Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 5 hours, 57 minutes, 35 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 5 hours, 57 minutes, 36 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    YANA - sirius_black9999 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    controls:
    a/d: move left/right
    w: jump
    d: enter door
    1-8: select different blocks from inventory
    r: reset to checkpoint
    u: toggle BGM
    i/o: enable/disable level editor
    left mouse button: place block
    middle mouse button: clone block in level editor(inventory slot 9)
    right mouse button: remove block
    mouse wheel: select previous/next block in level editor(inventory slot 9)

    about the editor:
    the inventory in the HUD has 9 slots
    slots 1-8 are for regular gameplay, the currently selected slot has a red border
    slot 9 is for the editor,
    slot 9 also has a blue border when in regular mode, and a green border in editor mode, just to make the mode extra clear

    when you are in editor mode, you will always place the block in slot 9, regardless of which slot is selected

    i also just found out there is a bug in slots 7 - 9, so MAND/AND gates are only place-able from editor mode, this because i only added a place-able block for slots 7/8 a few hours before finishing/submitting the game, and i had forgotten to disable slot 9, and properly implement the block placement for slots 7 and 8

    mostly sandbox-style game since i am not really good at level design

    also the first LD i participated in

    recolored version(text is a brighter/less transparent color, making it easier to read)
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11493437/LD22%20recolor.rar

    no-bg + recolored version(removed background tiling, should provide the best readability)
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11493437/LD22%20nobg.rar

    no-audio version, this should work for people getting the "requested buffer too large" exception
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11493437/LD22%20noAudio.rar

    and a no-audio version of the recolor/no-bg version
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11493437/LD22%20noAudio%20-%20NoBG.rar

    i am placing these links here since i want to keep the original compo entry the same as when it was submitted

    time-lapse: http://youtu.be/BSzW4X7YbLk

    if you're getting a "requested buffer too large" exception, this seems to be caused by the mac version of JRE limiting the audio buffer size to 1 MB, for those people i've added a few new versions without the audio

    View sirius_black9999's journal. | View all entries by sirius_black9999

    Ratings

    Coolness57%
    #215Community2.80
    #260Mood2.60
    #275Audio2.43
    #404Innovation2.29
    #407Graphics2.43
    #532Overall2.25
    #560Fun1.83
    #561Theme2.00

    Comments

    Tatham says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:54am

    tried it, but kept "requested buffer too large" exception thrown at MixerClip.java:561 when I try to press a control.

    Dec 19, 2011 @ 9:27am

    that's a pretty weird place to give that error... seeing as the control sound effects are pretty much tiny compared to the BGM so you'd guess that would cause the exception, but that would mean the exception occurs on startup, not after pressing a control

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 2:35pm

    Nice idea. The red text is really hard to read so I couldn't figure out how to get very far, but the blocks and electricity are a fun concept.

    Dec 19, 2011 @ 7:04pm

    yea, good point, i only realized that this morning, if you're playing in a very dark environment it's okay, and i think part of why it's hard to read is the gray background tile overlaying it, i'll put up a recolored version seperately, the green is a lot more clear, so i'll swap the red/green tiles' color

    F4LK5 says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 9:42am

    you are not alone...?

    Dec 21, 2011 @ 11:36am

    yea, guess that's kind of a storyline/level design fail on my part, the idea was to, at the very end convey that you weren't the only being alive on the starship *even if it doesn't even really look like a starship*

    KhaoTom says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 2:43pm

    I get an exception as soon as I press a button and can make zero progress. :(

    Dec 21, 2011 @ 7:48pm

    tatham / khaoTom this exception seems to be caused because the mac version of JRE uses a different implementation of java's sound clip class, hardlimiting the buffer to 1 MB, while every other version can open a buffer larger than 1 MB just fine

    lanoiadimuu says ...
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 1:28pm

    Good audio and interesting gameplay ideas!

    summaky says ...
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 1:13pm

    I can't select the different blocks because I use a laptop with a trackpad that has no middle button not scroll wheel.

    Dec 26, 2011 @ 12:39am

    summaky: sorry, i realize now i had forgotten to make this clear in the in-game instructions, but you can select the regular in-game blocks with keys 1-6, middle mouse/scroll wheel is for the level editor

    Dec 26, 2011 @ 12:39pm

    sorry, make that 1-8, not 1-6, i'll make a small description in the original post

    Hazard says ...
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 9:31am

    Doesn't work for me. The game starts, but the camera instantly scrolls away at high speeds. While holding down R i can see the start position, but as soon as i let it go it scrolls away again.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 9:32am

    yeah, i get something similar to hazard i'm afraid! can't get it to work!

    Robmaister says ...
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 9:50am

    There's something VERY buggy about this game for me. I start off with the camera down the grid really fast. I have to hold R, W, and D and release all three at the exact same time in order to get the camera to follow the player. Beyond that I can't interact with anything in the world, I had to break the brown blocks at the very beginning in order to move left, and something started killing me as soon as I hit the second checkpoint, which made me spawn in a wall that triggered an infinite death loop.

    Dec 30, 2011 @ 6:40pm

    robmaister: the thing that was killing you near the second checkpoint are the spikes on the ground, and i am aware of the buggy spawn, i'm afraid that's mostly a problem with the way checkpoints and the view recentering is handled, blocks outside the view are inactive, so as soon as the player is outside the view, blocks will be non-solid, also, when a lagspike occurs, the player might fall through the ground because the game doesn't check for collisions between 2 frames, and uses a time multiplier to determine the distance traveled between 2 frames... i haven't made the game reset its timers properly when loading a new map, and that causes the "falling through the ground" effect that's happening

    the scrolling away at high speed means you spawn in a wall, which is indeed badly broken, sadly, the game tries to move the player up to a place where there's no blocks overlapping it, and does so at 10 pixels per frame, it also does about 5% damage per frame...

    as far as brown blocks goes, that's actually your breaking the game, if you check at the bottom-left of those blocks, you'll see a small hole you're supposed to fill with any of the blocks in slots 1-6 of your inventory, while the border around slot 9 is blue(IE the editor is turned off)

    AyCe says ...
    Jan 5, 2012 @ 12:35pm

    Unplayable for me :(

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 2:03pm

    Freezes at startup

    wbobeirne says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    My screen sort of... vibrates at startup for like 5 seconds, then goes black aside from the HUD. Don't know why!

    zazery says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 8:57pm

    The cellular automata mechanic is really neat. I never fully figured out how to use it properly. I had the same technical problem as Robmaister.

    Veralos says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 2:08am

    I had the same problem as wbobeirne.

    Raptor85 says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 5:39am

    javax.sound.sampled.LineUnavailableException: line with format PCM_SIGNED 44100.0 Hz, 16 bit, mono, 2 bytes/frame, little-endian not supported.

    Odra says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 12:23pm

    On startup the grid simply keeps going on a direction until there is nothing but black and the editor buttons. If I hold R I can see the start of the game, but as soon as I release R everything disappears again. :(

    MurrayL says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 8:21pm

    I had the same problem as others; unless I held R the screen scrolled so fast downwards that I couldn't play. I managed to get out of this loop by holding R and the movement controls and releasing them all at once, but I couldn't do anything in the game apart from place/remove my own blocks in the starting room.

    Jan 9, 2012 @ 9:23pm

    somehow the movement issue seems to have started in 2012 :O

    demonpants says ...
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 12:54am

    Any chance for an OSX / Unix version?

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]