Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 77 days, 0 hours, 52 minutes, 3 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    Only You Can Save The World - Jack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A puzzle-platformer about a peaceful creature, helpless in its fate at the hands of a monstrous beast

    EDIT: fixed major bug with finding libraries, but did not change any of the content. Kind of counts as porting, because it worked fine on windows before then but not on any other OS

    View Jack's journal. | View all entries by Jack

    Ratings

    #56Community3.40
    #118Overall3.23
    #184Fun2.77
    #206Mood2.75
    #248Graphics2.92
    #274Coolness45%
    #360Theme2.62
    #419Innovation2.23
    #594Audio1.00
    #640Humor1.13

    Comments

    iforce2d says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 2:17pm

    Nice feel, cute graphics. I really like the puzzles too. After the first couple of levels I was thinking I was going to immensely enjoy this one.
    However at about the fourth level there is a very long extending platform which you need to rush up to get on - I could not get past that one. Knowing what you need to do but not being able to is a bit frustrating, I would really like to play further.

    Jack says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 2:57pm

    thank you very much, and I know exactly what you mean. I think I'm going to fix a few things and add a couple more levels then submit it for the jam

    Jack says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:03pm

    would it be acceptable to fix a game-breaking bug in the second-to-last level by deleting a single block and still be eligible for the compo?

    Dec 20, 2011 @ 7:18am

    Beat the game. It was pretty cool. Had nice mood to it. Not sure I get the final room, it made me think I missed something earlier...

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 7:28am

    Nicely done! I enjoyed that. A few problems:

    * No audio.
    * Difficulty scaling. As iforce2d brought up, the level where you have to race up to platform is the hardest, it took me a few tries to get it.
    * A bit short. (This isn't really "problem" I guess, but I do wish it were longer.)

    Jack says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 10:37am

    @BlackBulletIV yeah, all of that is to do with running out of time. I was intending on making a lot more levels and then ordering them on how hard I found them, but I ran into major collision detection problems and had to scale back the entire thing

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 2:41pm

    Nice short game. Yay 4 Java!

    caranha says ...
    Jan 2, 2012 @ 9:12pm

    Short and Sweet. The graphics were simple but they worked, the controls were pretty smooth.

    The parts where you had to rush against platforms was a bit frustrating... also, this game could realy use a jumping sound.

    Thanks for the game!

    Raptor85 says ...
    Jan 2, 2012 @ 9:46pm

    some of the levels the timing required is ridiculous, you can barely get on the platforms by hitting the switch by running by and jumping as it moves out from under you. other than that pretty cool

    kumber says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 5:00pm

    Played until the end. Nice game. It took me a while to figure out the level where you should run, hit the switch and keep yourself on the closing bridge. With a little bit of audio could be better. However, good work!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]