    #41Humor3.31
    #45Innovation3.57
    #65Overall3.42
    #159Graphics3.24
    #248Mood2.63
    #249Theme2.92
    #262Audio2.48

    Comments

    Kitch says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 12:34am

    Interesting mechanic. I was a chair ridin, table herdin fool.

    SamuraiofHoly says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 5:59pm

    I find the mechanic very good. Like it to ride a chair or have a table as dog ;) :D

    jagttt says ...
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 3:29am

    Well this one is maybe my favorite in this LD. Nice concept and the the game is quite polished. The mechanic has a lot potential really. Congrats!

    bentosmile says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 9:59am

    I can't play your game right now as I'm lacking XNA, but I wanted to give you a community rating just for having a coolness medal :)

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 12:00pm

    Scariest dogs in video game history. Coolest furnitures in video game history. Funniest game I played on this Ludum Dare (I played about 20%).
    I found the kitty and then found the ending exactly when I was starting to get bored. Which is a good thing : the game length is perfect. Not too simple, not to difficult, riding chairs is pure awesomeness.
    My only reproaches would be that the game doesn't fit the theme perfectly (yeah...the kid is alone...easy) and the wake up ending. I don't want to get up! This world is too fun!

    I'll be very happy to play a bigger version of this game, with more furnitures/objects (and less dogs...brrrr).

    caranha says ...
    Jan 3, 2012 @ 6:00pm

    Bowowowowowow! Loved that dog sound :-) The kid looked like he had a bad case of the hiccups, though. :-(

    Great idea - you know you're doing right when people reviewing your game ask for more of it, and I certainly would like to play with more objects. It felt extremely fun galloping around in that chair.

    The controls are really solid, and the pixel art works, so all in all a great game.

    Thanks for the 220 ratings and the nice timelapse :-)

    Rudy says ...
    Jan 4, 2012 @ 10:31am

    I think the idea is bloody brilliant. Unfortunately, the controls aren't very smooth. A tiniest touch of arrows can send you flying while on chair. I would prefer more reliance on momentum and more friction. I would also prefer to have some checkpoints, as not knowing where enemies are coupled with extremely responsive controls can lead to a nasty restart. The concept is great, but I can't help but feel this isn't central to the theme. Overall, a nice entry.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 4, 2012 @ 12:47pm

    Huge boost for gamepad support! I totally dig the chair/table mechanic, but those dogs can GO TO HELL!!! Hilarious little game with a unique twist. Keep working on this!

    Tifu says ...
    Jan 4, 2012 @ 5:41pm

    Really good, I just wish there was more furniture to interact with =D

    bach says ...
    Jan 5, 2012 @ 2:10am

    Amazing game mechanics idea. It made me smile :) Keep working on this one.. Would love to see some more polish in the graphics / audio area!

    Jan 5, 2012 @ 7:07pm

    Amazing feature :-)

    Randomasta says ...
    Jan 6, 2012 @ 5:41am

    The controls are a bit whacky, but god, that's a lovely dog :). I get to this one building with a chair downstair and table+chair upstair and I can't get past it. Any hint?

    Hazard says ...
    Jan 6, 2012 @ 7:05am

    Thanks for the great feedback so far. :) I'd love to keep working on this.
    The controls are indeed not optimal in this version. Especially in-air its far too responsive. I already improved it in my dev-version by lowering the acceleration when in the air.

    @Randomasta: You can jump on the trees to get over the building. You'll also need the help of some of the furnitures for that. :)

    dock says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 9:30am

    Unfortunately I don't have XNA, but I like your graphics :)

    Hazard says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 9:50am

    Well then just install the XNA Runtime. :) Its just a 6MB download from Microsoft. A whole bunch of games rely on it anyway. Here's the link:
    http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=20914

    Beerman says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 9:07pm

    Fantastic stuff. I agree with Rudy that the controls were a little on the twitchy side, but that was still really fun to play. Would love to see an expanded version with more furniture.

    Raptor85 says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 4:08am

    looks interesting but unfortunately can't rate due to the xna4 dep.

    Hempuli says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 12:08pm

    Unfortunately XNA don't seem to work for me at all. :( Gave you community rating, though.

    Cosr says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 10:30am

    I like the mechanic. Might be nice to see it taken further. Riding around on the chairs was fun.

    demonpants says ...
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 12:40am

    Any chance for an OSX / Unix version?

    rawbits says ...
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 12:42am

    Oh, so you have a prerequisites checker... kudos! :)

    It won't start though. No suitable graphics card found.
    But hey there's a video! Double kudos!

    Ahh this game is soo awesome! It seems I need to buy a new vidoe card or a life...

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]