Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 75 days, 20 hours, 54 minutes, 18 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    kuudou - summaky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Kuudou is an exploration game in which players should guide a "lone lorn creetur" around a huge, empty and extremely dark cave. Somehow the creature has developed the ability to make her own body glow, but it is not enough to see far off in the distance. Fortunately, the cave is not so empty as would seem a priory. There are some critters lurking in the dark, and they have very, very bright eyes.

    Using the eyes of the critters wandering around each stage, it is possible to make a mental map of where are the platforms and jump around to the exit. All the levels are doable with that can be seen and what can be inferred by the position of every creature or by jumping around the area. Some of the jumps require almost pixel-perfect collision that, together with the already frustrating environment, make the experience a little less enjoyable than what I wanted.

    Please don't mind the name and the fake Japanese characters on the title screen. In the README there is the reason behind it all, for these that are interested.

    Kuudou is made in C++ using the SDL and SDL_mixer libraries. The sound effect (there is only one) was made with sfxr and the background music with its four notes was made with Schism Tracker and a royalty-free freeware sample.

    View summaky's journal. | View all entries by summaky

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #63Mood3.44
    #94Theme3.48
    #102Fun3.10
    #108Innovation3.20
    #118Overall3.23
    #211Audio2.64
    #236Graphics2.95
    #346Community2.48
    #538Humor1.39

    Comments

    Kitch says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 2:17am

    Really enjoyed it! I liked the eye mechanic, it with the darkness just worked.

    Sanguine says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 7:10am

    What I really enjoyed was the mood, nice job :)

    Zuieni says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 12:19pm

    The Linux/source file is corrupt, just so you now ;) But the Windows version works with wine.
    Anyway I liked the mood

    wgemigh says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 2:11am

    I like the concept a lot, and the graphics are well-done, especially the player animation. Unfortunately, the game is too short to really explore the concept and it's frustrating at the beginning when you're figuring the game out.

    Hempuli says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 4:56am

    It's cool how the game tries to mislead the player in the later levels. I wish this was longer and used more mechanics!

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 6:17pm

    Amazing!

    iforce2d says ...
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 11:56pm

    Nice controls, and good idea!

    tcstyle says ...
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 9:58pm

    Nice. I liked the minimalistic approach. The game mechanic works well.

    Ghostik says ...
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 6:12pm

    It`s little short but good. Nice mood and graphic ;)

    Hazard says ...
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 7:42am

    A bit short. I would have loved to play some more levels... and thats quite telling. :) Great gameplay idea.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 4:06am

    oh wow, this was a really interesting game. you're definitely on to something here. i enjoyed it!

    eli says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 9:54am

    Loved the darkness, really got me. The way my eyes adjusted to looking for the creature pixels was kind of amazing, because I didn't notice them at first. Good job on making a special experience.

    Could be longer.

    bentosmile says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 10:09am

    Oh no :( I get an "Unexpected end of archive" error when I unzip the Windows version.

    caranha says ...
    Jan 3, 2012 @ 6:40pm

    I really liked the game. Good controls and sharp graphics. The "Pixel perfect" jumps didn't bother me at all, since dying was quite painless (quickly returned to the start of the small level).

    Thanks for rating so many games too!

    Canyon says ...
    Jan 4, 2012 @ 10:07am

    This is great.
    I read your read me and was suprised how self deprecating you are. The pixel perfect jumping is fine, as Caranha said, the levels are so short that dieing isn't frustrating at all. I like the name and I like the character animation, the music is fantastic.

    I agree with Hempuli, the later levels do tend to trick the player which is great. Not knowing which critters to trust and their indifference to you works well with the theme. Overall I think this game feels complete.

    That said, the level design could be refined to explore the concept more concretely so that each level is some new manifestation of that mechanics possibilities.

    Well done.

    ladron says ...
    Jan 5, 2012 @ 10:33pm

    Short, but well done. Solid platforming mechanics, and the darkness was a nice touch.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 11:18am

    Windows download isn't working... stops at 99 percent?

    nuria says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    Short but moody, I like how you tried to confuse the player with the bats. Interesting concept! Needs an ending though.

    Aaron says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    A game being too short is probably the best bad comment you can receive. :)

    Cosr says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 2:07am

    Man, that was cool, but way too short. I want more.

    It's a little too easy to resort to trial and error gameplay though.

    rawbits says ...
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 1:06am

    Woa! this was good! More please! ;) :D

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]