Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 12 days, 17 hours, 46 minutes, 20 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    Bunker - namrog84 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    The Bunker

    Arrow keys to move
    X to read
    *press K if you get stuck*
    Avoid the spinners of death

    I didn't get to implement 90% of the things I wanted, I thought I had set the goals low, but I guess I was still aiming too high given my limited skills and real first game finished(2nd game ever started)
    *
    *** There is a hidden Easter Egg Kitten bonus! ***
    *** When you find the Kitten, it floats around you for remainder of game***
    The secret is the letter K

    View namrog84's journal. | View all entries by namrog84

    Ratings

    Coolness63%
    #225Theme3.00
    #243Mood2.64
    #246Humor2.11
    #314Graphics2.70
    #395Overall2.59
    #404Community2.33
    #448Fun2.13
    #457Audio1.78
    #602Innovation1.74

    Comments

    uzimonkey says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:45am

    I died while the room was changing and the game froze.

    namrog84 says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 4:21pm

    I thought I had fixed all of them, do you remember whereabouts it was?

    elektron says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:53pm

    I found the kitten! It proceeded to creepily stalk me for the rest of the game.

    namrog84 says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:56pm

    Excellent job elektron :)

    Ashkin says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 2:30am

    The mood was quite good and the game fit the theme well- the bunker did feel pretty lonely. I liked the graphics, especially the walkcycle, although the rest seemed bland and lazy in comparision. The gameplay of navigating through a maze and avoiding spinners didn't hold me for very long, though- it swung easily between frustrating and boring.

    Dmurph says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 2:16am

    I didnt hear music in the background. I do like the transitions between screens tho, the person looks like hes walking upside down however. On the other hand you explode into 500 gallons of blood when you die. lol good job!

    Dec 21, 2011 @ 4:55am

    Excellent job! My only complaint is how odd the collision box is. Its shifted like 4 pixels to the right from the center of the sprite, and maybe a little off-center vertically, too!

    Deza says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 7:21pm

    Didn't really get the theme or the idea of the game.

    summaky says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    The bunker feels "alone", but not that much as I expected it, to be frank. However, the game was plain and boring and the spikes wasn't exactly difficult to avoid. Great walking graphics.

    Kelly Thomas says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 6:11am

    he runs so fast i have trouble walking through doorways!

    Veralos says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 12:54pm

    I found the kitten and all the notes! My score was 218300.

    The game gets dull after a while, especially since it's such a large area with little gameplay or visual variety. The graphics and sounds are good though, and the game does a decent job of showing the theme.

    Stargoat says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    Are those parachute pants?

    Milo says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 6:19pm

    This game fits the theme really well. I think that the actual gameplay could be improved with moving obstacles.

    zazery says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 9:35pm

    I like how you introduced the K action in the game. I found the maze parts a bit boring but it does create an good mood.

    Aaron says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 9:44pm

    I think some atmospheric music would have went a long way (and laughter when you died to spinners). I found walking through doorways to be pretty difficult, but maybe that's just me being bad at it. Solid entry though, and I think the other 90% of cut content could only have been really refreshing on top of the game. Bonus points for excessive death particles. :D

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]