Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 18 days, 9 hours, 53 minutes, 12 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    Castaway - agersant - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Ahoy all, I hope you will enjoy "Castaway". Thank you for playing.
    HINT : There is a secret room with a powerful armor somewhere, can you find it ?

    Resources and tools I used
    ====================
    HaXe
    Bacchus Framework
    FlashDevelop
    Adobe Photoshop
    Propellerhead Reason
    Audacity
    BFXR
    Tiled
    "Deutsch Gothic" font
    LAME Encoder

    Special thanks to
    =============
    Julien Debon
    Karlotcha Hoa
    The Britt Brewery
    The Ludum Dare staff and IRC Channel

    View agersant's journal. | View all entries by agersant

    Ratings

    #7Audio3.87
    #14Graphics4.15
    #23Community3.72
    #122Mood3.14
    #170Theme3.20
    #183Overall3.03
    #339Humor1.82
    #370Innovation2.36
    #376Coolness35%
    #448Fun2.13

    Comments

    A-Type says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 4:12am

    Very pretty. I guess the inertia and difficulty of controlling the knight was on purpose, but I'm afraid I just can't handle him well enough to get far.

    bushmango says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 1:52pm

    I liked it. Difficult to get used to the physics, and I'm glad the games on the short side so I could see the ending :)

    dr_soda says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:37pm

    That is interesting that you've used Haxe for this. Are you able to make use of its multiple target capabilities to export it to different platforms successfuly?

    Your sprite art is really beautiful. I think the knight visually looks too much like he's in a track-and-field competition when he's jumping, but that's the only thing out of place in the art style.

    I agree that the physics make it harder than it feels like it should be, but at the same time I see how you incorporated the physics properties into level design as well.

    agersant says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 5:49pm

    Thank you for playing and leaving comments =)
    I agree about the physics being tricky to handle, this was on purpose but it seems I went overboard.

    @dr_soda : I figured it would make sense to do this kind of jump because I think that's how you do it to achieve maximum distance. Maybe it doesnt work with a full plate armor though >.<
    Regarding multiplatform, I can not export it to other targets because I used the Flash9 drawing API (the one in Bacchus, my basecode) rather than a generic one like NME. I hope one day I'll have time to switch Bacchus from Flash only to NME.

    tonic says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:23pm

    Wow, very nice graphics. It's quite hard to play though and sometimes the checkpoint is just a bit too far.

    Andrew says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:25pm

    Excellent music, but the sliding is a wee bit too tricky too control resulting in a lot of frustration :(

    daredevildave says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:26pm

    Looks great, but it seems to crash a lot in Chrome/OSX. I get stuck while jumping and the second screen is just black.

    kj654321 says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 6:28pm

    Great art and sound. I like the idea of leaving your sword behind. I agree that the physics end up being frustrating, but they are close to being an interesting challenge.

    cobhc6 says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 10:39pm

    That was awesome, the only down point is the controls. Everything else was great!!!!!

    rawbits says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 12:56am

    Pretty good graphics but the knight is uncontrollable so sorry for my impatience but there are much more games...

    SeanAtr0n says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 3:55am

    Interesting mechanic, I like how you made the player his own enemy due to inertia. The music and art are nice too!

    23 says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 2:29pm

    Nicely put together, but again, too hard to control, even if that is the point.

    kato9 says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 4:41pm

    Hmm...I had some weird performance issues with this game. Choppy framerate and stuttery broken sounding music. Anyway it was basically unplayable for me, couldn't even manage to jump on the second platform in the third screen. Nice visuals though.

    kato9 says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 4:51pm

    ok restarted my comp and tried in another browser and those performance issues went away. the controls are still brutal though, it's like walking in molasses that turns into ice whenever you gain any momentum! Still, the amount of polish you put into this is commendable, wish I could have gotten a little further!

    Dec 22, 2011 @ 4:25am

    Very nice visually and decent BGM/SFX. Super-frustrating movement made me give up.

    binary_girl says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 4:48pm

    i like it.. sound/music is great and decent gfx.. good sense of being alone aswell :)

    agersant says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 5:58pm

    Thank you all for your opinions! I enjoy read them, even the not-so-positive ones.

    I am happy to say I fixed the performance issues and added a "no crash" version at the top of the page =)

    jeffz says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 1:33am

    very nice production, echo the sentiments with the physics. Love the sound and music.

    Dec 23, 2011 @ 1:45am

    Art was amazing, and I realize that the physics of the player is part of the difficulty, but it really was just more frustrating than anything and I couldn't get very far.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 2:47am

    looks very pretty but those physics are pretty unforgiving.

    Braveskin says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 7:58pm

    I couldn't pass the second jump.

    Shigor says ...
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 12:51pm

    Raqequit :/ I gave up after several attempts to jump on a platform without being killed by stalagmite (or stalactite? I always mix them up).

    Yeah, moving in full armor's pretty tricky, I know it from the real world, but inertia, one mistake = dead, slow movement from checkpoint... it all adds up in a title which just isn't fun for me to play.

    Nice pixel art (although knights movement is strangely choppy).

    summaky says ...
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 1:43pm

    The inertia makes controlling the character a little too difficult for me. Besides that, I loved everything about this game. Well done!

    tcstyle says ...
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 8:39pm

    Great sound and graphics. The classic Prince of Persia like controls make it to difficult for me personally.

    Nightmare says ...
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 10:57pm

    Very nice, kind of hard... but I'm not one to talk about making a hard LD22 entry ;)

    evilseanbot says ...
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 3:49am

    Hellz yeah 8-frame walk animation.

    Your protagonist will live on forever as someone's forum avatar, possibly with the text "Everyday I'm shuffling" underneath him.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 9:01am

    The game is beautiful. But the controls are too hard, even if it is on purpose. I ragequit in the room downstair on the left. It isn't easy to be a knight :)

    volando says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 4:14pm

    Love gfx/music/story.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]