Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 7 days, 1 hour, 43 minutes, 38 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 7 days, 1 hour, 43 minutes, 39 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 21

    August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
    [ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Escape from Monster City - KevinWorkman - 48 Hour Competition Entry

    Game home page: http://code.kevinworkman.com/EscapeFromMonsterCity/index.html

    Jar: http://code.kevinworkman.com/EscapeFromMonsterCity/EscapeFromMonsterCity.jar

    Java Web Start: http://code.kevinworkman.com/EscapeFromMonsterCity/EscapeFromMonsterCityWebStart.jnlp

    Armed only with your flashlight, escape from a city infested with sleeping monsters! Don't get too close to the monsters, or they will wake up and eat you. Do you slowly sneak past the beasts, carefully looking around every corner, or do you run through the narrow alleys and risk the chance of running into a nest of monsters?

    View KevinWorkman's journal. | View all entries by KevinWorkman

    Ratings

    Coolness26%
    #61Community3.35
    #157Theme3.28
    #234Fun2.70
    #235Humor1.91
    #246Innovation2.78
    #256Overall2.85
    #274Graphics2.63
    #368Audio1.05

    Comments

    Draknek says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:19pm

    Spotlight/buildings are nice. Would be nice if there was a goal or something to aim for (# of monsters woken up maybe?)

    Bloodyaugust says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:01am

    This game was AWESOME!!!! I absolutely loved it!!! I played it for forty five minutes and still haven't beaten it... XD
    Then I showed it to my 60+ year old great aunt, and she played for half an hour, then my brother, etc... this is my favorite so far! Great little game! With some sound and music, would be perfect. :)

    Bloodyaugust says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:56am

    In all honesty, this game is ridiculously fun! I can't stop playing it! What are your post-mortem plans for it?

    Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:09am

    Bloodyaugust : Wait ... What ? Are you serious ?

    I played the game for 1 minute, and it sucks.

    Bloodyaugust says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 8:21am

    Have you gotten into it? Beaten it? It rox! XD

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:27pm

    Draknek: Thanks, and you're absolutely right. I started implementing a few different "win scenarios", such as giving the city a boundary, or recording the time or distance walked, but nothing felt quite right. And given the time constraints, I didn't want to implement something half-assed, so I left it open.

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:28pm

    LumdumDareisCool: Sorry you feel that way! Did you play long enough to run into any monsters? What specifically do you think should be improved? And just out of curiosity, how do I play your entry?

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:30pm

    Bloodyaugust: Thanks so much! You pretty much just made my day.

    As for plans for the game after the competition, I suppose that depends on what kinds of ratings it gets. If people seem to like it, I'll spend some time fixing it up, adding an ending, etc. I'll keep you posted.

    Thanks for playing!

    marudziik says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 11:17pm

    Theme-wise this is really good in my opinion. I like the look and feel, the running works quite well. Other than that, game doesn't state the goal, doesn't give any direction (I suppose it's not possible to escape at all?). Buildings seem to be randomly generated - few times I got stuck just at the beginning.
    This could use a little polish, but isn't that bad.

    @LumdumDareisCool: It certainly doesn't "suck", in my opinion. There are lots of bad/mediocre games in the compo and this isn't one of them. It just feels a little unfinished.

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 1:41am

    Thanks marudziik! The title screen does say that you're trying to escape the city, and I tried to keep the text to a minimum, but even so, people tend to click through text descriptions. So maybe I should have added a short one-liner at the start of the game, or as the game progresses?

    And yeah, the game goes on forever, and the building/monster respawn algorithms leave much to be desired. I plan on fixing both when the contest is over.

    But hey, really good but unfinished is pretty much the best I can hope for in 12 hours! Thanks again for playing!

    arielsan says ...
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 2:33am

    Great work with the game, played on linux and didn't hear any sounds. The game is funny, however, is there any way to escape from the from the monsters city?

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 6:14pm

    Awesome that it works on Linux- which version did you use? And there are no sounds, so I'd be worried if you did hear anything! And, sadly, there is no way to actually get out of the city- that will come in the post-competition version. Thanks so much for playing!

    summaky says ...
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 1:30pm

    Its kind of entertaining, however without a real goal (I guess there is not exit, as I went far without any in sight) it seems unfinished.

    Also, some of the monsters are placed withing the buildings, and even if they were awakened, they couldn't move at all because of the collision system.

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 8:29pm

    Yeah, the game doesn't really have an end- for now, it's mostly a "see how long you can survive while escaping the monsters" game.

    And I know about the monsters spawning inside buildings, another thing I couldn't quite get to in time.

    Both of those things will be fixed after the competition! Thanks for playing!

    Vlad says ...
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 8:24pm

    Not bad, I run far enough and the game just frost!! :) you got some bug. Still.. a goal won't be bad, and maybe a bigger area of sight.

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 9:13pm

    Yeah, there's definitely a bug that will freeze the game (it's not exactly common, but it's common enough to be noticed by a few people). I realized the bug about an hour after submitting, doh!

    dogbomb says ...
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 10:10pm

    I'd definitely like to see an end game for this and some bassy slow music would add about 10x more atmosphere... maybe with some horrific violins when the eyes go red (thinking witch from Left4Dead here)...

    Fun game though and I had fun running through the streets with monsters tailing me.

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 2:31am

    Thanks! I think you're absolutely right- I'm not usually big on sound (I usually play games muted, listening to other music), but I think some mood music would go with the mood lighting pretty well. I'm definitely making a post-competition version, and I'll shoot to add that to the list of enhancements. Thanks again for playing (and for the hilarious video)!

    Aug 30, 2011 @ 4:38pm

    This is fun! especially the panic-moment right after you are spotted :-)

    wally2069 says ...
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 6:27pm

    Not having audio was kind off a let down but otherwise good work. I also agree there should be some kind off goal to keep thing moving along.

    Mjiig says ...
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 6:47pm

    A fun idea, but to be honest without a win scenario it's hard to play for more than a few minutes. Also the difficulty is a little bit to extreme. It's quite possible to end up with every path blocked by a monster and that just makes it feel like a waste of time. Excellent graphics for 12 hours work though!

    angrygeometry says ...
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 9:49pm

    i liked the perspective, and it was fun to play!

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 11:51pm

    Thanks to everyone for playing!

    Matthias- Awesome, that's exactly what I was going for!
    Wally- Yeah, the next version will definitely have a goal, and hopefully it will also have sound.
    Mjiig- I'm pretty okay with it being playable for a few minutes! :D
    angrygeometry- Thanks so much! I'm also playing with different perspectives for the next version.

    Orz says ...
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 10:54pm

    This might be my favorite entry. I love the simple gameplay and controls, and the fact that the light is an actual gameplay element (not just atmosphere).

    Make A Game says ...
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 11:05pm

    Totally reminded me of the movie "I am Legend". Only thing lacking was the dog! My only complaint goes regarding the lack of some visual feedback on how close could the avatar approach a monster. Despite that, fun has been had, and we trully loved the top down 3D building effect!

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Sep 1, 2011 @ 1:41am

    Orz- Wow, thanks a lot! That makes my night (although now somebody will inevitably argue that it's the worst game ever, haha).

    Make A Game- Haha, thanks, that's pretty much exactly the feeling I was going for- creeping around corners and not knowing when something was going to pop out at you. I'm thinking of actually making the sounds tell you how close you can get- maybe something like a heart beat or slow music that gets faster as you get closer to a monster. That's just an idea though. Also, thanks for appreciating the 3D building effect, that's pretty much the first thing that popped into my head when I thought of this game.

    Again, thanks everyone so much for playing and commenting!

    siebharinn says ...
    Sep 4, 2011 @ 2:43am

    Very nice graphics. I loved the way the buildings had parallax. Could have used some spooky music. And maybe some signs or something. I never did find the exit.

    Great entry!

    tcstyle says ...
    Sep 4, 2011 @ 11:42am

    Neat idea. And it even is 3D, which I didn't notice at first try. I was wondering about the strange parallax scrolling of the rectangles ;).
    With some fitting music and sound this would be very thrilling.

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Sep 6, 2011 @ 2:41am

    Thanks guys, I agree with all of that. I'm thinking of adding a "warmer/colder" mechanism to help you find the exit (guess I should add an exit, too). I'm looking into sounds and music, too.

    This was my first time messing with 3D, and even though it's just cubes and not actually 3D, I'm pleased with the effect.

    bluescrn says ...
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 7:05pm

    Shame it's a bit unfinished - It's nice to see a level layout that's not just a tilemap, and something 3D that's not done in Unity. And the steering-based controls make it a bit different. But with no clear goal or scoring system, it didn't hold my attention for long.

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 12:41pm

    That's understandable. I'll be releasing a more polished version as soon as I get time after the competition. Do you have any ideas about what kinds of things would keep your attention longer? Thanks for playing!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]