Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 2 hours, 18 minutes, 48 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 2 hours, 18 minutes, 49 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    Do NOT Hug Me! - ziomorti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Hello there! First Ludum Dare for me, be gentle :D
    This is an HTML 5 game made with Construct 2 (first time with this, too).
    Tested on last version of both Chrome and Firefox and seems to work, unfortunately seems not to work on IE (dunno Safari or Opera).
    Sounds made with sfxr and Audacity.
    Graphics made with Inkscape and GIMP.
    The game is some kind of beat 'em up.. just hit them!
    There's a total of 5 rounds and a mini boss battle.
    Hope you enjoy!

    edit:
    Added ULTRA-CRAPPY youtube video with the gameplay (if you can't, for some reason, play the game)

    View ziomorti's journal. | View all entries by ziomorti

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #44Humor3.27
    #97Community3.20
    #112Fun3.05
    #171Theme3.19
    #293Audio2.39
    #319Overall2.74
    #355Innovation2.40
    #425Mood2.09
    #484Graphics2.23

    Comments

    johnl says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 5:16pm

    A fairly fun button basher that is unfortunately a little buggy. Would have been nice to have more variety in enemies and graphics.

    ziomorti says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 9:22pm

    Yay, a comment! Thank you :D

    dcfedor says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 5:41am

    Interesting concept. I can identify with the misanthropic vibe. The WC and paper spawns were a funny feature, and the "ugh" voice at game start was a nice touch too.

    Felt a little claustrophobic, since the enemies all sprung at once and overlapped player, but I guess the point was to fight them off, after all. I think adding a knockback to player's attack would've made a big difference. Nice work, though!

    ziomorti says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 12:33pm

    Ahahah, I'm glad you caught the "misanthropic vibe". I totally agree with your review. Thanks for playing!

    Quimby says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 7:02am

    I loved the run animation for this; Sheer brilliance.
    The game itself was a little shallow, but you score some points for doing it in HTML5.
    I didn't make it to the boss, but I don't that's ever likely to happen due to my total ineptitude at these sorts of games.
    Good job and way to go reviewing so many games;I came here due to your 11% coolness rating - That's roughly 100 games already!!!.

    ziomorti says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 1:05pm

    Well, thanks for the review! I think that creating a game for Ludum Dare is only half of the event: reviewing, learning and getting in touch with other people is important, too.

    waynebeam says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 6:33pm

    haha i love the little walking/hitting with broom animation. this was pretty fun. i was also terrified when the boss showed up. nice job

    whilefun says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 1:36am

    hahaha, very fun! I love the little hug me sounds. And once I found out what the power ups did it was an extra dimension of fun. Need moar bombs! :)

    Aaron says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 2:14am

    Hey, ziomorti. Congrats on your first LD and thanks for all your work commenting and reviewing games. I'm returning the favor. :)

    I really liked how different weapons changed the gameplay, and the animations and audio gave the game lots of personality and likability. It was pretty hectic and fun at first, but I ended up (like others) just wanting more depth.

    Also, not being able to avoid damage is something that stresses me out quite a bit. Once the map gets crowded, I can only run to a corner (taking damage by running past enemies) and fight them off one at a time. Either knockback or maybe jumping adds a layer of skill that I would have really appreciated.

    All in all, great effort. I think you executed some things really well, and if you had a bit more time to polish and add another feature or two, this could have been a pretty fun game. :)

    hipon says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 11:03am

    it's a bit buggy, but i like the concept!

    increpare says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 11:19am

    pretty tough! couldn't beat it, unfortunately.
    didn't notice any bugs myself...

    ziomorti says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 11:45am

    Well, I'm sure the animations are bugged and there is a small exploit (but I won't tell you what :D). On the rest I totally agree with Aaron, but just one note: not being able to avoid (or at least, for not so long) the enemies is kind of intended. I think it underlines the urge of loneliness of my "robot" and how he must struggle to have it.

    dinolunae says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 2:16pm

    very interesting game concept.
    me gusta.

    volando says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 6:15pm

    thoooooouhg

    Rudy says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 11:45am

    Fun entry. The idea is not new, but the concept could be fun nevertheless with some polish. However, art doesn't really justify it and highly contrasting colors, although good at setting apart world elements, are a bit inconsistent. Unfortunately gets repetitive very quick and I would love to see a wider monster variety. I guess you get some humor points too, but the humor does feel a bit forced and not subtle at all. Wacky animations are a plus though and make the graphical style appear almost intentional. Could be great with an actiony soundtrack. A jump button would be really nice (even though you say it's not there intentionally), and I kept thinking you could use doors. Love the "hug me" sfxs. I did not quite see this as fitting the theme or mood well, as you are constantly "not alone" and the "loneliness" bar is just a health bar renamed for theme purposes :) But the hints are there. Overall, good fun first try. Definitively 5 stars on community for rating many games.

    ziomorti says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 12:47pm

    Thanks Rudy (loved your game, btw) for the huge feedback!

    vubuntu says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 5:49pm

    Very nice and theme corresponding.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 6:37pm

    the sound was a little grating and i agree that it got repetitive but i'm sure that was down to the time limit. i liked it though!

    Cell says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 7:01pm

    Cool.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 7:36pm

    Fun animations, nice gameplay and the concept is totally relevant to the theme, but I would have loved to see some variation. Also, that boss is hard.

    ziomorti says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 7:46pm

    Many thanks to all of you! The boss is pretty hard, but not impossible :D

    lanoiadimuu says ...
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 12:47pm

    Really loved your game! Hitting enemies with a broom and throwing toilet paper are fun ideas.

    A little final bug report: i killed last pack of enemies in round 4 using a bomb and the game got bugged, preventing me from playing round 5.

    Kitch says ...
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 2:07pm

    Nice little game. It seemed a little busy to me... especially when the map gets crowded. A broom or tp buff would have toned that down a bit. Or a knock back like others suggested.

    Good work!

    binary_girl says ...
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 4:09pm

    i liked the amination :)

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 2:22pm

    HUG ME LOVE ME - WHAM WHAM ATOMIC BOMB
    Hilarious! The walk animation reminds me of Canadians.

    Make A Game says ...
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 8:04pm

    The theme, "Alone", was evident in the game mechanics.
    Maybe it could be more polished but I had fun playing your game nevertheless!
    Good job =)

    ziomorti says ...
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 5:39pm

    Thank you all for the comments and suggestions. I ABSOLUTELY didn't expect the animations to get so much praise..

    BigDaddyXD says ...
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 8:00am

    Beating the waves was absolutely not a problem (*cough* stick to the doors *cough*). So i saved up the "grenades" for the boss. When he appeared i activated all of them and then got killed :( How am i supposed to kill him? Oo

    ziomorti says ...
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 11:40am

    You did everything right! Maybe you just were not fast enough..

    mnem says ...
    Jan 3, 2012 @ 1:14am

    Fun little game :) Haven't beat it yet, but I'll be trying again later :)

    caranha says ...
    Jan 3, 2012 @ 8:27pm

    I won, w00t!

    The game was quite fun, even if simple. The different weapons felt interesting to use. The animations somehow were so bad that I actually liked them.

    The boss battle was too much of a coin toss, though.

    Thanks for rating all those games!

    ziomorti says ...
    Jan 3, 2012 @ 10:50pm

    Well, thank you for playing and for the feedback! I hope to have time to rate some more this week.

    seagaia says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 9:12pm

    I thought the animation was damn funny, and the game was somewaht enjoyable too even though I mashed the hell out of X and got destroyed by the boss at the end "Love Slug?"

    Deza says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 10:30pm

    Good game! I will be stealing your source in due course.

    youdonotexist says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 8:12pm

    Great fun. Lots of button mashing, but the variety of weapons added a bit of strategy. Would benefit from having platforms or other areas where you can move to.

    Cosr says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 8:50am

    Well, that was silly. Very simple, but enjoyable enough that I tried it multiple times. Couldn't get to the boss, though. Which is a shame. I did manage to get slightly farther each time, however, so maybe I ought to give it another try sometime and see if I can beat round 5.

    Jan 9, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    Funny, but could've used a lot more content and more lively sprites (and better audio).

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]