Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 74 days, 20 hours, 48 minutes, 34 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    Leaf me Alone - AyCe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    * Postcompo version

    JAVA 1.6 OR HIGHER REQUIRED FOR THIS GAME

    -------- IMPORTANT!!!!!! --------
    I propose you play the the postcompo version instead of the compo version, while keeping in mind the changes I made when rating (see changelog below), for maximum enjoyment. ^^
    Download version can take screenshot PNGs.
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Changelog Postcompo (Mainly bugfixes & sound):
    1.2.1
    - Fixed 1.2 increasing the probability of bushes instead of grass
    - Balanced rowan

    1.2
    - Added cheat key hint to Endless Survival
    - Increased the probability of grass for dung
    - Added antialiasing, things look smoother now
    - Reduced the score points for flowers

    1.1
    - minor fixes & improvements
    - number of flowers and destroyed plants are represented in the score now
    - changed cheat key
    - added F3 to disable music and F4 to disable sound
    - fixed cola being picked up although hitting the ground
    - added fade effect
    - fixed a game crashing array index out of bounds bug

    1.0
    - dung has a 1/2 chance only to yield plants on clear
    - fixed grass & flower grow rate
    - added sound & music
    - changed start/skip to spacebar
    - changed 0 to NUM 0, added NUM 1-5 for sowing
    - cola also decreases the time needed for sowing, uprooting, healing
    - (very) minor fixes
    - fixed "sliding" at unpassable areas decreasing the walked-stats
    - added garden house to show unpassable area at hand-ui
    - changed pause menu to pause&help menu
    - fixed rotation rendering bug (trembling)
    - added score

    ------------------------------------------------------

    You are a gardener.
    You just want to work.
    But you can't.

    So show these kids disturbing you, that you are the boss!

    Use WASD or arrow keys to move.
    Uproot plants with E or NUM 0.
    Plant new ones with 1-5 or NUM 1-5.
    Pick up objects by walking over them.
    Throw them by clicking,
    Drop them by right-clicking.

    ------------------------------------------------------

    Unfortunately it has no sound :(
    I just did not have time.

    Anyway, GL HF, report bugs please, I'll update the Postcompo Version once I have enought points to add/change/fix.

    DO NOT USE THE CHEAT!

    Pause with P and make screenshots with F2 (they are saved in C:/LMASS/)
    Disable music with F3, mute sounds with F4

    ------------------------------------------------------

    Gameplay Video: http://www.moddb.com/members/ayce/videos/leaf-me-alone-gameplay

    ------------------------------------------------------

    Created in 16 hours, planned in ~6 hours.
    Used:
    - Eclipse (Java)
    - Paint.NET
    - Ulead PhotoImpact 10
    For Postcompo:
    - Audacity
    - SFXR
    - OpenMPT
    - some sfx site I don't remember

    View AyCe's journal. | View all entries by AyCe

    Ratings

    Coolness90%
    #109Humor2.67
    #114Innovation3.17
    #195Fun2.75
    #254Overall2.89
    #346Graphics2.61
    #440Community2.26
    #466Audio1.73
    #484Mood1.90
    #487Theme2.25

    Comments

    Dmurph says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 2:28am

    There was so much instructions that i forgot when the game actually started. The idea is nice as well as the graphics. I didnt notice any audio tho. Good idea!

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 5:43am

    I will make a post-compo version where the pause menu will display all keys.
    Audio was not possible due to the time.
    Thanks for playing ! :D

    Stavu says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 12:39pm

    Great game!! I had a lot of fun playing it! I'll be waiting for the post-compo version :)

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 5:40pm

    I'm glad you liked it! The post compo-version will release in some days I hope, we will have holidays soon, so I got time to develop then. ^^

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 11:44pm

    I released Postcompo 1.0 today. Have fun. ^^

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 1:45pm

    I wish that I could throw rocks like this in REAL life. Innovative idea you have here. The game could definitely use some audio, and the controls seem overly complicated with all the different required keys. Find a way to streamline the interface, add some audio, and you'll have an addictive little game on your hands.

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 5:47pm

    If you want audio, play the post-compo version ^^
    Controls are simple I think?
    Just Mouse + 1-5, WASD and E ? ^^ how can I make this any simpler?

    Anyway, thank you a lot for playing my game :)

    Drabiter says ...
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 2:50am

    I like game with defending gameplay because it's thrilling. And this one has that. Nice art. Those kids should be punished :)

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 1:46pm

    Glad to hear you liked it. :D Did you play the Postcompo version?

    ScreamRawr says ...
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 12:56am

    I really enjoyed your game! The audio was great and I found the idea to be pretty inventive. Good job all around!

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 3:07am

    I'm happy you like it :D
    However, please keep in mind the audio wasn't implemented in the compo-version, so remember that when rating the game! ;-)

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 7:33pm

    I uploaded postcompo 1.1, see changelog above. ;-)

    Cell says ...
    Jan 2, 2012 @ 11:19am

    Really good concept. :)

    AyCe says ...
    Jan 2, 2012 @ 7:41pm

    Thanks :)

    summaky says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 4:43pm

    Good concept, but I had a hard time remembering the instructions when the game actually started. And those pesky kids... Get off my lawn! :-D It is a shame there is no sound (in the compo entry)

    QXD-me says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 5:47pm

    Most amusing entry I've played. It was reasonably fun, the sound (in the post-compo version) fit the mood quite well, graphics were more representative than good and I can't really see how it fit the theme.

    A good attempt for 48 hrs.

    Oh yeah, also there was a bit of information overload at the start of the game and I couldn't really remember it all. It would have been better to have introduced the information gradually (if possible).

    AyCe says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 6:20pm

    @summaky: yeah, the instructions were criticised by many people, next time, I know how to introduce the players to the controls ;-)

    @QXD-me: well, now, after the compo, I can fully understand your opinion regarding the theme. I think I neglected the theme in the game itself while tring to have it in my title. At first, my start screen wasn't that full, later on I added more lines, so I can see what you mean. Nowadays, thers a help menu in the pause menu, but you are right if you don't rate that, because this was added in the post-compo version ;-)

    Thanks for playing my game! :D

    philhassey says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    Took me a while to figure the controls, but once I got it, it seemed to go pretty well :) I did find that some rocks seemed unreachable, so maybe make it so you can reach all rocks thrown at you. I think I won at carrot growing!

    Milo says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 12:58am

    Wow! This was a really good game. I really like the concept of having various plants give various perks (although in the last non-endurance level, I just used the poisonous stuff and it worked a little too well). It took me a while to realize that, though; I don't usually read the screens before the level.

    Aaron says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 6:35am

    I definitely enjoyed the strategy meets action gameplay and the punny title. :) I understand your enthusiasm, but having 4 of the 5 download links as your updated version was a bit confusing (though I am bad at reading). I was 10 minutes into the updated version, thought to read other comments, and realized that I wasn't playing the original since it had sound. :P

    AyCe says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 12:06pm

    Wow, so much new comments!
    Thank you all! :D

    @philhassey: Yes, some rocks (other stuff too) will fly to locations you can't reach, that's because of the function that blocks movement. I didn't want the player to be half-visible on the screen, so I blocked the movement on edge tiles. What do you mean by carrot-growing? The strawberries? ^^

    @Milo: Yeah, that's what I saw too, the berries are the most effective plant. However, the game is unbalanced due to the time :P

    @Aaron: Yes, I see those links can be distracting. The thing is, I don't want people to play buggy games, when there is a fixed version. There were several bugs I encountered when testing, so I fixed them, and on the way, added sound. So when rating the game, sound shouldn't be rated, cause in the compo-version there is none.

    Thanks everyone for playing! :D
    PS: Why is there an increasing number of gametesters when the time runs out? ^^

    Tifu says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 2:01pm

    Once you start growing your ammo supplies, the game gets really good and somewhat tactical, and that happens pretty early on... so, that's good :P

    kibertoad says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 6:49pm

    /There was so much instructions that i forgot when the game actually started/

    This.

    AyCe says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 7:41pm

    Thank you for testing! :D
    @Tifu: I'm happy you liked it!

    @kibertoad: I see the text in the start menu can be overwhelming. That's why I inserted the help texts in the pause menu ;-) (This is post-compo though)

    jeffz says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 8:29pm

    awesome game, played the bonus level for quite awhile too.

    AyCe says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 8:40pm

    Hey, glad to hear you enjoyed it! :D Do you remember your score? ^^

    Jan 9, 2012 @ 9:32am

    Good job! The gameplay here is pretty cool. Reminds me of Plants vs. Zombies a little bit, but you have to manually use each plant.

    I don't know if it fits the theme that well.

    I like the graphics, simple and clear.

    demonpants says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 11:16pm

    You got so much done in 48 hours, it was very impressive. However, I couldn't remember all the different things I could do because there were so many instructions, so I found myself mostly just throwing rocks. Still, good overall.

    AyCe says ...
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 12:21am

    @defiantburrito: Yeah, that's what came to my mind too when testing the game ^^

    @demonpants: Seems to be an urge need for simple instructions here :D fine:
    Mouse: Attack
    WASD/Arrows: Move
    E/NUM 0: Uproot
    (NUM) 1-5: Sow
    P: Pause/Help

    ^^

    Thank you, everyone playing my game! :D

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]