Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 18 days, 15 hours, 51 minutes, 56 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Darkness You Wander Alone - Eelfroth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is a short retro-acion-platformer. You are wielding the sword of swords to shoot your way though darkness and hordes of mysterious hostile creatures. Enjoy!
    I spent most of the available time on that darkness/vignetting effect and on playing around with sine wave interference (which you can see in the title screen), but I think that was worth it. I'd love to add more content, a story and an actual ending - we'll see...
    Also, this was not only my first Ludum Dare but this is the first game I ever released.

    Controls: Arrow keys + Z + X

    The tools I used:
    - Game Maker 6.1
    - Musagi and Audacity (sound)
    - Gimp (some graphics)

    This is Eelfroth, signing off. I was in!

    EDIT: The problem with the cut-off edges should be fixed now. Go to the options menu or press F5 to adjust the scale.
    If you have experienced low framerates, you can now press F10 to deactivate the dynamic vignetting effect and replace it with a single sprite. This damages the look and mood very badly - use it only if the game runs really slow! (press F11 to see the fps)

    View Eelfroth's journal. | View all entries by Eelfroth

    Ratings

    #16Mood3.86
    #58Theme3.64
    #76Audio3.21
    #85Graphics3.60
    #129Overall3.21
    #154Fun2.86
    #319Coolness40%
    #326Community2.50
    #345Innovation2.43
    #571Humor1.30

    Comments

    Wompus says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:58am

    It was cool and hurt my head at the same time :')

    RobotCaleb says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 5:32pm

    I liked the audio and the graphics. The mood felt nice.

    Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:34pm

    What an adventure! Very moody and cool. Kind of harsh on the difficulty though.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 8:41pm

    Whoa! I liked it! A nice exemplar of retro gaming. I gave it a better graphics rating than many games with 16 bit sprites around here, because everything fits together so nicely. Also, transitions!

    Fullscreen only makes me sad, though.

    Eelfroth says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 9:17pm

    Thanks to everyone! I'm glad you like it.

    @caranha:
    That fullscreen thing is caused by Game Maker 6.1 being buggy, I guess. I was actually making a 320x240 windowed mode, but the image wasn't scaled correctly and I didn't want to waste too much time fixing it (which would require some workaround).
    Its still not true that the game is fullscreen-only, though. You can toggle windowed mode with F4 and then resize the window by hand.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 3:45am

    The game window seems to be cut off on all 4 sides. I can't get through the first part of the game because I can't tell with the pits are. I really dig the art style, though. I'd love to break this open and see exactly how you accomplished that look.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 3:52am

    OK I grabbed the source and was able to play it without the sides being cut off. WEIRD. OMG THE RAPTORS!!!

    Shigor says ...
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 12:31am

    Ultra low res and waving walls were great, but I couldnt get out of the first map - it seems that screen is cut on all sides?

    binarycoder says ...
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 5:46pm

    Great feel and theme! I wasn't able to see the edges of the screen, however.

    Eelfroth says ...
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 8:20pm

    Sorry about that! Fixing immediately.

    Eelfroth says ...
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 8:45am

    The problem with the cut-off edges should be fixed now. Go to the options menu or press F5 to adjust the scale.

    zairon says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 4:41am

    The ultra-low-fi-ness of it was interesting, but I didn't really get it. Just a little too hard to use the sword of swords, and the music was really grating.

    shuanDang says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 4:44am

    I always find crouching to be very cute.

    someone says ...
    Jan 4, 2012 @ 6:55pm

    Runs way too slow in Wine

    Claw says ...
    Jan 6, 2012 @ 10:55pm

    I really loved this, the graphics and music are so strange and charming; they produce a very lonely and surreal atmosphere.

    marudziik says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 8:30pm

    Music is really, really good, and I liked the graphics. Pacing is a little slow, and I've seen similar retro effects in many GM games, but it's a nice touch anyway.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]